We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Erie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

As we spend several months in Hua Hin each year, last sunday we decided to try the sunday brunch at the Azur restaurant close to the beach.
The brunch is advertised in the local newspapers and we decided to give it a try.
The price is on the very high side because the Australian Chandon sparkling wine is part of the package (one bottle for two).
The restaurant layout is unattractive with basic furniture and nothing exotic about the decor.
The brunch is served from 13:00 to 16:00 h. We arrived at 14:30 h and found a poor attendance. They were 3 tables occupied.
As we passed in front of the buffet we noticed that many stations were not replenished and the selection was fairly poor.
Warm meals were cold and salads and sea food were warm. In tropical climates a bed of ice is not enough to keep the food cold. Only the japanese sushi and sashimi were stored in a refrigerated glass enclosure.
The meat section was totally boring: mini hamburgers and lamb patties. The "Australian grain-fed beef tenderlion" section was empty and we had to request the chef to replenish it. It came as small thin slices more like veal scallopini.
Very poor selection of fruits and the desserts were blank with no taste.
In conclusion very disappointing brunch both in terms of quality, choices and price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Director of Food & Beverage at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Patrick W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Sunday Brunch on TripAdvisor!

We highly regret to read about your disappointment on our newly launched ‘Chill & Grill Sunday Brunch’ and the restaurant layout of Azure.

Our aim is to provide, with plenty of live stations rather than a said buffet line, utmost freshness of all our premium ingredients and products.

The philosophy of our brunch is to indulge our guests with a fresh and fun culinary line-up in an open-air experience by the beach. Various live stations such as: Fish Me - paella, Fire Me - roasting suckling pig, Savor Me - pan fried duck liver, Okudasai - large selection of sushi sashimi, Melt Me - ice cream station with crêpes and waffles and Shake Me: spaghetti carbonara underline the fresh and chic brunch complemented with our Chandon sparkling wine.

As you well mentioned in your review, the "advertisement" of our brunch in the newspaper is indeed a review by a food specialist and so a description of his own experience of our brunch and the restaurant.

Unfortunately, the weather last Sunday was not great and the early rain dissuaded our guests from joining the brunch due to the venue being an open restaurant - this may have affected the overall experience as well.

In conclusion, I really appreciated the phone call yesterday to discuss your experience! Again my sincere apologies for any shortfalls and I am confident that we will be able to recover your experience on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Sebastien Michea
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    201
    54
    19
    21
See reviews for
355
486
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I spent five days here and in the main it was a very pleasant experience. We had a club room and the quality facilities offered in the Club Lounge were exceptional. The staff were truly excellent and special mention must go to our butler, Wasana, who was absolutely charming and for whom nothing was too much bother. The canapes and drinks were the best we have experienced in any hotel club lounge and full credit goes to the head chef who is French. Service was second to none.

Our large room was immaculately cleaned and had all the facilities we could possibly need. The decor was modern in concept and mostly open plan in layout and our large patio area, with a day bed and a small coffee table and chairs, had a pleasing aspect overlooking the pool and gardens.The shower was modern, effective and of a good size. The free-standing bath was interesting and looked good, but rather got in the way. It was possible to draw the screens around it for privacy if needed.

The public areas and grounds of the hotel were impressive, well maintained and very clean. The freeform pool was large and was beautifully set out with lots of interesting features including whirlpool areas, loungers in shallow water, tiled beds in the water, platforms next to the water with gazebo-type structures enclosing a pair of sunbeds etc etc, and there were plenty of sunbeds around the pool and plenty of towels. Although there were pool staff, I'm not sure whether their duties included those of lifeguard.

No matter how much a place may appear to be perfect, there is always room for improvement and the Intercontinental is no exception. For us, the areas of issue were the food and the internet access, both of which are extremely important to us. The breakfast was definitely slanted towards Eastern cuisine. We are enthusiastic and adventurous foodies and certainly do not require a Full English Breakfast every morning but although there was bacon - either cooked to a crisp or limp and slimy - and a variety of eggs cooked to order, other elements of a western breakfast were either poorly cooked or missing altogether. The fruit juices on offer were not of a high standard and the orange juice appeared to be processed rather than fresh. Very unpleasant, as were the cheap tubs of yoghurt. Fresh yoghurt, as provided by many hotels, would have been welcome.

The restaurants appeared to be under-patronised. The locations were good, and the settings and decor of a very high standard. However if our experience is anything to go by, we are not surprised that they are under-used. We had a meal in the Italian restaurant one evening and it was actually a big (and expensive) disappointment. The beef lasagne was a world away from a proper Italian lasagne and although a hefty portion, it was served in a deep bowl rather than a shallow dish or a plate, which made it rather difficult to eat. There was no salad accompaniment, just a bowl of rather dry minced beef with no visible sign of any onion or tomato, and a sheet or two of lasagne pasta all heavily smothered with a mozarella cheese sauce on top. Completely underwhelming and I would rank it zero out of ten for culinary satisfaction. The very least we would expect of a large international chain of high end hotels is for their chefs to be completely familiar with the dishes which they are required to cook, rather than offering guests what appears to be a local take on what they think the dish should be.

To compound the unhappy experience the live entertainment (a 'jazz' trio) were performing nearby with the result that the noise level was pretty intrusive. The moderately talented pianist and singer were completely overwhelmed at times by their drummer who inserted a frenetic, very loud and not very accomplished drum solo into every song - an unwelcome intrusion at the best of times, and definitely not what one would expect in the middle of a slow, sultry ballad-type song! At one point the microphone was given to a young child to perform an excruciating rendition of something unidentifiable - much to the delight of her parents, but not to the remainder of the captive audience and it was totally inappropriate that clients should have been subjected to what was tantamount to a karaoke performance whilst eating their meals. Ditto the loud drum solos.

The internet connection was frustratingly inconsistent and not the high speed promised. It was not always available down by the pool area or sometimes in our room.

The latter comments are simple things which need to be addressed by management but they did not spoil our visit and they would not put us off visiting the hotel again. It was a delightful oasis, which obviously comes at a price, but we would definitely stay there again and I can happily recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whizzkid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Resort Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear whizzkid50,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Hua Hin Resort and for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor!

Your compliments regarding the top quality hotel facilities and our fantastic staff are greatly appreciated! Your special mention of our butler Wasana makes us proud and we will happily share your words with her!

As you rightfully mentioned there is no perfect place and a lot of opinions come down to a matter of taste. Our breakfast offerings try to cater to all of our international guests. However being a resort in Thailand, it is appreciated to have a far-eastern influence in our food and beverage offerings.

Please accept my apologies on your experience at our Italian restaurant Felicita. We will review the recipe, preparation and presentation of our Lasagne with the help of our Executive Chef.

Please trust that all your comments are being discussed in detail with the concerned department heads, especially your feedback related to food & beverage and the inconsistent internet connection.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future and let me again thank you for your valuable comments.

Kind regards from sunny Hua Hin,

Benjamin Schwarz
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 5 days and they were definately the best part of our almost 3 weeks honeymoon, travelling in Thailand! Amazing and beautiful hotel, the room we stayed in was SO nice and made us feel at home. The servicelevel is HIGH!! The staff seems to enjoy themselves as they smile and laugh not only when speaking to guests but also eachother! The large poolarea is SO beautiful and peacefull, and I spent a lot of time sitting in the spa reading and overlooking the beach. Will definately recommend the Intercontinental to all and return, if we should get a chance to return to Thailand again some day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Resort Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Rehbold,

Congratulations again and thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your 5 days in our resort including your room, the spa and pool area. I will happily share your wonderful feedback on the high service level with my colleagues - it makes me proud that you not only praised the service level, but also the friendly and joyful work atmosphere.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort on your next Thailand trip!

Kind regards,

Benjamin Schwarz
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Most book an intercontinental hotel because they know that standards will be high and disappointment unlikely.This is the case here- you get what it says on the tin! We booked a premier room with a view over the lawn, but did not expect a view acrossthe lawn to a very lall condominium block totally painted in a ghastly shade of yellow.Nevertheless the room and large balcony were well equipped and very pleasant.I think my only critiscism here is rather nebulous and individual and that is for me the hotel lacked soul.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank densilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear densilv,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!

I am happy to read that you choose the InterContinental Hua Hin Resort due to its brand name and the brand reputation. I am also glad that you found your Premier Room pleasant, well equipped and offering a large balcony.

Thank you and kind regards,

Benjamin Schwarz
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONGKONG
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I booked in official website which provide us a romance package with breakfast, dinner, spa in very tempting price, no doubt about it, it's intercontinental group resort with flawless, staffs provide great service, hotel provide great facilities, nice spa with professional treatment, wonderful breakfast, tasty seafood buffet dinner, the thai restaurant also great with romantic decoration, swimming pool so beautiful with nice water maintenance, really appreciate the hotel staffs. beautiful sand beach just next to the resort, interesting horse riding with economic rate. May be due to political unsure in Thailand, less tourists in hotel which we be treated as VIP. What a dream vacation we had.

Room Tip: sea view room is must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finejenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear finejenny,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the InterContinental Hua Hin Resort. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

First of all if there are bad reviews for this hotel, they must be crazy!!!! We are currently staying & have had just incredible service. My husband is royal ambassador & they upgraded us to a suite. I was surprised with the greeting we rec because we checked into the hotel at 3am due to a late flight. They were so welcoming, it was great. Next morning we went to the lounge & Bella came right up to my husband & said welcome back. He stayed here in December for a very quick trip, he was pleasantly surprised that she remembered him. The staff has been so helpful w tours & places to get massages. Cannot wait to visit again!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear maddy456,

Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort and writing about your recent stay with us. Your kind words about our staff is appreciated, especially the recognition of Bella.

It was very nice to have you with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We booked a Premier Room which was a great size, very comfortable, had a great view of the pool and partial sea view. Also included a spacious balcony which included a day bed. Our room was on the top level which meant it had a higher ceiling than the rooms below, adding to the feeling of spaciousness. We had breakfast included and if you couldn't find enough variety, you would be hard to please. Quality was also very good. Given hotel location is away from main strip, there are not many breakfast options close by so consider this when booking.

Service in all respects was first rate and the attention to detail was fantastic. Whilst this resort would be considered 5 star, it did not have a stuffy feel about it. We had one meal at the Thai restaurant on the day we arrived after a long travel day and were impressed with the quality and service.

Resort was reasonably full but we could always get a bed around the pool. The pool area itself was good with many seating (sun or shade) options. Crowd is a mature, predominantly euro group, so the scene was quiet enough. Perhaps the hotel should ban smoking around the pool, especially cigars and pipes.

Only 'negative' you need to consider is that the resort is around 2.5km from the main shopping and restaurant district, to far to walk. We got a tuk tuk in each night for 140 baht, which was no drama.

PS - It takes around 2.45hrs to transfer from the airport, we paid 2500 baht using www.taxithaibyjo.com, who we would recommend.

All in all this was one of the best resorts we have stayed at

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a premier room which are in the side wings overlooking the pool. Top level is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WombatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear WombatTraveller,

Thank you for writing such a positive review about your stay at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort. It was such a pleasure to learn that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our different facilities we offer, especially the room and the meals.

Your compliment regarding superb service is appreciated and of course, it has been shared to the staff. Your comment regarding smoking has also been shared to the Executive team for a possible review.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
2.1 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 136 in Hua Hin
2,031 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
1.2 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#12 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cape Nidhra Hotel
Cape Nidhra Hotel
#8 of 136 in Hua Hin
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hua Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hua Hin Resort

Property: InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
Address: 33/33 Petchkasem Road | Prachuabkhirikhan, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#5 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hua Hin Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every guests who stay at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort will receive complimentary unlimited access to Vana Nava waterpark and True Arena Sport Club with shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Hua Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing