We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pools and rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
Ranked #4 of 134 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great pools and rooms”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had an extra night in Thailand in between flights so we decided to go to Hua Hin (took a taxi going from Bangkok and the train coming back). The Intercontinental looked good online so we booked a room for a night. Overall it was great. The room was fantastic, with a huge lanai that could have been a second room unto itself. The best part of the hotel is the network of pools and sunken sitting areas in and around the pools. Landscaping also first class. The only negative is that the hotel overcharges or tacks on additional charges for just about everything (e.g., extra charge for children staying in a room even without an extra bed, service charge tacked onto a buffet, the only suntan lotion in the gift shop being priced at $100, etc). The beach is decent but not great. All in all, though, it is a fun hotel and kids in particular will enjoy the pools. Taking the train to Bangkok from the classic Hua Hin railway station recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor in main (center) building has best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmmahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    190
    47
    18
    18
See reviews for
330
467
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I've been there last year with a friend and it was one of the best travel experience with nice and friendly staff. I love the pool and the ambiance. Nice and clean rooms and all face the beach. The location is ok near many other attractions like the night market, temples, the train station. I'm planning to travel again next month and will be staying there for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissVxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

InterContinental Hua Hin is brand new hotel in Hua Hin, open in 2011. Very nice room, large bathroom and cute balcony. Love the hotel decoration. Lobby is different from other big hotels, front office staff sit down and use notebook instead of using PC and stand up. Atmosphere is quite, good for relax.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patralak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

It was our 2nd visit to the hotel in 3 months, we were there for the Songkran Festival (Water festival april 13-15 of every year. The first trip was nothing to talk about, they were too busy and were running at full capacity. But this 2nd trip was such a good one, I have to write this review. We booked ourselves into the pool villa which was right next to the beach, and we had our own lap pool. It had an amazing living area in a huge room. The staff who was assigned to take care of our room, went the extra mile to give us everything we needed in no time at all. Very comfortable Bed, Huge bathroom with both a Jacuzzi and a huge rain shower. All the amenities were from BVLGARI and in the normal rooms are also very good from L'Occitane. The Breakfast buffet was very nice. Overall one of the best hotel in Hua Hin.

Room Tip: Do Try the pool villa if you have a chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalvinL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Still has potential to be finest resort in Hua Hin. I live in Bangkok so am familiar with most of them (this is a popular expat weekend break). Poor location, have to get tuk-tuk to the central bars and restaurants (and this can take time due to traffic). But resort itself is very nicely laid out with great pools, plenty of loungers/salas and no "reserve this lounger with towels at 6am" nonsense. GM needs to get a grip on details: no replacement towels in room until 6 in the evening; mould around bottom of shower cubicle; peeling paintwork in public areas; poorly re-stocked breakfast buffet (great smoothies); non-responsive porter service; slow check-out (and reception would have over-charged me by £100 if I hadn't noticed difference between bill and visa machine). It is disappointing to see a hotel with such great potential let-down by such poor attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hector18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Having deliberated long and hard to chose a hotel in Hua Hin, we selected the Intercon. It is not a resort in the Thai sense. It is a small hotel, wedged in between 2 large white high rise apartments on one side and a smaller high rise on the other. There is a tiny driveway which means that road noise is audible from the balconies. The pictures on the website were taken at some very strange angles to avoid this.
Upgraded (as an IHG Ambassador) to a pool access room which allowed access to the delightful long pool.
The room is badly designed - although large in areas, the bathroom sits, in effect, in the middle of the room, and even the toilet is not totally separated from the rest of the bathroom (comments also made by others in earlier reviews)
The rooms were never cleaned until mid afternoon (and the hotel is not even half full) and the supply of soaps and gels could only be described as 'mean spirited'. Likewise, no replenishment of the fruit basket during our 4 day stay.
Prices are normal 5 star - approx $35 for 3 coffees and an icecream last night.
The staff were polite and we did not experience the poor English comment by earlier reviewers.
Food - breakfast is a large buffet spread, appealing to all tastes. Quantity, however, seems to be the watchword, rather than quality - in fact, that could be said of all meals provided. This, in the land of flavours, is very sad.
The rooms in the main building are accessed from outside of the lobby area. Our daughter was located in this area and we had to escort her each evening to her room as there were no doormen on duty in the late evening and anyone could gain access to this part of the building.
This is a 5 star hotel in name alone as it provides the necessary functions eg 24 room service
Will we ever return - no
The GM should visit properties such as the Intercon in Bali (still the standard bearer for resort type properties in our family) to experience how it should be done.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Last week my family and I stayed at this hotel. It was just superb. Very relaxing, very quiet and a great location just suitably away from the crowded areas. Getting a tuc tuc, organising a tour or just helping with requests was a passion of the team there. The pools are great, the food just right, felt safe and secure and felt welcome by every staffs smile and sawasadee every time. Well done to the team there. The only complaint was the dream had to end, and I could not sleep longer in the mornings. BTW the way take a walk on the beach, just fantastic, very natural, even met a small live baby octopus that we rescued and put back into the suf!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
2.1 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#1 of 134 in Hua Hin
1,234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#6 of 134 in Hua Hin
1,849 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 134 in Hua Hin
1,115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
3.9 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#12 of 134 in Hua Hin
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hua Hin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hua Hin Resort

Property: InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
Address: 33/33 Petchkasem Road | Prachuabkhirikhan, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#3 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hua Hin Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every guests who stay at InterContinental Hua Hin Resort will receive complimentary unlimited access to Vana Nava waterpark and True Arena Sport Club with shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Hua Hin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hua Hin Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing