We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go this plase”
Review of Cathay Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cathay Guest House
Ranked #29 of 74 Hat Yai B&B and Inns
Mokpo, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont go this plase”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Look my fotos. Everything is molded and rothen. not good. Day time staf is frienly and ok. Put night portier dont speak english. well he dont speak anything. Ih you want some thing he only say...Tomorrow ..lady... well...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    20
    33
    12
    15
See reviews for
1
20
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Imagine 'The Beach', the backpacking movie starring Leonardo de Caprio. Imagine the room he was staying at when he was in Bangkok. That summarized this place. That was the first impression that I had when I looked into the rooms.

Overall, it was a very cheap deal. THB 240 for a double fan room, come on, where else can you get such deal?

But it comes with a catch. A squatting toilet in a bathroom which is way too basic. And my room was facing the main road, so expect some noise coming from the vehicles on the road.

Nevertheless, I had a good night sleep whilst on transit to KL and the common area was nice, good spot to meet new people. Good laundry service too. But you have to pay for the Internet. THB 100 for 24 hours.

Am I gonna stay here again? Most probably, if I am under budget and need a quick rest.

Room Tip: Choose a room which is not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kairulizwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lots of dodgy people hanging around the reception. Very very grubby and run down throughout. The guy at the desk had minimal English and was barely any help. However he was not unfriendly. And the place was not outwardly dirty nor did it have insects that we could see. It felt like you were in a dilapidated prison. We stayed from10pm to 5am which was long enough. Oh and there was a pair of jocks hanging on our bathroom door.

Room Tip: All rooms have an insane asylum feel so good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curlysueDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hat Yai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recommended by a nearby tour company, we were happy to settle for a cheap room here during our transit. Upon arrival, the friendly staff repeatedly warned us that the rooms did not have air conditioning. This was the least of our worries. We hiked up the two floors of stairs and checked in. We were required to show our visas, passports etc. so have these at the ready. We nervously shuffled down the corridor and the stench of urine saturated our nostrils. We managed to locate our triple room in the maze of doors and corridors. The door was a flimsy excuse of a barrier, locked by a simple padlock. The room could only be described as a medium to large prison cell with basic amenities. The beds looked like beds but seemed to be reinforced with wood. Approximately 10-20 years of dust lay beneath them. The bedsheets were quite clean, well, white at least. There were a few dead insects and human hair found on them though. This may have been because the windows seem to be permanently open. The duvet was a large towel. I did not permit my bare feet to touch the floor, nor my face to touch the pillow. The pillow was also "rubber" and had fractured into many, many pieces. The fan did nothing more than turn around slowly and there was one, basic light. The bathroom consisted of a squat toilet, a partially blocked sink and a shower. However the shower was simply a cold tap on the wall, aimed at a bucket.


The location of the guest house was rather nice, and the price was almost unbeatable! We stayed in a triple room for ฿290. A single was ฿200 and a dorm was ฿140.

One of the most memorable moments of the stay was probably waking up at 1am to catch the cockroach that had been scurrying around the room all day.

Room Tip: Try and get a decent lock on the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiangmai
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here recently for 1 night & also 2 yrs ago for 1 night in transit. I found the guesthouse to be fantasic value for money & just what I aws looking for a bed with clean sheet & very helpful staff.

I booked over the phone & payed 240 Thai Baht for a double room. In all honesty the rooms could be improved with a lick of paint etc but I think for the price its very good.

In the morning we had breakfast again cheap & cheerful. Small Coffee was just 12b & a ham/cheese & Egg sandwich was just 39b.

The staff had also kindly explained where to get good street food & booked us a taxi to the airport for 300b ( very fair local price ) - when the taxi arrived it was a Honda CRV with great A/C & leather seats fantastic.

So Thank Yoy Cathey Guesthouse for making my brief staff in Hat Yai a cheap & pleasant one !!

Room Tip: If the window shutters are open - then shut them as it helps for a quitter nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkymonkeyChiangmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I can't say this the good GH, but it is cheap and satisfied for me.
they provide transport such like taxi & van(of course need to pay) and also able to rent motorcycle, I believe is hard to get motorcycle rental in around HatYai. they have a small restaurant and such like mini market selling some local snack & drink.
by walk, it is close to town, train station, hypermarket, 7-11 etc....
reception staff was very friendly and helpful.
overall, it is very cheap hostel, if you are poor traveler and don't that is old building look. should be no issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfredDeviruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is real dirty dump! BUT it is cheap and in great location. Don't expect anything but a cesspool and you will not be disappointed. I would gladly pay 350 bt for a new paint job, clean toilet, a drain that drained, and a pillow with soft stuffing not hard mouldy material inside. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hat Yai
0.0 mi away
Laem Thong Hotel
Laem Thong Hotel
#48 of 90 in Hat Yai
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
V.L. Hatyai Hotel
V.L. Hatyai Hotel
#1 of 27 in Songkhla
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Hotel
Aloha Hotel
#6 of 90 in Hat Yai
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Asian Hotel Hatyai
Asian Hotel Hatyai
#22 of 90 in Hat Yai
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
BP Grand Tower Hotel
BP Grand Tower Hotel
#44 of 90 in Hat Yai
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hat Yai Youth Hostel
Hat Yai Youth Hostel
#1 of 69 in Hat Yai
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathay Guest House

Property: Cathay Guest House
Address: 93/1 Niphat Uthit 2 Rd., Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cathay Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathay Guesthouse The Backpacker Community in Hatyai Rooms with Fan Shower and Toilet Travel Information Services Taxi & Bus Ticket Food & Drinks Laundry Services Free WiFi Near : Train Station , Robinson Department store , Odean Department store , Central Department store , Lee Gardens Plaza , Santisook Market , Yongdee Market , Gimyong Market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cathay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathay Guest House Hotel Hat Yai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing