We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fresh, always tasty......”
Review of The Fish Kitchen

The Fish Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 274 Restaurants in Hat Yai
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Please check our facebook site for events and holidays!! We offer authentic Thai and Isan cuisine at very reasonable prices. All dishes are prepared fresh, or as you may say " a la minute". We specialize in the preparation of snapper and sea bass. Our restaurant is a little bit away from the noisy down town of Hat Yai. You can order by phone as well, and pick up your food a little later. We are very happy, that our customers keep on coming back. They must have a reason to do so. If you come to buy your food "to go" bring - if you can - your own tupper ware just to avoid more waste.
Reviewed February 1, 2016

Since this restaurant was recommended to me, I went - I do not know how many times meanwhile - , and never was disappointed. Whatever I ordered, from freshly prepared fish to these genius yellow noddles with chicken, the food was perfect, super delicious and quite inexpensive, if you compare it to the regular down town places. The restaurant is easy to find with google maps, and I can only tell you: Be there and enjoy. Another remarkable thing is, that the owner is always on the hunt to purchase and serve fresh beer. And who wants to drink beer, which has been sitting in the sun for weeks?

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hofrat2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 68 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2015

Best satisfied food we get on our 3day trip, although the restaurant small as the stall beside roads at our malaysia, but the food far better then we had in famous restaurant with low price. we ate fried prawn and fish with mushroom, and seafood tomyam, Definitely will come again

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ColourWolfKean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2015

Was there for dinner with family. All agreed that it was the best so far in Hat Yai as far as food is concerned. Not pricey yet the taste is good. We had prawns and they are fresh!!!

Best is to use GPS to get to this place. Thanks, Walter, for guiding us to this place over the phone.

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank stanleyw318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2015

This restaurant was rated 1st in this forum last week.

read all reviews , I was "convinced " that it has to be good. However, it was not THAT good as deservdr 1st in Hatyai (solely my opinion and rating of Hatyai food). So I decided to pay a visit on Monday making the visit as the first meal of this eating trip.

Though the highly praised snapper was quite ok, the rest of the dishes like lab moo, somtam, pak kha na, khow phad poo was just normal.

The price is fairly reasonable . ambience was not too conducive as it is just a road side house converted restaurant.
Of course, the lady boss speaks fluent Mandarin & English as observed. This is recommendable as a lot of tourist has communication problem.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vinerlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2015

I strongly agree with all the reviews when I was there on Friday, really friendly lady chefs (lady boss).who can speak english and mandarin.There was 12 of us , our driver and guide could not locate the place as it is outskirt of Hatyai, call them and the lady boss came on a motorbike to take us there, small cozy but fantastic food, like all reviews fried red snapper, lemon snapper tom yam fried seafood rice and pineapple rice strongly recommended, Will definitely go again when in Hatyai.......5 stars rating

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Chew25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Kitchen also viewed

Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 

Been to The Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.