We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel with some good points but pricey for the standard”
Review of Hansa JB Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hansa JB Hotel
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Hat Yai
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel with some good points but pricey for the standard”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is reasonably well placed (about 5 minutes from Odean and Lee Garden Plaza by tut-tut) in the wet-market area of town and the overall impression is that it’s somewhat grander than some of hotels which are closer to the town centre. The entrance and lobby area are spacious and nicely decorated and the staff very pleasant. Walk-in rates are OK, not much different from the internet, but it’s worth checking the net as at times this hotel has promotional rates at 599 baht per night which is considerably better than the usual 1,400. the hotel is easy to get to and as has ample parking in its own secure mutli-storey car park (free to guests and diners).

The rooms are quite nice, spacious and quiet and nicely decorated and furnished but they don’t really match the quality and impression that the lobby creates. They are getting somewhat dated and could do with a refurb before long IMHO, particularly the bathrooms which are a real let down, somewhat small, albeit functional, but really in need of renovation IMHO. The sink in mine was faulty and the taps loose and not well functioning. The bath and shower did not look very pleasant with exposed sealant all over the place. I’d advise checking the room you will be given before accepting as it seems some rooms are worse than others. One problem for me was that while the hotel has good free wifi, only one device can be logged in at any one time in a room. Not good if you have more than one smart-phone and / or laptop / tablet.

The hotel has a couple of restaurants and the rates include free breakfast for two served between 6:30 am and 10:00am. There is also a very nice, chic open-air bar area called ‘Shanko Hive’ which opened Jan 2013, which is really pleasant and has a very sophisticated feel to it. I think it must be one of the best chill-out lounges in Hat Yai. Drinks are a bit pricey but there is a lovely feel and atmosphere to the place with nice lighting and plush white leather chairs in the large covered area. It has a live band (so-so to be honest), good waitress service and serves some nice food. The hotel also hosts one of the two most popular discos in Hat Yai - ‘Nectar’ (the other being Sugar Beat), which gets busy even early and mid-week. The ability to just go up to your room from these places is well worth considering, especially if you can get the hotel at a good rate. It’s also close to what I think is the best BBQ in Hat Yai which is near the Big C.

Overall it was OK, I give it four stars because it is better than many of the very average hotels in Hat Yai. BUT, at the regular rates that this hotel charges I would also consider other similarly priced options such as the New Season hotel (same price roughly, newer and centrally located) and Sakura Grand View (rooms almost as nice and can often be had at walk-in price of 1,100 baht). An OK hotel but in need of some refurb to warrant the room rates IMO and unless being very close the bar / club or in that part of town is a priority I’d likely look for better places at the same price or places that are almost as good but cheaper. Getting it at a promo rate would make it a worthy hotel to consider.

Positives
+ Spacious, nicely decorated rooms albeit a bit dated
+ Comfortable beds with spare pillows in wardrobe
+ Has smoking and non-smoking rooms
+ Nice looking hotel with very grand lobby area
+ Onsite restaurants, bar and night-club
+ Easy to get to
+ Reasonably well located but not central
+ Free wifi (but only one device can be logged in at one time)
+ Ample secure onsite free parking
+ 2 free bottles water daily
+ Free breakfast
+ Enough lifts so there are no long waits
+ Friendly staff who speak good English
+ Some rooms have nice views over the hills around Hat Yai

Negatives
- Bathrooms a real let down and badly in need of refurb
- Rooms somewhat dated with some better than others
- No room safe
- No tea / coffee facilities in rooms
- Air con OK but a bit noisy
- Old style CRT TVs in rooms with so-so picture quality in some cases

Room Tip: Make sure to check the room you will be offered and check the bathroom / taps and shower. try to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ninja_Sanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
24
16
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was one of my worst experience ever. We booked 2 rooms - 1 Superior and 1 Club JB. Upon checking in, experienced the rudeness of the staff, dirty room with a foul smell. Requested House keeping to clean the room and a guy arrives after 1 hour. Cleaning takes place and the room still has the foul smell. Order room service and all the food and a sour and foul smell and not value for money. Internet super slow and breakfast doesn't have a basic dish like omelette. Whatever is available is not edible. To me, I would recommend fellow travelers NEVER to book this hotel.

Room Tip: Just Don't stay in this hotel ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hat Yai hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice . It has enough rooms for very grand events like 3 Nation Charity Ride for hundreds of participants . Grand banquet hall with delicious table dinner. Excellent covered carpark above ground . Warm and helpful staff. Breakfast spread is good . Location is not central but a TUK Tuk can bring us to the town centre. Comfortable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feledoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I were on our way to Krabi for the 3 Nation Charity Motorbike event and this hotel was one picked as a stopover hotel as it had massive car park space for over 1000 motorcycles that used the town of Hatyai, Thailand as a springboard to Krabi.
If you must stay at this hotel insist on getting the Main Tower...the rooms here are decent enough. The rooms at the Executive Tower isn't even fit to be branded any star status. Average-ly clean. The washroom is filthy. The taps don't work. The leak from the above washroom is evident. We thought it was only our room but when we checked with other motorcycle enthusiasts they complained about their rooms too. We decided to get out and asked for another room and was put into the Main Tower, which was not part of the package, so we paid the extra and got a pretty decent room.
Checking in was pleasant enough...the staff were pretty good. Breakfast spread was adequate. This establishment is in dire need of a major makeover. I would skip this hotel without hesitation!

Room Tip: If you must stay here....ask for rooms in the Main Tower. Avoid the Executive Tower at all costs...u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is an expensive hotel. The entrance and public areas give the impression of grandeur. But when you get to your room, it looks more like an old motel!
In the large basket in the bathroom (which may have at one point offered several complimentary soaps, shower gels and conditioners) sat just one tube of shampoo and shower gel.
The toilet reminded me of home in that I had to pump it at least twice in quick succession to get it to flush. After a few uses it started to leak. Just as well the bathroom had a drain.
I didn't use the bath/shower, but it looked as though it had seen better days.
Between the bed and the TV, some bright spark had attempted to iron their shirt on the floor, as there was a very clear iron burn in the now rather faded and dirty carpet.
There were no facilities for making tea or coffee.
The bed was comfy though! Not too hard.
An overpriced option for Hadyai (which is why we didn't have breakfast there), but not my choice at the time.
Would recommend if you're going there for a function or a private party - but not to stay if you're looking for luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveladdict42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were there for a wedding, otherwise we would have never gone to Hat Yai. Anyhow, if you are going to Hat Yai, you already know it's not a tourist city. With that said, the hotel is old and run down. The rooms are decent size but everything in it look as if it's from the 80's. The bathroom is moldy and smelly. There are stains on the bedsheets which makes you wondering if they are new sheets or the same as the last guest. The walls are really then, we were on the 10th floor and could still here the bass from the hotel club.

highlight- Hotel club, live band was pretty good

Food:
buffet lunch-not bad but not great
buffet breakfast- YUCK! only thing I enjoyed was toast.
room service- pad thai-decent
pad si ew-tasty

staff- nice but not much interaction to judge

side note- fellow wedding party guests complained of being ignored when requesting for toilet paper and other things.

overall- not the best but with the limited options, it's bearable for a night or two if you have no other options

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninenine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

There are two buildings of the hotel. I stayed in the old one (main wing) which I think the new one (executive wing) supposes to be much more better. The superior room that I have stayed in Aug 2012 is very old and smelly with poor condition of sanitary ware.

Anyway, the service mind of all staffs there is brilliant!! And for those who are Muslim, the breakfast there is halal and yummy!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Aeksaran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
1.1 mi away
Hatyai Paradise Hotel & Resort
1.1 mi away
Siam Oriental Hotel
Siam Oriental Hotel
#30 of 92 in Hat Yai
2 reviews
0.6 mi away
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
#1 of 92 in Hat Yai
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buri Sriphu Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Red Planet Hat Yai
Red Planet Hat Yai
#2 of 92 in Hat Yai
652 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Hatyai Hotel
U Hatyai Hotel
#4 of 92 in Hat Yai
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansa JB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansa JB Hotel

Property: Hansa JB Hotel
Address: 99 Jootee-Anusorn Road, Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 92 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hansa JB Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hat Yai's Most Distinguished Landmark, the HANSA JB Hotel offers guests unrivalled service and standards. Hat Yai is the gateway to the South and the commercial capital of Southern Thailand. Our 430 rooms and suites are tastefully decorated with local design and fabrics which blend in with the hotel's architectural design. Our exclusive Club J.B. floors offer the very best standards available for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hansa JB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing