We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what it really is...”
Review of Mantra Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mantra Resort
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Hua Hin
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I recently stayed at the Mantra resort and SPA in Hua Hin. I was not all that impressed to be honest. The room (standard) was OK, but small. I thought the bathroom was too big compared to the size of the room. The A/C and fan were very noisy. However I would give an A+ for the efforts on the curtains that keep the room very dark making easier to sleep in in the morning. .

The swimming pool is very small (design swimming pool). The odd thing is that it looks right into every ground floor’s rooms. Not so comfortable. The breakfast is standard, and the restaurant location rather poor.

You can access the beach via a small private road. There is a little beach bar with some lounges and a shower. The beach bar is unreasonably overpriced. It is a good thing that the hotel is located right on the most beautiful beach of Hua Hin, at least to my taste.

Otherwise, the hotel is quite far away from everything, so you will always need transport in and out. Beware of the fact that there are not many places to rent bikes around. It is better to go into town for that.

No free internet access and even the pay service was not available at the time.

The hotel does not offer a good value and I will not go back there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelbee_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2010

At about USD 65/night in May, this is a reasonable value hotel, though I would not pay much more for it when comparing to others in Hua Hin. Just off a decent beach and with nice, though small, rooms, the property is tidy and well looked after. The long, narrow pool is okay but does not offer a relaxing environment as the main pathway through the hotel runs along/over it and several rooms directly abut it. The breakfast area is also rather cramped, though the food selection is good. A nice touch is the small bar/beach chair area just off the beach (about 100 m from the hotel itself). Overall, it is a reasonable choice though one comes away with a general feeling of being confined in the hotel space. The feeling is amplified as the adjacent property is just a few metres away.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Genius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I thought i had to write about this hotel i have never done this befor.
Hotel was beautifull opend last Aprill very modern just stunning there website does not do this hotel justice.
The beach is the best i have ever seen we have just got back yesterday april 13th 2010 hight of season and basically had the beach to our selfs while we was there the hotel opened a beach bar thay worked hard all night to open this (WE DID NOT HEAR A NOICE IN THEM DOING SO) just a finnishing touch the folowing days we had left.
The staff will go out there way to help with any request you have.
The food is fantastic very good value, to be honest i think the price of this hotel will go up in time just fantastic I do not have any thing negative to write.
There is a taxi service out side the hotel the owner is called luckey we went in to hua hin town
most evenings for 150 bhart-£3.00 we usally went to the night market if you wanted have T-bone steak jacket or chips and salad for £5.00 and i must say no upset tummies or sickness please book this holiday with Mantra you will not be disapointed.The morning we was leaving 2am the hotel packed us a breakfast we was not exspecting this just a nice touch.
We would definately go back. The hotel is great location only 5mins to hua hin if you wanted night life or to eat out just the best of both wourlds.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cunninham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

My Wife and l stayed here for 3 nights at the start of Feb.The hotel is still not even a year old and is located right next to Lets Sea hotel.It is a short walk to the beach maybe 2 mins.The hotel is about 10 mins taxi ride 150 baht each way to hua hin town where some of the best seafood in Thailand is on offer all at reasonable prices.This hotel is really great for familys,has a great pool,excellent food and is just far enough out of town to be a lovely retreat.Our room was on the 5th floor and had an excellent view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We just got back from Hua Hin Mantra for a 3D2N stay. It was a 3 hr car ride from BKK to Hua Hin. We chartered a car that cost about 2200 Baht 01 way, from a nearby travel agent at the hotel we were staying in BKK. There is a cheaper way to get to Hua Hin by Mini bus that cost about 400baht for 01 way. My hubby & I decided to pamper ourselves for once & opt for the luxury ride to Hua Hin.

Hotel
The Mantra Hua Hin is exactly what you see in the website. We booked Deluxe room, got it for 2700baht including breakfast.
Deluxe room was about 35sqm comes with 2 queen bed, nice rain shower & fixtures were still new. I've always liked staying in hotels that are lesser than 3 yrs old. Do Note: It is NOT located on the beach, however there is a private access walking path that leads you right to the beach, it's only about 2mins walk to the beach. So, that was alright for us. You would have to pay tripple the price if you choose to stay at other hotels facing the beach, but even then, I noticed most of the beach facing hotels rooms are not beach facing,unless you got the suite or the family villas. I gathered you're better off staying at other boutique hotels along the same stretch.

Beach
If I were to categorise, I'll rank Hua Hin beach 2nd after Phuket, followed by Pattaya beach in 3rd Placing. It was clean, pristine sandy with good waves, you could go horse riding, kite surfing or jet skiing at Hua Hin Beach. What i really like about Hua Hin, is that there were no street peddlers along the beach, unlike in Pattaya where there were peddlers at every step you take, sun bathers umbrella squashed together, massuese coaxing you for massage, hair breading or trying to sell you stuffs. Basically, what I'm trying to say is that you would not see the same thing in Hua Hin as to Pattaya. It's a good getaway from the hustle & bustle of Bangkok City for couples & families.

Nightlife
Other than a few scattering pubs here & there, Hua Hin is not the main hub for your vibrant nightlife with glitzy neon lights or your typical Go-go bars.

I'll definitely, go back to Hua Hin again if a I have a couple of days to spare over the long weekend away from Bkk.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JM070707Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor Review and am not disappointed. We traveled by air-conditioned express train and that was a lot of fun mixing with locals.

Room: The room is spacious, well decorated with two queen beds and nice pillows. The bathroom has good strong shower.
Beach: The hotel is not on the beach. You need to walk on the private road for about 100 meters. The beach is wonderful with soft sand and relatively clean water. The ocean along the gulf of Thailand is not famous for blue clear water. However, the time I visited Hau Hin (December), it was very good and I enjoyed the salt sea and the sand immensely.
Location: It is about 5 km from downtown. So, the place is quiet and peacful and I like it. Our family walked along the beach to downtown and it took us about 1 hour, but it was a very nice strolling along the great beach with many beach activities along the way.
Food: The food is very good, a bit on a high price but good quality. Happy Hour is at 5-6 pm and you buy 1 get 1 free.
Overall: A good place if you like the quiet atmostphere, away from the tourist areas, but still accesible.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank 3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

The Mantra Resort is a newly opened (April 09) boutique hotel with 49 rooms – it was beautifully decorated and designed. The room was fantastic. All the staff were incredibly polite & friendly and nothing was too much trouble to them – we received 5* treatment throughout the duration of our stay.

The beach is on the doorstep and whilst it was nice enough I did not see anyone swimming in the sea and there were plenty of signs warning of jellyfish (we were there during the rainy season).

On arrival at the hotel we greeted with a warm welcome, an ice cold drink and chilled towels – a nice touch after a 2.5 hour car journey from Bangkok. The food was excellent. There was plenty of choice at breakfast: tea & coffee (continuously topped up!), cereal, fresh fruit, breads, croissants, bacon, eggs, frankfurters ... or you could opt for an Asian style breakfast - noodles, rice dish, soup, etc! Evening meals in the hotel were fantastic too although we generally dined out in the town centre as there were so many great restaurants that were incredibly good value (3 courses & a beer for 2 people for approx £10!).

Complimentary towels were available at the pool. There was also a pool bar where they made wonderful cocktails - the mango and banana daiquiris were amazing! The only slight draw back was that the hotel was about 4 or 5k from the town centre (too far to walk) although you could get a taxi in for 150 bhat (£3) and sometimes we shared taxis in with other guests. However, this would not deter us from returning to this hotel as we loved it so much!

We had a fabulous holiday and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LandSNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.0 mi away
Loligo Resort Hua Hin
Loligo Resort Hua Hin
#12 of 141 in Hua Hin
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chom View Hotel
Chom View Hotel
#46 of 141 in Hua Hin
203 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
Hisea HuaHin Hotel
#29 of 141 in Hua Hin
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Dune Hua Hin
Dune Hua Hin
#51 of 141 in Hua Hin
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#10 of 141 in Hua Hin
1,272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Let's Sea Hua Hin Al Fresco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Resort

Address: 83 / 181 Soi Nongkae Village, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range: $60 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Hotel Hua Hin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing