We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel, great grounds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit Thani Hua Hin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dusit Thani Hua Hin
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Hua Hin
Chiang Rair
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have now stayed at this hotel many times over a period of more than a decade. It's a lovely place and has a huge, green, site that no other hotel in Hua Hin (and few in Thailand) can match. Really friendly and helpful staff, some have been there more than 10 years (sign of happy staff and good management). The pools are enormous and great fun, and there is a quiet, garden pool for those who want to get away from other people's children, with pool-side massages under the palm trees. The availability of horse riding as part of the hotel adds an extra dimension and the stables are clean and well organized. Food is fine - they have recently pushed it up a level. The hotel is a bit outside Hua Hin itself (in Cha Am,) but there is a cheap shuttle bus into town and back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKKtraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Senior Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Bkktraveller31,
Thank you very much for your continued support and patronage of Dusit Thani Hua Hin, and for taking the time to leave a kind review of your stay on tripadvisor, both of which we sincerely appreciate.
It’s wonderful for us to be able to note that you enjoy the food, service and facilities during your stays with us. If I may I would like to take a moment to kindly inform the tripadvisor readership that the hotel is approximately 10km from Hua Hin town center. We do offer an hourly shuttle from the hotel to town as Bkktraveller31 has pointed out in the review above starting from 10am to 10pm. The cost of this journey is only 50 baht per person, per way. This journey would take approximately 10 minutes depending on the weight of traffic and whether or not you get caught at 1 of the 2 sets of traffic lights between our hotel and the town center. The Hua Hin night market is just a short 2 minute walk or so from the drop off point. There is a return shuttle service again priced at 50 baht per person, per way that leaves at every half past the hour from 10.30am to 10.30pm. I would recommend that anyone wishing to make use of this service kindly book their seats to avoid disappointment.
Once again Bkktraveller31 we are very grateful to you for choosing to return to our resort on your visits to Hua Hin. We do sincerely hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dusit Thani Hua Hin soon.
Warmest Regards,
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    436
    104
    28
    21
See reviews for
577
572
62
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stay one night over there. I can spend an hour around hotel, big, verities, and has private beach. There are two pools, the normal and the salt one.
The room a little bit old and has little smell. ^^

Room Tip: If you have kid, tell the hotel that you would love to stay close to pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wongtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Senior Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Wongtip,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, and for taking the time to leave a review of your stay on tripadvisor which we appreciate.
We are pleased to note that you enjoyed our 2 pools, quiet beach area as well as the service from our team and other facilities during your time at our resort.
I am sorry to read however, that you had noticed a smell in your room, please do accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that may have happened during your stay with us. If you would be so kind as to spare a moment more and let us know what room number it was you stayed in, it would greatly assist me to look in more detail at the issue you have raised.
Thank you again for your review Wongtip, and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to Dusit Thani Hua Hin in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The room is too old and has lost a good character for a five star hotel. The swimming pool and beachfront is nice. Nothing is impressive about restaurants. If not because it's a seminar location, I wouldn't choose to stay here for my own vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APinyaNoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Senior Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear LOML5522,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a brief review of your stay on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the swimming pool and beachfront of our resort during your recent seminar here.
I am sorry to note that the restaurants in our hotel were not up to your expectations, we have received a lot of good feedback from not only the members of this very forum but also from many delegates regarding the consistently high quality of food that is served throughout the bank holiday weekend. We do realise that taste is subjective and not being ones to take anything for granted, I can assure you that we always seek to deliver the highest standards in guest satisfaction during their stays with us. That being said, clearly we did not deliver this for you, and for that I do hope you can accept our sincerest apologies and ask that if you should visit again please make your taste preferences known to any of our staff. I would also like to invite you to please get in touch with me directly on where you felt improvement was needed and I would be more than delighted to look further into this issue for you.
We do similarly understand that room styling and décor can be another subjective area. Next month, we are going to be carrying out further renovations to some of our Superior category rooms, work which we hope shall be completed by the end of November. Dusit Thani Hua Hin has entered her 22nd year and whilst acknowledging that we are not the newest kid on the block, nor pretending to be, we are immensely proud of our warm Thai heritage and ‘character’. We at this resort are consistently striving to deliver these core characteristics of warmth and hospitable services to all of our guests and I am sorry to read, LOML5522, that this did not come across for you during your stay at this resort.
Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we shall have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again to Dusit Thani Hua Hin in the future.
Yours Sincerely,
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanital
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Fantastic hotel. The service is par excellence. The food at the sea side restaurant a must to experience. A wonderful stay Indeed. If you visit Hua Hin this is the place to stay.we had one of the very best holidays we have ever had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Senior Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Sk07,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Dusit Thani on your visit to Hua Hin, and for taking the time to leave a very kind review of your stay on tripadvisor, which the team and I sincerely appreciate.
It is wonderful to note that you enjoyed our Rim Talay Bar and Grill Restaurant (The Restaurant next to the beach) and that you also enjoyed excellent service from the team here at the resort.
Dear Sk07 many thanks again for your kind review, and we sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to Dusit Thani Hua Hin again at some point in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Dusit Thani is a lovely hotel with fantastic garden areas and pool. The rooms need a bit of work however the view our room had was fabulous so we forgot about the tired room. We over looked the pool, gardens and ocean which by the look most rooms would have the same view. I found the staff around the pool were a little slow at serving but were friendly. The hotel is about 20mins from the main area of Hua Hin which you have to get a bus and the hotel offer this service however it will cost 50bhat each way per person this is the cheapest option as we tried a Tuk Tuk back from town to the hotel and it was 250bhat, so I guess depends on how many people you have.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cashola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Senior Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear cashola,
Thank you for choosing Dusit Thani for your recent visit to Hua Hin, and for taking the time to leave a review of your stay on tripadvisor, both of which we sincerely appreciate.
It is wonderful for us to be able to note that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, and that you particularly enjoyed the view from your room.
Please do accept our apologies if you felt the service was slow around the main pool, I have passed your comments on to the respective department manager to be shared with the team and to improve as necessary.
Dear cashola, many thanks again for your kind review and we do hope that we will be fortunate enough to one day be able to welcome you back for another pleasant stay at Dusit Thani Hua Hin.
Warm Regards,
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This is my forth stay here. But I still feel great about this hotel. The great mail pool with the very huge size with sea view. There is a Jaguzi nearby. The room I have is th Dusit club sea view which face direct to the main pool and the the sea impress me lot.
Even it is outside the main hua Hin downtown. But it makes the beach so private and peaceful. It is very nice coming with family.
The fitness is not crowded when I stayed.

My favorite is the breakfast. The food is really delicious with options.
Will come back here again for sure

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kobchula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Senior Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear kobchula,
Thank you very much for returning for your forth stay at our resort, we are sincerely grateful for your continued support and patronage of our resort, and for taking the time to leave your kind review on tripadvisor.
It is wonderful to be able to note that you enjoyed your Club Room in our hotel and the peaceful beach and buffet breakfast during your stay. We do hope that we shall have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back on your fifth visit to Dusit Thani Hua Hin in the not too distant future.
Warmest Regards,
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent 9 nights in the Dusit Thani Hotel in Hua Hin and had a great holiday
First of all we were in room 644 which had a great view over the pool and the sea and was well decorated with a very comfortable bed. The reception area is beautiful, well decorated and plenty of space if you want to sit and chill out. We were offered half board at the hotel and wish now we had taken it as the food and restaurants were of a very high standard The buffet evenings in the Italian were really good and we enjoyed the "all inclusive" option with the wine included. Our favourite restuarant had to be the Thai restuarant both for food and ambience as it is absolutely beautiful with great Thai food. The hotel is more expensive to eat in than Hua Hin itself but after all it is a 5* hotel We enjoyed some meals in Hua Hin but didn't find it the prettiest resort we have ever been to. The shuttle bus was very easy to get into town and back although a taxi back was not too expensive. Cant complain as the hotel makes it clear they are not in Hua Hin but if you prefer just to walk out without taking transport this is not the hotel for you. We spent two nights in their sister hotel in Bangkok as we wanted to see the Grand Palace etc and this was also a great experience. You can do a trip however from Hua Hin which is maybe easier if you dont want to waste time moving hotels. The shuttle bus from Bankok to Hua Hin and back was excellent and considerably cheaper than a taxi. Easy enough to get a taxi but we treated ourselves to the hotel limo when we arrived which was well worth the money. You can arrange this with the hotel prior to arrival.

The pool is huge with plenty of sunbeds. They have a notice to say removal of towels after 1 hr if not occupied which makes such a difference although the hotel was not full when we were their. The beach is small but clean and has been eroded a bit by the weather which is not the fault of the hotel

Last but not least the attitude of the staff and the Thai people is so calm, polite and customer focused, something I will always remember. Probably hard to find such nice people anywhere else in the world

Thank you to Andrew for his polite and friendly attitude towards us and hopefully we will meet again one day. Your really need to sort out the rain though!

The Dusit Thani deserves its 5* rating and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Christine

Room Tip: Rooms facing the large pool are nice with great views
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusit_Hua_Hin, Senior Assistant Manager at Dusit Thani Hua Hin, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear ChrissieScotland,

Thank you very much for choosing Dusit Thani Hua Hin on your recent holiday to Thailand and for taking the time to leave your comprehensive and kind review of your stay at our resort which we sincerely appreciate.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, our facilities and service from the team during your stay. I would just like to take a moment to expand slightly on ChrissieScotland’s comments regarding the shuttle bus to the town center for those in the tripadvisor readership that are not aware of this service. We do have an hourly shuttle that leaves the hotel from 10am to 10pm to town and an hourly return shuttle from Hua Hin town center from 10.30am to 10.30pm. The journey will take approximately 10 minutes and costs just 50 baht per person, per way. Booking seats is recommended to avoid disappointment.

The other shuttle service mentioned in the review above is our daily Sprinter Shuttle service to Bangkok, which leaves our resort at 11.15am sharp and will arrive at Dusit Thani Bangkok approximately 2 and half hours later at 1.45pm. The return Sprinter Shuttle to Hua Hin will depart from the Dusit Thani Bangkok at 3pm and should arrive at our resort at approximately 5.30pm. The cost of this service is only 600 baht nett per person, per way and again I would recommend that anyone wishing to use this service book their seats in advance to avoid disappointment.

Dear ChrissieScotland thank you again on behalf of an extremely grateful team for your review, it was wonderful to meet you and your husband during your stay, I will continue to work on the rain, and should have this sorted by November! We do hope that we shall have the pleasure of being able to welcome you both back in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
10.1 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
7.6 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
5.6 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 138 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#14 of 138 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#11 of 138 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#13 of 138 in Hua Hin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Hua Hin

Property: Dusit Thani Hua Hin
Address: 1349 Petchkasem Road | Cha-am, Hua Hin 76120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hua Hin
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#6 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#10 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Hua Hin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking an idyllic beach on the Gulf of Thailand and surrounded by lush greenery, Dusit Thani Hua Hin provides the ultimate resort experience in a historic destination steeped in Thai royal heritage. Dusit Thani Hua Hin combines classic Thai design with modern amenities, offering guests a serene and lavish getaway that echoes Hua Hin's past as a summer retreat for the Thai royal family. In addition to the natural beauty that surrounds it, the hotel's spacious grounds comprise an ornamental lake, lily pond, tropical gardens, two magnificent swimming pools and much more. This self-contained oasis, conveniently located just 2.5 hours from Bangkok by car, also provides a range of recreational facilities, including water-sports venues, tennis and squash courts, a fitness centre and sports pavilion. If guests wish to wind down, they have a diverse choice of dining and entertainment options or the tranquil and serene Devarana Spa to rejuvenate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dusit Thani Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Hua Hin Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing