We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a wonderful experience after 5 years!!! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
Ranked #4 of 135 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still a wonderful experience after 5 years!!! ”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This is my third visit in 5 years, the first in 2009 when the hotel first opened. We got lucky that year when planning our last minute trip, the rooms cost us only 200usd a night. We were so wowed on that trip that we returned in 2010 with a few more friends. By then, the rates had doubled but in order to relive our happy memories and with a IHG Royal Ambassador status to boot, we decided to go for it. The packages were well worth it in 2010 as they sometimes included massages at the spa and ABF.

Couldn't get reservations here for 2012 so we stayed elsewhere in Huahin. Fast forward 2013, we were determined to get rooms so we booked well in advance. The rates had escalated to 600usd so we decided to use our rewards nights instead.

Upon arrival, we found out that the hotel had given us an upgrade despite us having used redemption nights for our 5 day stay. Now only a Platinum Ambassador so we were very pleasantly surprised!

The hotel premises have aged a little and it shows in the mould on shower ceilings and blackout curtains and also in the wood paneling. However, it goes without doubt that it is still a very beautiful resort to stay in. It is also nice to see that some of the staff, especially the bell boys, have not changed since 2009!

Couple of points to note:

1. wifi is patchy and u have to keep on signing in even if 24 hours had not passed. Very annoying as u don't get messages over wa or FB if u don't check your connection.

2. more has to be done about the popular deck chairs for sunbathing. I have spent a few days observing people from my balcony where I read. The father of a particular family will dutifully go and reserve the 'prime' deck chairs at 7am every morning, only reappearing at 10 am with his brood.

This happens despite the fact that a reminder is left on the chairs to remind guests not to do so. Apparently the pool boys will remove any items left for reservations but it doesn't seem to have worked out...

This terrible mentality has happened on almost all my beach resort trips, be it Intercontinental KSM or Bali... In the IC Bali, the resort is big enough to have separate sections for Intercontinental Club members but the same problem prevailed despite that.

Perhaps the best poolside service I have had was at the W Seminyak where butlers could make reservations of the cabanas for frequent guests at appointed times. It's crazy for hotel chains to expect loyal guests to have to fight for seating on a beach holiday!

3. The concierge service is no longer as good as it used to be. On my first trip in 2009, I gleaned plenty of knowledge about local eating places etc off a concierge staff named Waraporn who spoke very good English and had plenty of ideas for us.

The current concierge staff seems unsure and not as open with ideas anymore. The language barrier is more apparent which is not something I would expect at the Intercontinental.

4. we had 3 people in a room in this visit, paid for the extra bed etc and amenities were not always provided as such. We had just come in from a stay at the Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit where everything was arranged properly without us having to ask.


Despite my above comments, the IC Huahin is still one of the nicer properties in South East Asia to stay in. Be it sitting down and having a relaxing 3 hour breakfast or just lying by the pool /beach, it is a really nice place to relax and unwind. It is also close enough to a small mall where u can eat and pick up a Starbucks. :)

Point to note is that if u want to spend NYE in Huahin, many hotels will attempt to force guests to attend the internal gala dinner. The price per pax at the IC was usd 350 per pax, quite a bit to pay (although the hotel had a fantastic pyrotechnics show in 2010 but not this year). Traffic is also bad but that can't be helped...

We have regained our RA status so we will definitely try to return at the end of this year, unless there is an attempt to force all guests to attend the NYE gala again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mad4bags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear mad4bags,

Your loyalty to InterContinental Hua Hin Resort is highly appreciated. It was a great pleasure having you with us again. Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services as well as the resort’s facilities.

Your comments have been shared with the management team for the immediate review and corrective action. Currently, our IT manager is working with the internet service provider in order to upgrade the quality. Our Director of Engineering and our Executive Housekeeper are reviewing the preventive maintenance plan. We are aware of the discoloration of some of our black out curtains due to a manufacturing error. Please be assured that all curtains are absolutely clean and free of mould. However due to this misleading discoloration we are currently replacing all affected black out curtains.

Here, at the InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, we really see the value of improving employees’ skills to ensure superb guest service. Additional English language training will definitely be provided for our staff in order to ensure the smoother communications with our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again this year and every year.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    194
    49
    18
    18
See reviews for
336
472
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Whenever I come to Huahin I always stay here. This most recent stay though- has taken things to another level just because I found out about their new feature in spa- the manicure and pedicure created by Bastien Gonzalez (I had to google that- it was too good!). I only got the pedicure done because it was fully booked. They have to be trained for it especially. The cool thing about it was that it was waterless pedicure. The chair was so comfy and gentle foot massage sent me to sleep. I woke up having feet like baby's bum.

I've always loved the pool and the bed. It was a little on a cool side this trip (22c in Huahin!) so I mostly stayed in the warm pool. The bed was as comfy as ever.

I attended their New year special gala dinner and the dishes were immaculate. My favourite has to be the cod. The vibe was great. Amazing fireworks. I will be coming back during the new year surely.

Room Tip: try the intercontinental club room- you get extra soft bed sheets and some extras I dont remember no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ieatpolarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear ieatpolarbear,

Thank you for making the InterContinental Hua Hin Resort your preferred choice for your stay in Hua Hin. We strive to continuously improve the quality of our services as well as our hotel and its facilities. Alex, our French Podiatrist is very thrilled to hear your comment and look forward to treating you again.

Your feedback will be shared with the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you this year.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
211 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant stay at IC Hua Hin! Lovely staff, brilliant food, fantastic room, impeccable service, overall a wonderful time spent in the lap of luxury!!! A big thank you to Britta and her team. The spa is heavenly, fully equipped gym, lovely walks on the beach! Please visit!!!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pjspjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear pjspjs,

Thank you for letting InterContinental Hua Hin Resort serving you again and thank you for recommending our resort. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you every year.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I really don't understand how other evaluate such hotel as five start hotel my experience bad with stuff who play smart just to give you the lowest room available and they give a lot of misleading also I have wrote before but did not gone throw don't know why any how if you are regularly flying you will understand what we mean by saying baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad really don't waste your money in such hotel/ resort but I also need to inform pool bar tender ,restortant manager and general manager they are very helpful but rest need to leave or get heavy training and respect customers and give them what they need not give excuses to customers any way i will not come back to such 2 start resort services also note i really surprised from interont to keep such bad service we start to loose trust with the band i thing we will start with other brands who care on customer and not Weaste our money or time .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mohd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Mohd B,

Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We take customer feedback very seriously and use all comments to continuously improve our services.

Unfortunately, you did not provide any details of what happened. We went through all the incident reports, profile notes, and records for the guests who stayed in December in order to find more information regarding your case. We could not find anything, so perhaps you did not report any of your dissatisfaction while you were at the hotel. Again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and I am sorry that we were not able to address any of the issues while you were still at the our resort

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed over Xmas (when prices double!?!) Nonetheless it was a great 4 days. Our best time of the 3 visits to Hua Hin so far.
Travelled with 2 boys aged 8 & 11 and we usually stay at this end of the price range.
Hotel location is perfect, not too far from Hua Hin clock tower and Market Village. Facilities are all you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The pool was gorgeous as was the long, flat beach fronting the property. Water was cold for an in-ground pool even at the end of the day. Plenty of loungers for everyone. The large beachside fire circle is perfect for a cool, winter night. The food is of high standard and spice levels are tailored to suit children where necessary. Fitness centre is well appointed.
The room housed the two boys adequately with an extra rollaway bed (1000B++). However breakfast was priced separately (400B++) whereas most hotels include the child breakfast as part of the extra bed :-(
Choice of tv channels was fair although not as comprehensive as we would have liked.
Restaurant staff were very helpful although sometimes they appeared shorthanded. The reception staff gallantly tried to enquire for us about English mass times for Xmas through her friend. Our hardworking bellboys Khun Bier and Khun Ben were always smiling and informative (MUFC got lucky at Hull guys).
Overall this was a wonderful Xmas made better by the Intercon staff. The boys loved your hotel and we will be back. You might want to relook at your policy of breakfast being included in price of rollaway bed. Oh and a complementary minibar would be nice too.
Stayed 22-26/12/13

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear deo68,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort. We are thrilled to know that our resort was your favorite in Hua Hin. We highly appreciate your feedback.

Your review has been shared with the management team and staff. Both Khun Bier and Khun Ben were very happy that you mentioned them.

All of us are waiting to welcome you and your family back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at Intercontinental and felt like royalty. We do not like Hua Hin but this resort is amazing. The property is very beautiful and the surroundings make you feel like you are living the live of a star. During our stay the service was more than excellent and extremely attentive. Further a lot of attention is paid to details. For example in our room you could not just find a standard shower cap but a shower cap including a hair ribbon. Or while seated in the breakfast area, staff would come by and not just offer coffee or tea but also a selection of fresh juices. The quality of the food and drinks is very good. I recommend the fusion buffet on Thursdays, especially if you like sharing small delicious Italian and Thai bites and plates. Prices in general are high but expectations were exceeded. It was worth it! We will not return to Hua Hin but most definitely to Intercontinental. P.S. The pool is fantastic and we could not find one pillow in the entire resort that is not extremely comfortable and soft. We missed the pillows so much that we put them on our Christmas wishlist. In conclusion: ultimate resort for relaxation!

Room Tip: Next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Nicole H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the InterContinental Hua Hin Resort on your recent visit to Hua Hin and for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear that you really had a wonderful and relaxing time at our resort. I am glad we were able to fulfill all your needs and meet your expectations as the luxury five-star resort.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel property, the room, the lobby, the pool, the amenities, and the services are all what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. It is really a gorgeous hotel. I reserved two rooms. IHG web site does not allow me to make one reservation with two room types. I went to the trouble of making two reservations with one for 1 king premier and the other for 2 twin premier. At check-in, I forgot to ask as I though the reservations would be honored as such. When we got to the rooms we found two king rooms. I then inquired with the person who walked us to the room. She said she would check. She went back to the lobby and called me back pretty quickly and said no 2 twin room is available. She would be happy to give us an extra bed with no charge. I said one of the room already had an extra bed but that's not what I made a reservation for. She apologized. I didn't feel like getting aggravated at the start of my vacation so I let it go. I too could apologize all day long. It wouldn't cost me anything. I'm just ticked off that I bothered to make two different reservations and ended up getting the same rooms. And being IHG gold level member doesn't seem to help or have any extra benefit. Next time I'm back in Hua Hin, I will try a different hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CliveNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmt_ICHH, Manager at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear CliveNYC,

Thank you for posting about your recent visit at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort. It was great to hear that our resort’s facilities, amenities and services met your expectation as a luxury 5–star hotel.

I am sorry to learn that you had a difficulty in making a room reservation and that the bedding preference you requested was not available. Our aim is to ensure our guest comfort; therefore, alternative options were proposed. We will conduct some refresher training with our receptionists to make sure the bedding type is confirmed during check-in.

Thank you for being an IHG loyal guest, we do appreciate that. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back here again, so you can see that InterContinental Hua Hin Resort team does provide extra special care to our loyal guests.

Yours Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
2.1 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#12 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
3.9 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#11 of 135 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hua Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hua Hin Resort

Property: InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
Address: 33/33 Petchkasem Road | Prachuabkhirikhan, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hua Hin Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every guests who stay at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort will receive complimentary unlimited access to Vana Nava waterpark and True Arena Sport Club with shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Hua Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing