We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My holiday very special”
Review of Mantra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra Resort
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Hua Hin
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The quietness of the weekdays were especially welcome to provide a relaxing break (we were there for 14 days); the newness and the differences in the hotel design from most other Thai hotels. and atmosphere 50 meter from the beach, good facilities, nice swimming pool and nice staff. I'm very pleased to recommend this hotel for everyone, who want to relax during your holiday. I'm very enjoy to stay this hotel, I have many activities such as swimming, reading the book (its provided on reception area) and dinner. Next time when I return to Hauhin, This hotel is the first list for me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sinomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 86 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is a wonderful quiet hotel away from the hustle of Hua Hin which can be reached easily by taxi (150 baht). The staff are terrific particularly Khom, Nan and Nat in reception, they all go out of their way to make your stay a happy one. Rooms are big, we recommend a high room for the terrific view. Eating in is as usual in hotels more expensive so we had breakfast included then ate out at the huge selection of places in the city - our favourite being Sawasdee opposite the Hilton on Naresdamri Road. A paradise for seafood lovers!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phil59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

HOTEL - The hotel is in an area just outside Hua Hin called Khao Takiab. There are a few small bars within walking distance to the hotel, but them main hustle and bustle is to be found in Hua Hin (150 bht in a tuk tuk or taxi). To get to the nearest shop turn left out of the hotel and walk through the gates of the hotel next door to "lets sea" hotel, follow the road round to the right and there is a bar and a 7/11 shop. There is also an Art Market just round the corner of the hotel, which has live music, lovely cheap (less then 100bht) and fresh food, and lots of stalls - open Fri - Sun. The hotel room was spacious, we had a twin room with two large kingsized beds, plasma tv,balcony with a fantastic view of the pool, the sea and the mountains. The hotel staff could not do enough for us, the owner of the hotel came to personally say goodbye when we left. In my opinion the staff make this hotel so great. The beach is a 2 min walk away, where there is a beach bar owned by the hotel.
OUT AND ABOUT - We went to the elephant village which is in Hua Hin, it cost 300bht return in a taxi and for a 1 hr elephant ride it was 1000 bht each. We also went to bangkok for the day, paying 2800bht for a return trip, getting picked up at 8am and bought home at 8pm! You are spoiled for choice regarding would restaurants, however i would the Siren hotel and restaurant (nxt door to McDonnalds) food was awful, service was very poor and staff were beyond rude! We did lots of shopping, especially for bags. I would recommend a shop called Tina's for bags, this was the cheapest place i could find in Hua Hin town.

All in all we had a perfect holiday, made even better by the hotel and its staff. Thank you Mantra Resort.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thaitastic2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This review is little late ,photos posted ok review did not appear. We found the Mantra to be an excellent little hotel very friendly team of managers & staff ,just on the edge of Hua Hin .We booked with Hayes & Jarvis who had a special deal on at that time ,so this was excellent value . Very few details available of the hotel at time we booked so we had to go by the hotels website , found this to give an accurate reflection , which is always a good sign. As with most hotels in Thailand we received a cool drink & towels on arrival,which was very welcome after the long transfere from Bangkok airport. Our room was well presented , spotless bathroom with both power shower & rain shower. As expected the room was kept clean with change of linen & towels as requested . Breakfast was buffet at weekends as hotel was full , but cooked to order during the week , plenty of choice and very good quality. As most of the guests were from Bangkok the hotel was quite during the week ,so the pool area although was not large we always had a sunbed on retuning to the hotel after our trips out . Beach was not the best we had seen as sea was in most of the time . Getting around is easy walk up to the main road and catch local bus 10 batt fare , Hua Hin a short ride away to shopping mall , local markets , & local tourist spots like the railway station . At night we took a taxi into town plenty to see & do from bars , night markets excellent restaurants , we always enjoyed eating on the piers .

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hellosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Wow! We have just got back from our amazing honeymoon today and we didn't want to leave!!

This is the first time to Thailand for us as we haven't been dissapointed!!

The staff are amazing, so friendly and hardworking! They couldn't of done enough for us and always with a smile!

We stayed in a deluxe sea veiw room which was gorgeous, with the hugest bed ever!

We enjoyed all the food we ate, and thought it was priced well, we loved the beach bar, especially at night when it was dark and listening to the sea!

The beach was beautiful, although we didn't go our deep to swim as there was warnings of jellyfish! but we took many longs walks in the shallow part which was lovely. You must walk to Chopstick Island which is about half hour walk to the right to see the monkeys and get a massage! She was brillant and cheap!

We loved the pool, it not a big flashy pool for kids but a calm relaxing pool. We felt like the we were in a little paradise away from it all, but only a 10 minute bus drive to town for all the hussle and bussle! And the bus/taxi ride was no incovience at all!!

I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat!

Brillant and amazing staff too!!

We have had the best honeymoon we could wish for!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinklady209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I recently stayed at the Mantra resort and SPA in Hua Hin. I was not all that impressed to be honest. The room (standard) was OK, but small. I thought the bathroom was too big compared to the size of the room. The A/C and fan were very noisy. However I would give an A+ for the efforts on the curtains that keep the room very dark making easier to sleep in in the morning. .

The swimming pool is very small (design swimming pool). The odd thing is that it looks right into every ground floor’s rooms. Not so comfortable. The breakfast is standard, and the restaurant location rather poor.

You can access the beach via a small private road. There is a little beach bar with some lounges and a shower. The beach bar is unreasonably overpriced. It is a good thing that the hotel is located right on the most beautiful beach of Hua Hin, at least to my taste.

Otherwise, the hotel is quite far away from everything, so you will always need transport in and out. Beware of the fact that there are not many places to rent bikes around. It is better to go into town for that.

No free internet access and even the pay service was not available at the time.

The hotel does not offer a good value and I will not go back there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelbee_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

At about USD 65/night in May, this is a reasonable value hotel, though I would not pay much more for it when comparing to others in Hua Hin. Just off a decent beach and with nice, though small, rooms, the property is tidy and well looked after. The long, narrow pool is okay but does not offer a relaxing environment as the main pathway through the hotel runs along/over it and several rooms directly abut it. The breakfast area is also rather cramped, though the food selection is good. A nice touch is the small bar/beach chair area just off the beach (about 100 m from the hotel itself). Overall, it is a reasonable choice though one comes away with a general feeling of being confined in the hotel space. The feeling is amplified as the adjacent property is just a few metres away.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Genius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.0 mi away
Loligo Resort Hua Hin
Loligo Resort Hua Hin
#12 of 141 in Hua Hin
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chom View Hotel
Chom View Hotel
#46 of 141 in Hua Hin
203 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
#29 of 141 in Hua Hin
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Dune Hua Hin
Dune Hua Hin
#51 of 141 in Hua Hin
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#10 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Resort

Address: 83 / 181 Soi Nongkae Village, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: $60 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing