We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem amongst many less special places!”
Review of Bam Bam - CLOSED

Bam Bam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a little gem amongst many less special places!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was introduced to Bam Bam by an English couple who 'adopted' me during my 3 month solo stay n Hua Hin a few years back, they had repeated their vows in this restaurant in full Thai dress, and the family owners and they were very close. I would have kept walking past if not for them, however I am glad they took me under their wing in this instance. The menu is much the same as most eating places in that street, but the quality and freshness of these dishes is far superior than most. I do remember the whole fish was amazing, as was the Larb. My husband and I are returning to Hua Hin later this year, and will definately plan to eat at Bam Bam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mandybarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    70
    28
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Another good option”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

If one of the other restaurants on this street are closed, Bam Bam is a good substitute. Good food, good prices. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tsferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Try this out”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Another popular Thai restaurant on the short strip of Poon Suk Road. The food may take a while to be served during busy hour, although the wait is well worth it. Tried the Pad Thai and Tom Yum Kung and they were all good. On the day I visited the restaurant, I did note a high percentage of returning customer which is a good sign. It's well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean_Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a wait”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We visited here recently and had to wait until a table for 4 became free. This wasn't an issue for us and it was well worth the wait. We shared 4 main dishes and everyone of the dishes sampled here were excellent. Value for money in this place was brilliant.

I would highly recommend a visit here if your in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHROPSHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“As wonderful as ever”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We Returned to Hua Hin for the ninth time in 11years in January, our last visit had been just over 3 years earlier. As you can imagine over the years we have seen many changes and made many friends. The biggest difference being is the amount of tourists who visit Hua Hin and eat out in the cafés as years ago few tourists were seen around the streets at night and fewer still ventured to eat from the street stalls. We have watched Bam Bams grow from a street stall selling one or two dishes to a cafe with menus tablecloths a proper kitchen and sanitation but although the menu has become extensive the quality of food and the expertise of the Wonderful lady Chef proprietor has never faltered. So Our first stop on our first night just had to be Bam Bams for the fabulous Pad Thai with shrimps (a mainstay Thai dish) and a plate of Garlic and pepper prawns. We were not disappointed, it was fantastic.
When we arrived we were overwhelmed with the greeting we received and amazed to find the place absolutely full but with a bit of manoeuvring a table and two chairs appeared and we were soon settled at a pavement facing table our favourite spot for watching the hustle and bustle of the world go by. Many restaurants over the years have become more westernised loosing the authentic taste of Thailand but Bam Bams holds onto it's wonderful authentic tastey food and wonderful Thai hospitality. Amazing!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BENTHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bam Bam also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing