We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big sitting buddah”

Huay Mongkol Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.64*
and up
Huay Mongkol Temple and Sirinart Rajini Ecosystem Learning Center Day Tour in...
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Big sitting buddah”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Easy to go to, good parking. Nice clean area. Lot of people the time we were there. Not much food but water is available. Bring some coins for the elephant. Take also a look inside the building.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hempan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    482
    174
    27
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mo i Rana, Nordland, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looking in Hua Hin”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

nice place to go and look, this Buddha is very big. been there 2 times, good weather both time`s.

place is free of charge, but it ia alot tings to buy for the visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Religion, spiritual, thai cultural, interesting to have a view”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Huay Mongkol is an interesting experience for a foreigner. The statue is fairly new but in a way impressive and a good example how deeply Buddhism religion is part of the Thai culture. Just experience all the people visiting the statue of this famous monk and given their respect makes you realizing that their is a lot between heaven an earth. Do not forget to have a look to all the smaller statues around the main one. Nothing special but the combination of both is special

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gjhuahin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best religious site in Hua Hin”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been to HH many times but never been here (we must have been crazy) we went on our little motorbike ... took about 40 mins severe bum ache ... but well worth it ... beautiful setting with gardens and ponds ....All very serene and clean ... as some places look great from outside but are rather ...ahem ... chaotic inside ....we were careful not to be intrusive as there were many people going about their devotions ... it is a lovely spiritual place ...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Filmfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinland Pfalz
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Must Have Seen”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were lucky to pay a visit incidently on a high buddhist holiday. The entire temple's area was completely crowded with thousands of families over all generations. There were only a very few Farangs to be seen and first we felt a bit displaced and uneasy.
But this feeling changed after a while, when we received smiling looks from quite a lot of people and could also exchange the one or other word with them. We then felt much more relaxed and could even enjoy the whole unique atmosphere.
Yes, the Wat consists of the monumental central statue of a holy monk and quite a lot of smaller Buddha shrines around it.
Also the surroundings are well landscaped and maintained, if not manicured.
We also had a couple of steps off the site downhill to some pavillions overlooking a bigger lake. This gave also a great look to another tall golden Buddha.
On advise of our driver we had chosen an early morning tour, which turned out to be very wise, because it was burning hot when we left by 12 noon (some 40'C and no wind at all). Also, the majority of visitors was just about to come, as we saw just one big traffic jam on our way back to Hua Hin.
This is definetely one place you have to be been to when in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Die_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huay Mongkol Temple also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Been to Huay Mongkol Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing