We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Ranked #77 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second honeymoon”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the wannara for our second honeymoon, we chose it because of it's centre location which was good for that, as for the hotel I can only say that when we first arrived we were taken to our room only to find 2 single beds. I went to reception to ask about a change of room with a double bed only to be told "they don't have any rooms with double beds"!! Which I find ridicules for a hotel and what made it worse is that on there hotel TV in reception, they are showing a room with a, you guessed it, a double bed!! The room we had to put up with was ok, there were handles missing off 2 of the cupboards, the curtains looked like they had been hanging there since the hotel opened, however long ago that was, because they were filthy. The only plus was at leased we did have clean bedding and towels. The internet was also hit & miss, one minute it was there the next it wasn't, poor connection.
Apart from one or two staff we found most of them were not very pleasant. The hotel it's self is in need of an up date, the pool, which we only went in once, is in need of a full restoration, it is old looking and lots of tiles are missing. the food was ok but then we only had breakfast there. While we were at the wannara we found the hotel owner just happened to be staying there as well, she was sat having breakfast every morning at the same time, the staff looked frightened to death of her, all I can say is, going off the way she was with the people who were staying in the hotel she did not seem at all interested in them, she made no attempt to say good morning, smile or anything, not very good example from an owner.
Would we stay there again, only if we could not get to stay in a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leigh w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    71
    72
    21
    17
See reviews for
35
76
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have just returned from a 20 night stay at the Wannara. Before I went I was having second thoughts about going there after re-reading some of the negative reviews. I am glad I took no notice the staff are really friendly I can only assume the people who say they are rude are that way themselves as we witnessed one man being extremely agressive towards the breakfast staff. A smile, please and thank you goes a very long way in Thialand and everwhere else come to that. We arrived around 9.30 in the morning and I asked if there was any chance of checking in before 2pm the receptionist said no so we went for a walk for about an hour and then went back and was given our room straight away. I agree that the place could do with a makeover but how long do you want to stay in the room, it was clean and fairly well appointed. The safety deposit boxes are behind reception not in the room as one reviewer stated which is a bit of a nuisance. My Husband had to go into hospital for a couple of days the hotel calling the ambulance for me, we had only been there about 3 hours when 2 hotel staff came with a basket of fruit and on returning to the hotel I found a get well note. The free wifi is a bit hit and miss but there are several zones within the hotel. I had the same problem last year in another hotel a few yards away so I think its more do do with the area. The breakfast was fine with quite a good variety of things to eat, there was also an egg station for omelettes etc. I would not hesitate going back there again.

Room Tip: We had room 501 which was at the end with just one floor above overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yvonnegardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singpore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Wannara on 8-11 oct for golfing trip. We didn't expect too much after reading the reviews on TA. Check in was fast we were allocated room 403/407. My room was ok but bedside lamp wasn't working and the other room bed was making noises as u sit on it. Rooms were clean but it need some maintenance. Balcony floor was dirty. Maid didn't sweep throughout our time there. Location was perfect in middle of town. Walking distance to night market and seafood centre.
In summary I would say it is just a place for resting as we went out half of day golfing. Also limited facilities and breakfast is average.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Erickktan1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Have stayed here for 10 days every year for the last fours years on a golf trip to the area.
Location is great but this is the last time we stay here.
Half the staff are uninterested in their job, the other half are brilliant. We used the pool once in 10 days because the water was so dirty and there were lots of tiles lying on the bottom of the pool that had broken loose and they had sharp edges. The guy cleaning the pool (????) just left all the tiles on the bottom of the pool for the entire time we were there.
This place has really gone down hill and needs a good kick in butt to get it going again, it is pretty cheap but even that isn't enough to get us back.
I would suggest you avoid this place, last year I would have recommended it, not anymore

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hua Hin hotels

Olstykke, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just came home from a 13 days stay at Wannara Hotel Hua Hin. The Hotel is nice and neatly BUT….!

Almost none of the staff speaks English or does not want to, when there are problems. There is a safety box in the hotel room which we used. When we were leaving the last day and emptied the safety box we found out that somebody other than us had been in it. 500 US $ had been stolen from the safety box and it could only be open by someone with access to the master key besides ourselves. There were absolutely no help from the staff in the reception. In the reception they would not understand what we were saying. They just said “Go police”. Nice advice when the police don’t speak English at all.

We will NEVER stay at this hotel again and we would like to warn others against using it.

The staff – who was clearly involved in the theft – couldn’t even say “Sorry”.

We also saw rats by the pool. We informed the staff about this – with a google translate – but they did absolutely nothing about it. Yummi.

Hanne & Flemming

Denmark

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Flemming A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A small hotel in a good location. Within walking distance to cafes, pubs and restaurants.
Clean and comfortable though a bit run down for wear and tear in some rooms.
Breakfast is basic and sufficient.
There's only one lift in the hotel. But with limited rooms, not a problem. A balcony to each room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edstan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at Wannara Hotel Hua Hin on many occasions and been very happy.
On our last visit, July 2013 we found the place to be run down, dirty and the swimming pool a murky slimy green.

Sadly this will be out last stay there as it is conveniently located but has fallen into disrepair.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
0.1 mi away
Sirin Hotel
Sirin Hotel
#52 of 136 in Hua Hin
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Hua Hin
MANATHAI Hua Hin
#35 of 136 in Hua Hin
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalelarn Hotel Hua Hin
Chalelarn Hotel Hua Hin
#38 of 136 in Hua Hin
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thipurai City Hotel
Thipurai City Hotel
#40 of 136 in Hua Hin
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Beach Resort
City Beach Resort
#91 of 136 in Hua Hin
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
D Varee Diva Kiang Haad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wannara Hotel Hua Hin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wannara Hotel Hua Hin

Property: Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Address: 174/9 Naresdamri Rd, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wannara Hotel Hua Hin 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wannara Hotel Hua Hin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing