We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So delicious.”

Moon Smile & Platoo
Ranked #5 of 625 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So delicious.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

There are generally 3 things that I order when I go to a Thai restaurant for the first time. These things are the penang curry chicken, fried mixed vegetables, and the crab meat omelet. I was most impressed with the 200 baht crab meat omelet. There were huge chunks of real crab meat and the egg was not greasy at all. The penang currry chicken was also delicious and can be ordered as spicy as you wish. The mixed vegetables rounded out the meal quite well. The only minor complaint is that one order of rice was not enough to go with all of the other food. I could have ordered more rice, but then it would have been too much... Only because I'm one of those people who doesn't like to leave food on the plate due to my childhood with my parents telling me about the starving people in..... (fill in a country).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minburi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    296
    107
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and superb service”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Wanted to find a good restaurant quickly and thus came up second on TA when we got there it didn't look great but got better and better, very very helpful staff all very friendly, a team of chefs ready to cook anything you want. We had a great meal here and will go back before our holiday ends.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank IanReds000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As advertised!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Simply fantastic. Great food, including European food for the young ones. Wine good too, and cheap. Wasn't overly busy, went early evening. We will be revisiting!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice service but watch for the Salt!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stopped here on our second night and had high expectations given the reviews on Trip Advisor. The lady serving us was great and had lots of advice on what and how much to order based on our family tastes. Unfortunately the two key dishes served, both soups, (Tom Yum and Glass Noodle) were incredibly salty. So much so, we couldn't finish either. A shame after reading about Moon Smile and all the great reviews. Other dishes were nice, and service a stand-out, but we couldn't get over the salt-hit. Possibly a bad night for the cook?

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Most excellent Thai food”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had herd of this place from friends and family, but unfortunately it had been closed for most of our stay. However, it reopened and we gave it a go. The food was excellent, the service quick and cheery. Would most definitely heartily recommend it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Smile & Platoo also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Moon Smile & Platoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing