We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boring breakfast.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Hotel Hat Yai

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Hat Yai
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boring breakfast.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Service was very good - smiling receptionists and very polite bell boys. But the breakfast buffet was terrible. We were disappointed there was no Thai food. The fried rice and fried noodles were tasteless and the porridge boring with no condiments. The fried eggs were cold. We finished breakfast in 10minutes and cancelled the following day's breakfast. We only had 200 Bahts discount.

The cost of a room was 2,500 Bahts which was considered steep compared to 1,300 Baht for a room at Lee Garden Plaza Hotel which was located just opposite this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHY4trip, General Manager at Centara Hotel Hat Yai, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest estee777,

We appreciated your comments and feedback after your recent stay with us. We will ensure further improvement on the points you've raised and look forward serving you better on your next visit.

Please kindly accept our sincere appreciation once again for your thoughts which is always useful for our continuous improvement.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    362
    165
    42
    17
See reviews for
197
170
41
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from 4/Nov/2011 to 7/Nov/2011 (3 nights)

My No.1 Hotel at Hatyai.

Pros:
Great Locations, near to all convenience store, shopping center
Alots of hawker around at night
Free Internet Wifi
Newly renovated room
Excellent Breakfast

Cons:
Hotel Lobby at 6th Floor

This is probably the best hotel in Hatyai, no complaints & will always stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WingsHeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHY4trip, General Manager at Centara Hotel Hat Yai, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest WingsHeong,

Thank you for your highly recommendation on our property and compliments.

On behalf of our team, we will continue our improvement where needed and will do our best to offer you the best experience on every visits.

We look forward welcoming you back to Hat Yai soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Centara Hatyai hotel is in a good location as it is connected to Central Shopping Mall and just behind the Gim Yong Market where you could buy a lot of cheap products from Malaysia and China. Lots of food stuff as well. Always a busy area with lots of tourist and many places to find food to eat.

The hotel itself has just been renovated so i would give it a 3 stars , and would say it is already the best in town in Hatyai as there is no other international standard hotel there. Room is reasonably nice and clean, with free wifi internet connection and breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sombatbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHY4trip, General Manager at Centara Hotel Hat Yai, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest Sombatbkk,

We appreciate your recent stay with us and glad to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for counting us as the best but this will not stop us from improving ourselves further and will do our best to be better on every visits of yours.

We wish to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

It just a night of stay, it was quite good. Nice and clean room with the electricity (light, air con central control).The bathroom with shower but no bath tub). Reasonable price and good services.

The breakfast is very variety, but taste is not so good. May be because of no pork, they use chicken in all dish (Islamic food).

There is a big department store (Central departmenstore) at the building too. Very good location to go to Kim-yong market.

One more thing, the lobby is not at the ground floor, you have to transfer at 6th floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momofagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHY4trip, General Manager at Centara Hotel Hat Yai, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest Momofagal,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us in general. However, we've taken good note on your constructive comments on food and our location. We will ensure improvements will be done where necessary in order to serve you better on your next visit.

We wish you a pleasant time for now and look forward serving you again at 'Centara'

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I had stayed in 2 other prominent hotel properties opposite / adjacent to Centara Hat Yai and this time I wanted a first hand experience on this newly branded hotel . I like to stay in this area as it is near to shopping and food . This property used to be under Novotel but now under the Centara Group . Walked in impromptu on 21 August 2012 at 2.15pm local time , enquired at reception , receptionist mentioned " cheapest available is apartment available at BHT 5500 nett , no more other choices as the rest are full " . I had to grab it not wanting to go room hunting at other hotel properties with tired legs ! Unit 1904 is a one room apartment with bedroom separated by sliding doors from the hall , total size is probably 450 - 500 square feet . We had to take the lift to Floor 18 ( max ) and walk-up a flight of staircase to Floor 19 , not recommended for the wheelchair bound . Air conditioning is powerful , I think they are newly installed Honeywell units , lighting for the whole unit is excellent ! There were 2 units of 32 inch Panasonic LCD TV's ( personally I think just one big 40 inch would suffice ) , one in the hall and one for the room , Other furniture were a dining table with 3 chairs and an L-shaped sofa , The kitchen is fully equiped with twin electric stove and cooker hood , microwave oven , bread toaster , electric kettle , single door fridge , kitchen sink and utensils like a slicing board with knife , spoons , forks , chopsticks , small and large bowls , plates , drink glasses , coffee glasses and also wine glasses . The kitchen area is small but they have individual lighting ( I give them plus points for the kitchen in general ) It really made us feel right at home ! The other plus point is they had a small office desk with desk lighting and internet wireless router right next to it , really thoughtful for business ! The bedroom was large enough with a king size bed , comfortable but not great , pillows , comforter and side tables and a walk in wardrobe ( a bit small though ) . Bathroom is quite plain but size is ample with separate areas for a bathtub , wash basin , water closet and a shower enclosure with the only noticeable hiccup being the fittings and tiling in the shower enclosure looking aged ! The toiletries quality could be improved for being rated Trip Advisor's NUMBER 2 HOTEL in Hat Yai ( we did not have extra toilet rolls though ) ! Guards guided us to car parking , great ! Breakfast was ample ( American with Thai influence ) , nothing to shout about here ! Check in and check out was a breeze ! One last sore point - they charged BHT 150 for the laundry bag , I mean no laundry bag was provided and you have to pay for it so be aware of this ! If not because of the exhorbitant price of BHT 5500 ( overcharged ? ) , I would have rated it excellent ! Probably management would care to comment on this ?

Room Tip: This unit is on the second topmost floor , was facing Lee Gardens Plaza Hotel on the opposite side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHY4trip, General Manager at Centara Hotel Hat Yai, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest Tan,

We appreciated your detailed feedback and comments made after your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay in general. This left aside the unpleasant hick up upon your departure which was mentioned as well as the high rate which was normally an issue only in a peak period.

In any case if you'd have another opportunity or wish to travel to Hat Yai once again, please feel free to contact our reservation team earlier to gain any needed assistance. We will do our utmost to assist you and ensure your smooth stay with us.

Again, thank you for choosing 'Centara' and we hope to see you again soon in Hat Yai!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Eventhough the hotel was in a very good location, right in the city center and very convenient to everything, massage palours, restaurants, food stalls, convenient stalls etc. and it's probably one of the only goof hotel in Had Yai you can find, plus it is adjusted to probably the busiest mall , Central shopping mall, the room seems to be abit old and needs abit of refurnishing.
However we only stayed for one night before our morning departure, we found it very convenient. Staffs were accomodating and friendly. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tapasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHY4trip, General Manager at Centara Hotel Hat Yai, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest tapasgal,

Please accept our sincere appreciation on your recent stay and thank you for your constructive comments where will be rectified for our further improvement where needed.

We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us in overall. Our 'Centara Hat Yai' team look forward welcoming you back to Hat Yai in the future and look forward serving you again!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is probably the best hotel in Hadyai, used to be under Novotel management but now is under the Centara group

Pros:
-Central location, central shopping ceter is just next door and close by to a lot of eatery stalls
-Room is big and clean, recently renovated
-Staff is friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsplily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHY4trip, General Manager at Centara Hotel Hat Yai, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest hsplily,

We thank you for your compliments given to us based on your recent stay with us in June. We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Moreover, we look forward serving you again in the future where possible.

We wish you a pleasant and enjoyable time & thank you again for choosing 'Centara'

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Planet Hat Yai
Red Planet Hat Yai
#2 of 87 in Hat Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.0 mi away
Buri Sriphu Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lee Gardens Plaza
Lee Gardens Plaza
#19 of 87 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crystal Hotel Hat Yai
Crystal Hotel Hat Yai
#6 of 87 in Hat Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Hatyai Hotel
U Hatyai Hotel
#5 of 87 in Hat Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Season Hotel
New Season Hotel
#7 of 87 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Hotel Hat Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Hotel Hat Yai

Property: Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Address: 3 Sanehanusorn Road, Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Hotel Hat Yai 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with 248 rooms, apartments and freshly renovated suites, situated in the centre of bustling Hat Yai, the commercial and shopping hub of Southern Thailand. An 20-storey building (1st to 5th floors comprise Hat Yai's branch of Central Department Store). Only 20 minutes from the airport and accessible by airplane, bus or train from Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Fastbooking and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Hotel Hat Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Centara Hat Yai Hotel Hat Yai
Novotel Hat Yai
Hat Yai Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing