We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai Fusion food ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Buffalo Tavern

Ye Olde Buffalo Tavern
Ranked #25 of 605 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, European, Thai, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Thai Fusion food ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Eaten in this restaurant quite a few times over the past few years when visiting Hua Hin and have found it to be consistently good. Have tried quite a few of the dishes on offer but have to say that the Thai Fusion dishes are amazing. We ate there twice last week, first visit the place was reasonably quiet and we were served quickly and efficiently. Second visit, the place was packed and we waited well over an hour for our food. We weren't in a hurry and only concern was that the food would not be up to standard as the kitchen was obviously under pressure. Pleased to say we were wrong and the food was of the usual high standard. Bill (the owner) was very apologetic about the wait and we could see that some people were becoming annoyed but we were just pleased that the food was as good as usual.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggsandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    135
    41
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just got back to hotel after a scrumptious meal at Bills tavern. Came here last year nothing has changed if anything only better. Bill was run off his feet but made sure to have a quick stop at our table to say hello. My friends Sue and Peter introduced to Ye Olde Buffalo
Tavern and in turn I would highly recommend it to anyone. Jennie from Melbourne Australia

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hot apple pie with ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I've eaten at Buffalo Bill's at least 5 times in the week that I have been in Hua Hin.
I am considering moving to Hua Hin, and Bill's place would definitely be tops on my list as a local.
Good food at reasonable prices, with some dishes I have not seen anywhere else in town.
Tonight I had hot apple pie a la mode! I could not believe I would find my favorite dessert here in Thailand.
You can't beat the friendly staff and atmosphere and views while you have a cold drink and people watch across the street from the beach and fishing pier.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Real family pub with a warm and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I live in Hua Hin, and I always enjoy eating at Buffalo Bill's. The food is always tasty, and some dishes are delicious. However, what I like most about this pub is that it's a real, family pub, which is really hard to find in Thailand. I feel comfortable to come here with my kids, and think they can get a sense of what a real English pub is all about. Let's face it, a lot of Thai 'pubs' are opened by dodgy geezers and frequented by dodgy geezers. Buffalo Bills is the total opposite. It's a proper English family pub, which just happens to be planted by the seaside in Thailand, with a great lookout to watch the world go by and enjoy the fresh sea breeze. Bill, Loraine and their children, George and Harry are a really nice family. They give you a warm welcome, and are always happy to have a chat. If you come to Hua Hin, then the first thing you should do is to get out and about, visit the local market, meet the locals, enjoy delicious Thai seafood and explore Hua Hin. However, when the time has come to chill out with a few home comforts, in good company, then Buffalo Bills is a great place to head.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterinHuaHin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try it :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Pizza is good here! Prices are a little bit high. They have very delicious dessert - chocolate brownie with the ice-cream. Yummy!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Variaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Buffalo Tavern also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Ye Olde Buffalo Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing