We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab restaurant, great food and lovely staff.”
Review of Bam Bam - CLOSED

Bam Bam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Bam Bam is such a relaxed and friendly place, it starts to feel like "home" once you've eaten here. The fish is so fresh it just melts in the mouth. The Thai Curries are also a real speciality here....don't miss..! And finally the hosts here are ABSOLUTELY lovely...! They are the nicest family you could come across and just make you feel so relaxed and at home. Overall I would rate this restaurant 10/10.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sherlock_Holmes_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Bam Bam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 223 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

It was a steamy Tuesday night in Hua Hin and at approximately 6.30 pm there were not many people wandering around Poolsuk road ( a popular restaurant and bar strip in the town) except there were people lined up and spilling into the street waiting for a table at Moonsmile and Platoo.

Moonsmile has developed a cult following courtesy of the internet, mainly Tripadvisor and bloggers. We decided we didn't want to wait for a table and choose Bam Bams which is pretty much next door to Moonsmile.

There were a few of us tonight. Menus were brought out quickly as there were only a handful of people inside and we had a streetside table, right on the footpath. I think they put us there to get more customers into the place. This is a good spot if you like to talk to the never ending parade of street sellers who have supplies of bangles, wooden frogs and other pieces of junk you wondered why you ever contemplated buying when you got home. We smiled, were polite but did not buy anything tonight, but it was early days for us in Hua Hin and gee they can be persistent especially when they recognise you the following night and the night after that.

The waitress was hovering and had a big smile on her face and she was keen to take our orders

We tried a stir fried pork with asparagus and mushrooms. It was on the table in a flash. It was a good sized serve but too westernised and bland. It had some nice slices of pork and a good handful of asparagus and some tinned mushrooms. Unfortunately too many tourists have asked for less spicy food and the quality of the thai cooking in some places has diminished because of this in my view. Perhaps not all will agree. Anyway a 6/10 for this one.

Next up was a chicken and cashews. Plenty of chicken pieces and a few cashews with some carrots and greens to colour the dish. However, too sweet. Seemed to much palm sugar had been added - had a honey like taste. Not a good dish . 5.5/10

Next out was a steamed rice which we were hoping for earlier with the previous dishes. Nothing wrong here. You can't mess up steamed rice.

The stir fried asparagus, mushrooms and shrimp was 150 baht and a good sized serve. Once again too bland for me but quite edible. 6.5/10

Penang curry was served in a good sized bowl. Now this was spicy and a beaut little dish A great coconutty flavour, with chilli and lime and other spices. A great curry. 8.5/10 and the highlight of the night. Usually the little eateries around here do strir fries better than curries but tonight this was an exception. Bingo.!

We tried a shrimp with cashews. Once again not spicy at all but a good size serve. 6/10 for this one.

We had finished. A complimentary plate of pineapple pieces arrived and we were aslo given a Thai coconut desert. Not to my liking but different and we ate it.

Beer... around 100 baht for a large bottle , soda water 30 baht . Wine by the glass available, not too exxy.

Overall view? A place to eat if you don't like spicy food. However, a good night with fresh food, but not really real Thai food. Too westernised for me. I can get this food back home so I was a tad disappointed tonight. I will come here again but will be asking for it to be a bit spicy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rovingrabbit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This small family restaurant is wonderful for a simple lunch, drink some wine and beer. The beef noodle soup was very good and tasty. My wife ordered the seafood noodle soup which was also good but we both agree that the beef noodle soup was better. My friends ordered pork jerky, beef salad, minced beef salad, chicken in pot and fish cake and we all agreed that the pork jerky was the best. In fact it was so good, we ordered a few more orders of pork jerky! The chicken in pot was also very good, spicy and goes very well with white rice.

Recommendation: Beef noodle soup, pork jerky, chicken in pot and fish cake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kesilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were there 2 months ago during our Hua Hin journey. It's located in downtown which was very easy to find. The set up was cute and very down to earth, pretty good for people watching, waitress spoke limited English and a bit cold as well, Menu was quite clear, we ordered curry crab which got a very high ranking on TA but we found it just fine and a little too salty, morning glory was pretty good, raw shrimp was fresh but the sauce was too salty which covered the freshness of the shrimp and the steam rice was a bit over cook or too much water during cooking. It was overall ok but nothing exceptional. Luckily it wasn't pricey so we weren't feel trap after all.

Thank Bula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Despite located in the tourist heart of Hua Hin this was surpassingly good experience. We went there twice for a dinner. We’ve tried local dishes – all of them very authentic ant tasty. The whole family that is running the restaurant was friendly and helpful. Greetings to Mrs.Wow!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maya_prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bam Bam also viewed

Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing