We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Thai food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chao Lay

Chao Lay
Ranked #257 of 615 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
206 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Average Thai food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We tried once but we were disappointed. Busy restaurant on a nice terrace near the sea. Selection huge, to much for my taste. Real Thai restaurant with a lot of locals. Food rather poor. Service average with a long time to wait. Value reasonable. Overall nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    136
    53
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Seafood at best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great seafood at reasonable price by the water. Always full with long ques so book your table well in advance.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MalmoChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good sea food and nice ambiance and atmosphere. Excellent service too. Will go again. Good value for money

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average Thai Food on the Water”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My family of 7 had dinner there on Friday night. It was the most crowded of all 3 pier dinning restaurants packed with locals and foreigners. They serve big portions compare to other Thai restaurants. The seafood was fresh and dipping sauce was excellent. We were disappointed with "Larb", a Thai minced pork salad which was my husband's favorite. It was very mild in taste. The service was fast. You could tell they were used to handling crowds. The restaurant got very busy after 6pm and there were a lot of people waiting when we left. We basically ate and ran! It's not a restaurant to enjoy the atmosphere because it was crowded and noisy but convenient from the Hilton Hua Hin.

Helpful?
Thank Ireneww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and great prices .. service lacks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a great dinner.. we ordered seafood mixed, squid, shrimps, clams and steamed fish ( this was the worst dish and overcooked)The service was very much lacking and not so good at all to be honest.. I had to ask the waiter to smile and the woman who showed us our table.. had to ask her to stop yelling at me as I am the customer. But after that, it was a little better and the waiter was much nicer. The locale is cool as it sits right over the water on the wharf. The food comes fast and for a family of 5, we spent 65 USD. We ordered quite a bit as well. It definitely is worth a visit. I have also reviewed another seafood worthy restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huandersens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao Lay also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Chao Lay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing