We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, really?”

Moon Smile & Platoo
Ranked #6 of 609 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, really?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant on the basis of the many excellent ratings. However, we found it to be very average in every way. Located on a busy street close to many hostess bars, with no great view or ambience. I have eaten a lot of Thai food, and this was quite ordinary. All dishes were served almost immediately, indicating that everything was prepared earlier. My wife commented that she could make much better dishes, and she is not Thai. But, the place did fill quickly with several European expats, so what would an Aussie know? Would not consider a return visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    294
    106
    41
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in Hua Hin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place is seriously worth a visit.

The restaurant was very busy but they managed to fit us in to some outside seating

We were served iced cold beers which is always nice in the hot weather.

There was 3 of us, we had a number of mixed starters (prawns, roasted cashews etc) followed by mains. All the food served was so nice and the staff / chef cooked it to exactly how we wanted!

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone! Go today!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universe1
Level Contributor
212 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Seriously disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try here again on our visit back to Hua Hin. Upon our arrival we saw the restaurant was busy with only the odd spare chair. We were asked how many to which we said 3 and were subsequently given the indication to "wait". Some 10 minutes later, having waited outside in the rain we were told they were full for the evening and couldn't accommodate us. It might be good food but the service is extremely poor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Universe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great service - hard to fault.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Led to this by TA reviews. It's a bit hard to spot so look carefully for it to the right of the leather shop. Had Tom Yum Koong soup - pleanty for two. We also had Red Curry with Chicken. Prawn with glass noodles and omelette and a vegetable green curry. This was too much for two people and we felt awkward leaving so much as the flavours were fantastic. Will definitely go back with a better game plan.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tynemouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always good Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We cannot ever resist this amazing food. Always good, and a really reasonable price. We have been there for the last month, most nights and recommend to everyone. Best ever experience.
Try the prawn with chilli paste . Or sizzling prawn. Or prawn tempura, so much to choose from. enjoy this culinary experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dantesdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Smile & Platoo also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Moon Smile & Platoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing