We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Putachesnik
Ayutthaya, Thailand

Better than expected

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 3, 2012
After reading the previous reviews of the Wannara, I was loathe to stay there. However, my business associate's friend had already booked the rooms, and it would have been impolite to stay elsewhere.

I am glad that I stayed there for two (2) nights. Given the price and the location, the hotel is a bargain. If you get a room on the 5th or 6th (top) floor you have a good view of the town.

RECEPTION - Yes, the staff are not as friendly as some other hotels. Keep in mind, however, that there is often only one person working at the reception counter. I found that a positive attitude helped to make dealing with reception an increasingly positive experience.

SWIMMING POOL - Great for the price. The pool is about 25 to 27 meters long of which about 6 meters is for kiddy pool and jacuzzi. The main pool is about 20 meters (+/- 10%) long. The width is sufficient for two people to do laps.

The quality of the water was acceptable, but not up to usual Thai standards. Once in the water, I found it to be a bit cloudy. This is probably from inadequate filtration as the chlorine smell was noticeable.

FOOD - Breakfast is OK. If not included in the room price it is Thai Baht 200, which is a bargain in my opinion. The buffet selection was limited but covered the basics, even good dark bread for toast. The only thing lacking in my opinion is a non-sugar cereal, muesli.

Next door, is an Italian Restaurant and a French Restaurant. Both good with meals (salad or soup, main course, wine/brandy) for about USD26/person.

ROOM - A standard 3 star room. Nothing fancy. There was an electric coffee maker/water boiler and a hair dryer.

Rooms come with bath tub & shower or shower only.

I will stay here the next time I am in Hua Hin.
Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
0.8 miles from Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.1 miles from Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.1 miles from Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Free parking
Pool
1.6 miles from Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Best Western Plus Carapace Hotel Hua Hin
7.1 miles from Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.4 miles from Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.6 miles from Wannara Hotel Hua Hin
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hua Hin
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
28
93
89
39
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
28
93
89
39
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel feels bar scene within walking distance restaurants and shopping large balcony breakfast buffet small pool the room was nice each morning nightmarket bangkok
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 276 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on our Golf tour to Hua Hin. The bathroom water pressure wasn't that strong. The room is clean, bed quite comfortable. Balcony in the rooms, but the one we had, no nice view. Breakfast limited choice, fortunately they have a egg station. Some of the front office staffs weren't that friendly. Wi-fi is free in the lobby and rooms if you manage to log in, which I had difficulty doing so with my iPhone. There's a 7-11 and mini mart round the corner. Bars are a short walk away, 10mins walk to the Hilton Hotel.

Room tip: Balcony facing the main entrance of the hotel.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank c_ronal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Booked wia agoda. Price was good and hotel was very nice. The best point is location, easy to go to the market and town. Staff at the hotel was not very friendly. I booked for DBL, they dont have it. Gaved me a TWN putted together. From Kazakhstan

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
7  Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Average Hotel. No room safe but safe available behind reception. Has a lift

Food average. Wireless internet only works occasionally.

Seems like a holiday in Berlin with several german language TV channels, hoardes of germans occupying the Hotel and doing their normal "put the towel on the pool lounge" from the crack of dawn, smoking in the restaurant whilst walking around displaying their semi naked bodies. Put a shirt on boys, all that floppy flesh is a real turn off. The Hotel needs to implement a policy where if you are not present at the pool, then you cannot monopolise the lounges.

Suggest other Hotels nearby as better options.

Room tip: Look elsewhere.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We paid a bit more for the Deluxe Room, but it wasn't worth it. The hot water took a long time to come on. The key didn't work the next day. There was no kettle for boiling water even though there was coffee & tea in the room. The staff speaks little English.

Room tip: Find another hotel.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendysdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was our 4th stay at the Wannara Hotel. The staff are friendly and the selling point of the hotel for us is the central location - 5 mins from the beach, 5 mins from all bars and restaurants and 10 mins from Market Village and also the night market.
The rooms at the hotel are well appointed and spotlessly clean, the breakfast is adequate the usal thai fare plus toast fruit and egg station, coffee and juices. The pool area unfortunatley had virtually no sun during our stay which is a shame - this obviously varies by the time of year because on previous visits it has been ok. The hotel need to start investing in a few bits and pieces as the hotel is starting to look a little tired in places.
Overall good value for money and if you want to be within walking distance of everything you can't beat it on price but you will find better quality accomodation if your happy to get tuktuks or taxis when you want to go anywhere - its a personal choice.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3Seniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews