We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Thani Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Thani Hua Hin
Ranked #12 of 137 Hotels in Hua Hin
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

One becomes easily panegyric when writing a review for this hotel. And if one does, it's well deserved. The welcome is exceptional. Staff is very nice and polite. Our room was well equipped, clean and nice. We appreciate the fruit that was put into the room every day. The swimming pool was clean, and the lifeguards were very attentive.

The hotel is a bit outside the center of Hua Hin city, but the hourly shuttle bus makes it easy to get there. In fact it may help you organizing your day compared to staying in the city center.

The buffet breakfast is rather high priced. I don’t think anyone can eat food enough to defend that price. But the ala carte menu gives you the opportunity to choose otherwise according to your choice. And as long as I get my Khao Tom Moo Sap for breakfast, I’m more than satisfied.

One night we dined at The Restaurant, another at Rim Talay. When dining at a restaurant it is OK that the waiters are discretely present, but I also think it’s important to have an enjoyable and positive dialogue with the waiters. To get some information about the food and beverages, and have a little chat now and then.

At The Restaurant the person I think was the headwaiter, was very attentive and pleasant. He persuaded us to try a bottle of Thai wine, Monsoon Valley Colombard. Having very bad experiences with Thai wine, I was very skeptical. But the wine was surprisingly good. In fact it reminded me of an Italian Soave. Though it’s not the same grape, the reason may be that this Thai wine is produced in an Italian method of wine making. As the food was good as well, it became a pleasant evening.

At the Rim Talay the waiters were more reserved. Especially a female waiter appeared a bit arrogant or overbearing, which there with my company should be no reason for. But for me it caused the meal to be less relaxed and not as cheerful as I’d like it to be. The seafood however was very good.

In general it is my impression that employees in the service industry coming from Isan are quite similar to Swedish employees working here in Norway. The Isan people seems more pleasant and service minded compared to other Thais, as the Swedish people are the same compared to Norwegian employees.

By the fact that Hua Hin is the spot in Thailand with most sunny days during the year, this destination is a good choice. And the Dusit Thani hotel is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Sirator

Thanks for your kind comments on the services and facilities at our resort.

At Dusit Thani Hua Hin, we strive to do our utmost to ensure the enjoyment of our guests. We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the recommendation of a local wine by our staff.

We regret that one of our waitresses appeared to be unfriendly. We have highlighted the importance of 'friendly service with a smile' to our waitering staff.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Dusit Thani Hua Hin.

Thanks & regards.

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    420
    102
    26
    21
See reviews for
521
542
52
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hillingdon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Luxury all the way, beautfull decor, very clean rooms, and the view from the balcony was picturesque, The staff are excellent, we stayed 9 nights and will go back.
I would recommend that you get the shuttle bus into Hua Hin ( it costs 50 bhts each, a fare price ) and go to the night market for your evening meal, it is a lot cheaper to eat there and the food is excellent, the Hotel prices are the same as you would have to pay in any main town in England.
The only thing that i did not like was the taxi service from the hotel, they call it a limo service to over charge, I booked a limo to go to Cha Am to see some friends, and my wife and myseft had to travel in a bus ( i do not class that as a limo ) and it cost 700 bhts payable before you go. When we were ready to return we got a local taxi, and it cost 300 bhts, less than half price, The cost of a any taxi from Cha Am town centre to Hau Hin town centre is 500 bhts.
I believe that the Limo service is not run by the Dusit, but by a seperate contractor.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a garden view, there aren't any, they are all sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandadron51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear grandadron51

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you had a wonderful holiday at our resort.

As our guests safety is of paramount concern, Dusit Thani Hua Hin has, for several years, contracted Bangkok Limousine to operate safe and reliable limousine and transfer services on behalf of the hotel. By doing so, we can be confident that we are offering properly insured and maintained vehicles, driven by properly trained and responsible drivers who are conscious of their passenger's welfare.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Thanks & regards

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on Dusit Club Floor for 3 nights. This hotel which is 22 years old and very much Thai influenced has built its reputation on Conferencing and Banqueting. It is very evident that the Thai family directors have a very close connection with the Thai Royal Family and this is reflected in the many photographs located in the magnificent lobby. The hotel grounds are extensive and the view from our room was really lovely overlooking both the swimming pool and the sea. The Dusit Club Lounge was very nice but was spoiled on the last day of our vacation which was the start of the local resident weekend and the hotel was swamped with families with children as a result children were in the Club Lounge unsupervised and eating various sticky cakes etc.. whilst using the computer terminals ---- quite frankly this is unacceptable and I made the staff aware of this because they were turning a blind eye ! I spoke to Willem the supervisor who agreed that this practice was unacceptable --- but I am not confident that anything will be done about it ? In so far as our room was concerned generally it was fine except that the shower was not working correctly (Room 760) ie. the water temperature could not be controlled. Despite reporting this 3 times and been shown "the procedure" to obtained a constant temperature ---- we found this an impossible task and consequently the water was either too hot or too cold --- not a good start to the day !!! The Dining Venues were very nice and particularly "The Restaurant" for breakfast which had the most amazing selection of all types of dishes which probably the best ever offering of Asian Food which obviously reflected the hotels marketing strategy of aiming for the South East Asian Market. A real hidden gem of the hotel complex is the DFit with a very attractive laid out Sauna, Steam Room and Jacuzzi. Would we stay here again ? Not in the local school holidays and certainly not weekends.

Final note would senior management kindly pass on our thanks to the following staff members who provided a service far and above the call of normal duty :
1. Sumalee at Front Desk
2. Nop Jaros at Dusit Club Lounge
3. Tipkamol Chef at Baan Benjarong

Thank you.

Room Tip: High Floor -- view direct to Swimming pool and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLUEWONDER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Blue Wonder 1

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani Hua Hin and sharing your comments with us. We acknowledge your concern with children running unsupervised at our Club Lounge which decreased some of the enjoyment for you. Our management is constantly reviewing our policy in our endeavour to provide the highest quality of service and facilities to our guests.

We are particularly heartened to have received your praise for several of our staff and we have passed on your thanks to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best Regards

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Luxury place & good service
The hotel is built more than 30 years ago. But it's still look good and clean.
A little thing of service that i can't got from any hotel is a drinking water on my sun deck after i swam. I'm very happy to stay this place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Jetaree

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani Hua Hin and taking time to leave your kind review of your stay.
The hotel will be celebrating its 22nd birthday this coming December. We are delighted to read your comment regarding the hotel still looking good and clean.
For those in the Tripadvisor readership, I would like to take this opportunity to advise that our staff do serve complimentary water around the pool areas at 11am and 2pm. Guests are welcome to request water outside of these times from the staff at the Sala Thip situated by the main swimming pool.
We sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back at Dusit Thani Hua Hin. Once again, thanks for the review.

Best Regards

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The Dusit Thani in Hua Hin is perfect for a weekend getaway from Bangkok. Very high standard of service and classy design... great swimming pool as well, like different world compared to Bangkok because so quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ice_tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Ice_tp

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani Hua Hin and your kind review on tripadvisor. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed our service, our 50 meter swimming pool and the quiet environment of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards.

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We took the shuttle from Dusit Thani Bangkok to Hua Hin (1000 bath return). Good driver. We took the "club king"reservation. "Suite, private dining room and club room for happy hour included. Majestic pool, and great service. I am vegetarian and every night they had a special plate just for me. We tried other hotels in HuaHin but always return to the Unique Dusit Thani 5*. Stop cherching .. Dusit Thani is THE place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Mmeking
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dusit Thani Hua Hin and your kind review.
For those who have not had the opportunity to stay at Dusit Thani Hua Hin before, we have a daily shuttle called ‘Sprinter’ between Dusit Thani Bangkok and Dusit Thani Hua Hin. The price is 600 Baht nett per person per way. It operates from Dusit Thani Hua Hin at 11.15am sharp and arrives at Dusit Thani Bangkok approximately at 1.30pm subject to traffic condition in Bangkok. The return journey departs Dusit Thani Bangkok at 3.00pm and returns to Dusit Thani Hua Hin at 5.30pm.
Our Club Room in point of fact is not a suite. However, it does come with Club benefits which include Club Lounge access and club guests get to enjoy full breakfast in a private area and a host of other benefits.
Our team continually strives to provide excellent service with attention to detail to all our guests. We are delighted that your enjoyed the service from our team during your stay.
Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards.
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Dusit for 8 nights we were a party of 6 (older generation guests) from the moment we arrived every one greeted us with a smile. We were in the club rooms and can honestly say it was well worth the extra we paid,canapes and drinks in the evening and snacks and soft drinks all day. The Staff in the club lounge could not do enough for you a special mention to Eve, Swon and Ben who were on duty most days. The other nice gesture I would like to mention is the Manager(Andrew) greeted us on arrival and introduced his self to us each day he would catch up with us somewhere in the Hotel and grounds to check every thing was ok noticed he did this to all guests something we have never had before and we have stopped in most of Hua Hin 4* and 5* hotels in previouus years. The Hotel is spotless and at the breakfast buffet there is something for everybody what ever nationality. Only takes about 10mins in Mini bus or taxi to Hua Hin. A great holiday all round!!

Room Tip: The club rooms are overlooking the sean and the Hotel grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear ArchieLincoln

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani Hua Hin and your kind comments regarding the service provided by Eve, Swon, Ben and Andrew. I will pass on your comments as I’m sure the team would be grateful for the recognition.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food at the Club Lounge and breakfast buffet. It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to host you and your friends and we look forward to welcoming you back at Dusit Thani Hua Hin.

Best Regards

Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
10.1 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
7.6 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
5.6 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 137 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#10 of 137 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,479 reviews
8.8 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#15 of 137 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#13 of 137 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Hua Hin

Property: Dusit Thani Hua Hin
Address: 1349 Petchkasem Road | Cha-am, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#11 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Hua Hin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking an idyllic beach on the Gulf of Thailand and surrounded by lush greenery, Dusit Thani Hua Hin provides the ultimate resort experience in a historic destination steeped in Thai royal heritage. Dusit Thani Hua Hin combines classic Thai design with modern amenities, offering guests a serene and lavish getaway that echoes Hua Hin's past as a summer retreat for the Thai royal family. In addition to the natural beauty that surrounds it, the hotel's spacious grounds comprise an ornamental lake, lily pond, tropical gardens, two magnificent swimming pools and much more. This self-contained oasis, conveniently located just 2.5 hours from Bangkok by car, also provides a range of recreational facilities, including water-sports venues, tennis and squash courts, a fitness centre and sports pavilion. If guests wish to wind down, they have a diverse choice of dining and entertainment options or the tranquil and serene Devarana Spa to rejuvenate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dusit Thani Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Hua Hin Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing