We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food”

Coco51 Restaurant & Bar, by the Sea
Ranked #24 of 641 Restaurants in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Coco51 Restaurant & BarCoco51 is a well-established and a very popular seaside restaurant in Hua Hin Thailand. We offer European, Thai cuisine & Seafood to the highest standards, paired with beautiful ocean-side views. Each night we feature live jazz and live music performed by international musicians Uri and Maraya. Coco51 is located in Hua Hin Thailand, just 5-minutes by tuk-tuk from the central tourist area. Early booking is advised on Fridays, Saturdays and long weekends.Please visit our website for more information about Coco51 .
hong kong
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The location is fine, but the menu is too extensive to provide consistent quality. I would suggest that they reduce the number of items on the menu.
The food is average, with the western food being poor judging from the comments amongst our mixed group of British and Chinese people,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank legendifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    186
    63
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warszawa,Poland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sea food at the sea shore”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Coco 51 is located almost at the beach. So sitting outside, with nice sea breeze is good start for a dinner. This place is not a formal place, but as in other places in Thailand, you don't need white tablecloth to get good dinner. We have ordered Pathong chicken, pad thai and steamed sea bass in soy sauce and vegetables. It took us only few minutes to see all plates empty :)
The reason was not so much our hunger, but first of all quality of served food. Together with nice New Zeleand Sauvignon Blanc, we completed another great culinary evening in Hua Hin

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank XXXPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good thai food, nice setting, but check your bill...”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went to Coco 51 based on a friend's recommendation who visited earlier in the year.. The Thai food we had was pretty good and the atmosphere of the restaurant was nice with pretty attentive staff. The issue we had was when we were given our bill which overcharged us.. I could give the restaurant the benefit of doubt or I could take it on face value with the wrong amount. It left a sour taste and a pity as we had a nice evening before this incident.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coco51bythesea, Owner at Coco51 Restaurant & Bar, by the Sea, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
It is regrettable that our Guest considers the bill included an overcharge. No complaint has been noted at the time/occasion of our Guest's visit. We have however checked the bill against the items ordered and prices stated in the menu - however we found no discrepancy at all.
We would encourage any Guest who considers there is overcharging to call the Manager at once.
Please see our Menu by clicking the tab on www.coco51.com
We wish our Guest well and hope he will return on a next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“FOOD WITH JAZZ MUSIC NOT FOR US”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you like us don't like Jazz Music you should choose Another Place and if you are out for Western food I would also choose to eat somewhere else. And if you still choose to eat here please check your bill Before leaving. I tried to take the receipt from the waitress but she told me can not when I insisted she came back with a new one that was 20% lower. Could that have been why she refused to give me the first one?? The owner is to my knowledge English with Thai wife. The chef in the kitchen are Thai and I would suggest that a Western cookbook in Thai was placed in the kitchen. We have been here several times and Always the same thing, dont eat the Western food. As I'm Swedish a was curious of the Swedish dish Toast Skagen which is excellent in Prime Restaurant, here it tasted nothing and not prepared with the correct ingridienses. My Rock Lobster Thermidor was the next dish without any taste. My Thai wife did choose Shrimp Cake which was good even for me! Her crab in curry was just ok she said.
Also observe that 7% tax are added to the bill.
Its a real pity that the food is not cooked the way it should be as this would be one of the absolute best places to spend a dinner in a tropical weather. Its located far down on Soi 51 by the water. Another thing that does not suite our taste is the Jazz Music they play from the balcony. It supposed to be soft Jazz sure some are but also for us very irritating Music and the sound thends to get higher to later it is. But Beautiful setting in i very nice location without doubt!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JankanHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coco51bythesea, Owner at Coco51 Restaurant & Bar, by the Sea, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We remember the occasion of our Guest’s visit with his wife on Sunday 24th November. We conducted a detailed review of this will our Manager and the waitress concerned. The Gentleman had several cordial and frank chats with our Manager, enquiring about our chefs and plans for Christmas Day regarding a booking. We employ Thai chefs with proven very high standards and experience; we recruit from established top ranked hotels.
We take pride that all our dishes are prepared using only the freshest ingredients. It is regrettable if the Toast Skagen was not to our Guest’s taste; although nothing was left on his plates.
Soft live jazz music every night is the format and well advertised as such, so our Guest had every opportunity to be forewarned of this. However, we apologise if the music was too loud and we will speak to our musicians to ensure they do not get too carried away with the loud volume..
When the bill was presented to our Guest, he paid in cash without comment, except to ask for a bill copy. The waitress was unable to give her copy as it had all the Captain's other bills attached to it. When Guests require copy bill, we normally make a separate copy for them.
Only when the waitress returned to the Cashier to get the change due, did the waitress by herself notice the bill had not been properly adjusted for one cancelled item. The Cashier then adjusted the bill accordingly and gave the correct change to our Guest. It was at this point that the waitress explained to our Guest’s Thai wife what had happened. She then will have informed her husband accordingly, probably in English.
This was therefore an accidental billing error, corrected before our Guest was aware of any issue. The waitress would have had no opportunity for personal profit from this as all items were within our checking system on computer.
Our guest left apparently satisfied, although we are sorry that he later felt his evening was not so enjoyable.
We hope to have the chance to serve our respected Guests again and certainly we will hope to do better next time.
Thank-you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great place to eat right next to the beach at night, live music too. Best to book a table if you want to be outside next to the sea.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GadgetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco51 Restaurant & Bar, by the Sea also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Coco51 Restaurant & Bar, by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing