We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel with a nice lobby”
Review of Hansa JB Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hansa JB Hotel
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Hat Yai
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tired hotel with a nice lobby”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

A very tired hotel that seemed to had seen its glory days maybe 10-20 years ago.
The lobby area give an impression of a 4 star hotel but the room aren't on par with even a 3 star hotel.

The room especially the toilet feels a little bit eerie due to the lack of lightning.
The hotel still uses KEY instead of card.

At least we are happy with the buffet breakfast included in the room rate and frankly,
the room condition (peeling wallpaper, mold on ceiling, stained and old carpet, dirty curtain) although is very old, it is still barely acceptable,
but definitely not a 4 stars, perhaps a 2 stars.

Room Tip: Choose the main wing NOT the executive wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noah_Sjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
24
16
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Let’s face it the JB HANSA is not a new hotel but it has got major advantages other hotels don’t have! In the past 2 years we have stayed at the JB Hansa hotel and each time some changes had been made, ok minute but nevertheless changes we saw. The reason we keep coming back is because the hotel is outside the centre of Hat Yai with extremely easy access to all major roads to the various attractions. We also value the very friendly and hospitable staff. Another major point ion choosing the JB HANSA is the fact that their menu is very extensive, their Chef excellent and food prepared has got a good consistency and is affordable in shrill contrast with other hotels!!! Each time we stay for a number of nights we have an aroma massage, that too can be recommended, not expensive and they don’t pull your various limbs to the extent that you end up in permanent traction! Beds, are firm but not uncomfortable, pillows are comfy. TV channels are plenty and the rooms have free Wifi, something which is, in this day and age has to be paid for in many well-known hotel chains! Rooms are spacious and absolutely quiet, no door slamming, no rowdy parties and smoke free rooms are actually smoke free!!! There is a refrigerator with drinks, 2 bottles of complementary water and the usual toiletries in bath room. There is more than enough space to hang your clothing and a hair dryer is available at lobby desk. Hotel has secure parking for hotel guests.
On the down side:
bathrooms could use a solid cleaning.
It might be an idea to get someone to look at the water heater situation. Hot water seems to be a “hot” commodity resulting in – when hotel is fully occupied with busloads of foreign tourists – in luke warm water
Late last year the pool was closed. Inquiries revealed that the swimming pool was being “refurbished”. During our very recent stay we inquired again and were sort of led to believe that the lobby staff “did not know” however persistent asking by us revealed that the pool was now covered up – yes we saw that (!) and that a convention centre was being build. So the bad news is no swimming and you can forget going for that recreation to other hotels ‘cos they won’t let you use their pool!
Would we recommend this hotel: yes simply because it is safe = outside the car bombing area + comfortable + price/value good and yes, when we need some R & R we’ll book again the JB HANSA.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overseaswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stay for 1 night for business meeting.

Hansa JB is one of the most famous hotels in Hat Yai, but now the time has changed as there are plenty of new comers around town. The room is old, and not worth 1,050 Baht without breakfast. The cleanliness is acceptable, but the bed is not very comfortable. Never tried breakfast, but buffet dinner and Chinese lunch is not too bad. The good thing is they charge only 100 Baht for airport pick up, so call them ahead if you have no one pick up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hat Yai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trang, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I booked this hotel for two nights and was reasonably happy. I thought the hotel had a pool but was told it was shut, i looked on agoda when i got home and it looks like it will open again next year. The staff at the door always seemed welcoming and the reception staff not too bad, the young lady at breakfast on our last day looked like she wanted to be somewhere else.
Breakfast was a buffet breakfast and was ok. Rooms were ok and for the price paid i have no regrets and would return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 402shadrack402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

An Old Hotel which i am not recommended to stay as story per below stated.

1) I booked 2 rooms through Agoda.com and during check in i received 2 sets of Key, but 1 room got 2 keys ( 1 for Open the door & another for Switch On the electric power) and another room only got 1 key. When asked the reception they will tell you if your family sleep in the room but you need to enter the room you need to go to ask reception to open for you. God, WHY???

2) The hotel did not mention in any travel agency or sharing information that there is no pool (Under renovation) service for 6 months, WHY??? My kid are looking for a swimming pool hotel and that is the reason i choose this hotel, but during check in the hotel told me no swimming pool for the moment.

3) The room is smiley and furniture, beds, bath tab are all in old condition.

4) You can hear clearly what your neighbor room doing and listen to their conversation too.

5) Location, you need to take Tu-Tu car to central of Hatyai and unable to find anything nearby the hotel.

6) When check out, i request for a receipt of invoice and the cashier unable to provide due to the hotel policy. WHY??

7) Air corn is Hot corn and i feel lazy to claim to the management.

8) The only thing is the car park in safe as i can found each floor got security officer petrol.

Really feel frustrated to stay here with my family members.

Room Tip: If you look for cheap and low standard requirement, maybe this hotel can fulfill your requirement bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vektor_Hugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is the best hotel in Hatyai. Room is really nice. Many choices for breakfast, delicious food. Swimming pool is clean. Easy to catch taxi of tuck tuck to other place. Staff is friendly. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Every staff at this hotel is polite and have a nice smile on their faces when they saw us .....from the counter receptionist,bellboy,cleaner which makes our stay there quite pleasant and the complimentary breakfast is quite tasty as well .....i will definitely be staying at this hotel again when im back here visiting again next year

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dicky003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
1.1 mi away
Hatyai Paradise Hotel & Resort
1.1 mi away
Siam Oriental Hotel
Siam Oriental Hotel
#30 of 92 in Hat Yai
2 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buri Sriphu Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
U Hatyai Hotel
U Hatyai Hotel
#4 of 92 in Hat Yai
55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Planet Hat Yai
Red Planet Hat Yai
#2 of 92 in Hat Yai
652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
#1 of 92 in Hat Yai
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansa JB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansa JB Hotel

Property: Hansa JB Hotel
Address: 99 Jootee-Anusorn Road, Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hansa JB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hat Yai's Most Distinguished Landmark, the HANSA JB Hotel offers guests unrivalled service and standards. Hat Yai is the gateway to the South and the commercial capital of Southern Thailand. Our 430 rooms and suites are tastefully decorated with local design and fabrics which blend in with the hotel's architectural design. Our exclusive Club J.B. floors offer the very best standards available for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hansa JB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing