We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asara Villa & Suite
Ranked #19 of 136 Hotels in Hua Hin
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unprofessional”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Have stayed in many hotels in Hua hin, big chain owned and also locally owned. This is one of the worse one so far.
They are very good at charging your credit card before hand for everything.
We had paid for extra bed. It did not arrive until midnight after being requested for it all night starting at 6pm. And that too, the staff that came to make the bed was a guard ! All the housekeeping staff had left for home already.
The check in staff is clueless to any requests (and i spoke in thai - so no language barrier) !
Rooms were clean, we stayed at the back in the holiday suites. Full of mosquitoes, probably 20 of them in the room.
Buffet breakfast was disappointing.
All in all i think the property is beautiful but the staff are just unprofessional.....service was terrible too.

Room Tip: If you can afford the villa, stay in it. The holiday suites are far at the back. No views and very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PremThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    162
    54
    16
    19
See reviews for
140
232
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have stayed in Asara villa and suite in September 2013. I really struggle with this review because when it comes to thai hospitality there is nothing bad to say. In fact the only good thing about Asara resort is the friendy and proffesional staff. What lets this place really down is the high expectations you get from looking at their website and what really appears when you arrive and start to look around. We booked into a villa with a pool which in high season can cost up to £200 and I don't understand the lay out of this hotel. It feels extremely inclosed. The villa itself felt like a posh prison cell. All lovely inside but surrounded by dirty concrete, tired walls and sort of a garden. Strange. The biggest disappointment was the seafront and the beach. The photo on the website gives you the impression that sunbeds are right on the beach but actualy they are situated on the raised concrete block which is covered by the sand. When the tide is high there is no beach. If you take few steps down you reach a sort of a beach. I don't understand why a 5 star resort doesn't care about the quality of the nearest surroundings. There was a lot of rubbish out there. I actualy wanted to leave the minute I arrived. The final thing to do is use a pool but by then I was already too disappointed and the fact how tired this place felt to me started to overpower the whole experience. Not even the jacuzzi worked. When it comes to accomodation Thailand is famous for an amazing value for money but with Azara I feel like I should warn you there are better places to stay in this area for less money. Hua Hin is not really a place of natural beauty so I feel it's important to stay somewhere nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dashjew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have just spent 8 nights at Asara and loved every minute of it.
We stayed in a pool villa (myself, my husband and four year old twins). The property and accommodation is beautiful and clean, the staff amazing and the food was great.
Our day started with a very leisurely buffet breakfast overlooking the pool and beach. Kids especially loved the chocolate crepes - khob kun ka! We then spent a few hours playing in the pool, reading a book and having a great time. We went exploring in Hua Hin and surrounding areas - including riding an elephant and going to monkey mountain. We would usually enjoy happy hour before having dinner at Asara or at the night market in Hua Hin.
We didn't want to leave. I cannot recommend this place more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I so much want to love this place. My wife visited this resort with her family when it was first opened and was very impressed. We decided last minute to take a long weekend break at Asara. We booked a bit late so we ended up with one night in the Suite and one night in the Pool Villa.

First impression, the receptions and staffs are very nice and accommodating. The garden is very nicely kept, very beautiful surroundings. The downside is there is a big and tall condo right next door which is half complete, so construction is still going on for several buildings.

When we got to our Suite room (which is right next to the lobby and parking lot) was not so impressive. My wife and I agree, it did not aged well. I can see once it was proudly a 5 stars. Room is clean but not spotless as you would expect from this price range. Amenity was not refilled. Pillows are not comfy. Outdoor lounge area is dirty, we did not feel it could be used to lay around. Hot water in our room lasts about 10 minutes of shower time. We tried the bath tub (which looks nice), the seal is bad so we can't fill the tub more than 1/4 full as it was draining quickly. By the time it filled 1/4 the water becomes cold already. After dinner we came back late but again, there was no hot water. The staff came to look couple of times but never get it fixed.

Next day we moved to the pool villa. When we got to the room, there is a make-shift pump/filter going next to the pool to clean the water. Staff say another hour or so before we can use the pool. This room we feel is more comfy, all amenity are there, but again, the issue with hot water. Same deal with the bath tub. We decided to spend our time in this pool villa. Its fully gated, walled so we feel private enough not to dressed up much. This is a wrong assumption because the staff will open the gate and come in unannounced at anytime they wish. After our dip in the pool we headed to shower and came out to see the maid in right in the front door! If they came in 10 minutes before...! No knocking, no door bell, just open the gate and come right (see the photos of the layout and you will see what I mean). So for the rest of the time, we did not feel private as it should be in a 'Private Pool Villa'. We had to stay fully dressed like we are going out all the time.
Both room has outdoor shower area but that can no longer can be used because of the tall condo righext to the property. While we were in the pool of our villa, we saw people standing in the balcony lookint ng down at us.

Breakfast, we give 6 out of 10 at best. Second day we didn't even bother to go eat.

I so much want to love this place, but I can't for many reasons I mentioned here and more that I didn't. All the staffs are very nice and helpful except for all their unannounced entrance into our villa. Its one of the top 10 pricey resort in Hua Hin but its no where near with the quality other places offer.

Room Tip: Get the room on another side of the property not next to the condo or next to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BangkokNegotiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went to Hua Hin with little knowledge and expectation about the place, but it was easy to access and only 2.5 hours drive from Bangkok Airport. The resort is only a few miles north of Hua Hin and runs shuttle bus services to town every evening. We chosen the resort purely on the photos available on the website and it lived up to its presentation. The resort was not too large and it was set back from the main road, therefore offering a quiet environment and not as crowded as the large resorts. There were a variety of swimming pools to cater for adults and children and a private tree lined sandy beach, but majority of the time it felt like we had the pool to ourselves! We stayed in the suites and were very spacious and beautifully decorated. The restaurants offered a choice of cuisine, but somewhat limited for dinners. However, the breakfast buffet was very impressive with a large selection of quality food and were deliciously made. We were still looking forward to breakfast even on the third morning! The hotel also offered a complimentary afternoon tea set, which was refreshing. The spa offered good value treatments for guests in a pleasant setting. Overall, a very relaxing and luxurious place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emychung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I read the reviews on the hotel before we booked and almost went somewhere else - I am so pleased that we chose to stay here. The property is beautiful and the whole staffing team at the Asara went out of their way to ensure our family had a fabulous holiday.

We were there for six days and would very gladly go back again for another holiday. Facilities were excellent, food was extremely good and location for us, spot on. it is about a 5 minute drive into the main town, which suited us well as we wanted to be a little away from all of the other high rise hotels that clutter the beach around Hua Hin.

We had a pool villa, and I would recommend that - we were close to the restaurant and beach so it was a good spot - I would recommend you ask to be on that side of the resort (it is a sprawling resort). the whole team at the hotel keep the property up to a high standard.

No, we were not troubled by bugs or aeroplanes as mentioned in some of the other reviews, I saw though in the restaurant that someone asked for bug spray one morning and this was provided immediately.

only slight downside, we had a couple of massages at the hotel - the massage was good, but by Thai standards very expensive - you are probably better to book in town.

Thanks to all the team at the hotel for making our holiday so special

Room Tip: as above, pool villa all the way! and ask to be close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priest Hutton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed four nights in November 2012, after visiting Vietnam an Bangkok, we chose this hotel as we were looking for a relaxing place after out trip that would provide luxury and a place to remember, The Asara Villas did just that and more, all aspects were great, the villa, pool ,dining rooms, food, garden and lastly the staff were amazing. My husband wasn't well at the end of the holiday, but nothing was too much trouble, I was driven to the Pharmacy with a staff member to help, we can only say a big thank you and will not forget the Asara.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynPriestHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hua Hin hotels
3.0 mi away
Putahracsa Hua Hin
Putahracsa Hua Hin
#2 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,260 reviews
5.0 mi away
InterContinental Hua Hin Resort
7.6 mi away
Anantasila Villa by the Sea, Hua Hin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
Rest Detail Hotel Hua Hin
#13 of 136 in Hua Hin
446 reviews
6.2 mi away
Amari Hua Hin
Amari Hua Hin
#11 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,192 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
Hyatt Regency Hua Hin
#5 of 136 in Hua Hin
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Villa & Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Villa & Suite

Property: Asara Villa & Suite
Address: 53 Hua Hin Soi 5, Hua Hin 77110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Hua Hin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Hua Hin
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hua Hin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hua Hin
#16 Spa Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 Family Hotel in Hua Hin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hua Hin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Villa & Suite 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara Villa & Suite is the first of its kind to feature beach-front only Pool Villas and Suite rooms. Only 7 minutes from Hua Hin downtown, this exclusive private beach is an ideal location that combines convenience and privacy with 52 Pool Villas and 44 Suites, reflecting timelessness of the nature beauty, intimacy and comfort. Awards The Global Winner: Luxury Suite Hotel" by the World Luxury Hotel Awards™ in recognition of unsurpassed facilities and services at the World Luxury Hotel Awards 2010. Asara Villa & Suite is proud to have received the highest honor of being listed among the "Gold Class Green Hotels of 2009". "Gold Nugget Award Winning for 2008, honor in Best Architectural Design and Land Use Planning for International Project." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Asara Villa & Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Villa And Suite
Asara Villa Hotel Hua Hin
Asara Hotel Hua Hin
Asara Hotel Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing