We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, not the cleanest”
Review of Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofia Hotel
Ranked #25 of 308 Hua Hin B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

So I stayed here for four nights. The shared bathroom wasn't cleaned once which was pretty gross as you have four people using a bathroom where you can't flush toilet roll. The room was a nice size with excellent air conditioning however every other balcony seemed clean, and had chairs, however ours was covered in pigeon poo with no chairs to sit on. We were given a late checkout (2pm) free of charge which was excellent. However when we had to leave in a hurry and needed to use the Internet if was very slow, that may have had something to do with being on the top floor though. Overall I'd stay here again, the room was nice, the location is very good, however I would specify what it is exactly you want when booking as we booked an air con room, which also had a fan. A fan would have been sufficient, but we weren't told this and were charged extra unneccessarily.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxy0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie W, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments and i am very happy you enjoyed your stay. As for the "cleanliness", i have changed maid service, and increased our vidulence over them.
Cheers !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel is very nice and a great place to hang out. Big rooms. Bar, pool tables, garden. Great location. Quite street but Less than 5 minutes to Beach and nightlife area. Love all the orchids and flowers everywhere. A surprise for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pd_dingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie W, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks for the great review. And yes Tripadvisor needs to update our name (and our Hotel Picture )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I known the staff and the owner and they are very friendly and have a lot of fun.
Good choice if you want to stay in the city centre, near nightlife area.
Good value for money, staff helpful
Room with fan or air conditioning

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie W, General Manager at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked 12 weeks in advance and sorted price,i phoned 1 hour before we got there and told the room was ready,when we arrived they tried to charge us 100 baht per night more than we were told when booking,we went to our room and found water running out of the fridge no blanket,the cleaner just leaving the room,we called her back to mop up the water on the floor,My wife was not happy and wanted to go to another hotel but i talked her into staying,the next 3 days my wife cleand the room to make sure it was clean.The first time i stopped there it was well worth the money,but now it is dirty and in bad condition and in need of a good clean and lick of paint.Will never ever be stopping there again.

Room Tip: get a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie W, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

All reviews prior to January 2013 are for Top Mark Hotel. Sofia Hotel took over ownership and Management January 15 of 2013. The hotel has been renovated and changed management. Please let us know how you think we are doing.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The hotel is dirty. We paid the most yet we get a bad hotel. Very disapointted with the price we paid. The bed is not good and no blanket given.The room is in bad condition. You can have better choice across the road with cheapper and cleanner room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YingMelaka_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie W, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

All reviews prior to January 2013 are for Top Mark Hotel. Sofia Hotel took over ownership and Management January 15 of 2013. The hotel has been renovated and changed management. Please let us know how you think we are doing.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My room was fairly large, well kept, nicely furnished. The bed was comfortable and, for once in Thailand, the pillows were pefect -- not rock hard. My biggest complaint was very dim lighting -- w/o my headlamp reading would have been very difficult even with the little lights on the headboard. It would also have been nice to have a chair or two on the small balcony. Staff were welcoming. Booked on Agoda I paid 810 baht, including Agoda's fee, which struck me as fair value for something a significant cut above my usual guesthouse digs. The location is good, a long block back from the oceanside road on a quiet very Thai end of Poonsuk Road (further south the Poosuk is dense with massage joints, bars and farang restaurants).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia H, Manager at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This hotel sums up the beautiful classy resort of Hua Hin. Clean honest fresh friendly & no pushy hard sell unlike the ugly mess of Pattaya.
Booked into this gem on Sat 1st Jan expecting no vacancies as the resort appeared crowded with the new years revellers.
Could not believe I picked up a delux looking room for 1000B. There was a massive cable tv with live sport 75 channels many english speaking. The room was huge with large comfortable bed, sofa,wardrobe, flowers, nice soap, toilet room, hot shower, aircon, fan, 2 free bottles of water in a very nice fridge. The whole room was modern clean fresh.
The hotel staff spoke excellent english there was free internet at reception free snooker/pool and just a very friendly atmosphere at the bar/reception all day.
Breakfast wasnt included in the price but they did serve a lovely choose it yourself breakfast at a reasonable price between 10am and 3pm.
The hotel was not far from the beach & nightlife maybe 200-250 metres but far enough away to be quiet.
My only slight complaint was the idiots who liked to charge around 24 hours a day on noisy motor bikes impairing on sleep a little.
Having said that I have stayed in 12 hotels in 14 months in Thailand & its islands & this is the best in terms of value for money. Such a shame had to return to Bangkok today!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roverEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia H, Manager at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Guest House Hua Hin
3.8 mi away
Sahwan Boutique Resort
Sahwan Boutique Resort
#72 of 232 in Hua Hin
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hua Hin Kings Home
Hua Hin Kings Home
#15 of 308 in Hua Hin
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pearl@Huahin
Pearl@Huahin
#34 of 308 in Hua Hin
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taphouse
Taphouse
#17 of 308 in Hua Hin
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victor Guesthouse
Victor Guesthouse
#5 of 308 in Hua Hin
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel

Address: 100/3-6 Poonsuk Road, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand (Formerly Top Mark's Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Hua Hin
Price Range: $11 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sofia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofia Hotel is a great boutique hotel in the center of Hua Hin. It is located less than 5 minutes the Night Life/Bar area,The Night Market, the Beach, and the main Restaurant Row. Free High Speed WI-Fi through out, 6 iPads and 6 PC Internet Stations for free use, A nice Bar, 2 Pool Tables, Ping Pong, and Dart Boards in Lobby Area. We have very comfortable beds, a nice back garden with lots of orchids, and nice front deck. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing