We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Thai seafood place on a pier”
Review of Sang Thai Seafood

Sang Thai Seafood
Ranked #150 of 647 Restaurants in Hua Hin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice Thai seafood place on a pier”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice place. Typical Thai "pier over the water" restaurant. Easy location and parking on site.

The serve the freshest of seafood at a good price.

A bit windy this time of year. Take a jumper. And don't pick a table near the water at high tide with high winds! A bit wet.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    77
    28
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ms.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

More choices but the price is not as cheap as the restaurants at the night market. I hope the staffs can learn more English, very hard to communicate with them. They sent wrong dish to us and charged to the bill, we won't visit it again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Typical seafood menu but done very well”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Sang Thai is clearly one of the most popular seafood restaurants on the shores of Hua Hin. It is always packed with local Thai families or those on a few days break from the capital. The menu is pretty typical of Thai seafood restaurants, but everything is done consistently well. The yam talay (seafood salad) is fresh, spicy and light. The salt roasted sea bass is well cooked and tastes like it has jumped out of the sea and on to your plate. Other dishes worth trying are the crab fried rice and the roasted shrimp.

Service is efficient and while the wine list is limited, it is well priced. However, the white wine is almost warm and needs a few extra minutes in the ice bucket.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb seafood ”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for haute cuisine, then you are at the wrong place.

This is a local seafood place cooking authentic seafood and Thai food.

We went twice and the second time the waitress recognised us and provided good service. Compared to Thai restaurants it's not a cheap I place.

Food is delicious, seafood fresh and the local setting is just great, my the pier.

Don't miss it.

Helpful?
Thank Gabyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very good - but....”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

great location on the water, and our steamed fish - wonderful, and asked for it not spicy - and that is the way it came... but....

we decided to have a shrimp (large creatures) - and little did we know it would cost close to $30 USD for one!!! and even then - grilled - it was almost completely devoid of any decent meat...

so we left - very mixed views... but definitely worth a visit - but dont get sucked in like we did!

T&D

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sang Thai Seafood also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Sang Thai Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing