We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient located,friendly and helful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Planet Hat Yai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Planet Hat Yai
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Hat Yai
malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient located,friendly and helful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located and easy to find restaurant nearby. Front desk are friendly and helpful, fast during check in and check out. Spacious and clean room except there are not provide mineral water ,kettle, cup and mini fridge.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vtan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jirawadee p, Manager at Red Planet Hat Yai, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear vtan2014,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on us following your recent stay.

We are happy to hear your stay with us was a pleasant experience and appreciate your acknowledgement of our front desk staff. We however operate a limited service concept, as for the mineral water, kettle, cup and mini fridge not being provided in your room, that goes in line with the hotel concept that states we provide you essentials in the rooms.

It is good to know that our location was a great convenience and the room offered you comfort.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back with us again.

Best Regards,
Jirawadee Promdam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    255
    110
    33
    14
See reviews for
129
131
77
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Highlands, Malaysia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We came with our family (4persons) and stayed here for 1night in their Double bed rooms. Location is good, walking distance to Odean Shopping Centre and Lee Gardens Shopping Centre (a little bit further only). Bigger room space compared to the other Tune Hotel property that we stayed before in Malaysia and the charges are completely different and no need to add-on amenities and pay additional. Room rate comes with AC, fan, free wifi, LCD TV, hair dryer, 4 clothes hanger (if got extra 2will be better), rain shower and of course with 2bath towels and toilet amenities.
We drove to Hatyai and as usual parking is available. The front desk stated that a fee of THB50 will be imposed if parking overnight, but not a matter at all, most important is there's a place to park the car. However, she gave us the parking for free as we decided to extend our rooms for late check-out and have to pay additional THB120 for it (which the fee is reasonable too) and we thank her for that.
Overall, everything is quite okay here only that we are not used to the soft pillows and bed. And we only managed to get our towels and rug around 7.30PM+ as their housekeeping were out of towels etc due to after a long weekend holiday business (Malaysia's National Day on 31st Aug). We would suggest the hotel to install room-to-room telephones as it is quite inconvenient as we are traveling in a family and staying separate rooms. And communicating is difficult. My family members had to walk to our room everytime to pass a message or discuss something and we think that it may cause noises to other guests in the next rooms. Thank you for the good stay!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jirawadee p, Manager at Red Planet Hat Yai, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear DCI1314,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are very pleased you chose us for your stay. Thank you for highlighting some of our key focuses like the prime central location and we were able to tick your main boxes on comfort, convenience, proximity, affordability and cleanliness.


In regards to the parking we charge, this policy applies for all Tune Hotels in Thailand, it is clearly stated on our website and at the car park entry. However, we are glad our front desk team was able to find a suitable solution for you.


We was sorry to read that our bed and pillows did not offer much comfort, Our Tune beds feature high quality spring mattress, custom-made pillows for our requirements and this is specifically made to meet the 5-star hotels bed standards. If you had come to reception we would have readily provided you extra pillows without additional fee to help you get better comfort as well as the extra clothes hanger. And we also sincerely
apologize that our service fell short on your expectation regarding to the shortage of linens. We promise to strive for improvement and provide better service every day.


With reference to your comment about the telephone in room is certainly the highlight for us to look into this matter. We hope to be your choice of hotel once again when you return to Hat Yai.

Best Regards,
Jirawadee Promdam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

look like is very nice hotel but this is budget hotel THB920 per night,
If you want holiday in hatyai by driving your car, please do not choose the TUNE HOTEL ,
when you want to check out, you mayhave to pay for the parking fee around THB50 per night,
this happens to me when i stay in TUNE HOTEL , this is not about THB50 but it's kinda unfair for us to pay for the fees.
This might be the first and last time that i'd ever stay in this goddamn hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank looi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jirawadee p, Manager at Red Planet Hat Yai, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear looi15,

Thank you very much for taking the time to feedback on your stay.

With reference to you comment regarding the parking fee we charge, this policy applies for all Tune Hotels in Thailand, it is clearly stated on our website and at the car park entry. This enables us to offer the rates, that are cheaper than the area's average.

On the positive side, we thank you your kind comment to our hotel was very nice.

We sincerely hope that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back again so that we could offer you a quality stay and restore your faith in us.

Best Regards
Jirawadee Promdam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Booked a room through Agoda, which got me 3 nights of stay at S$65. The location was quite good, which was within walking distance to the Robinsons department store and Lee Gardens Hotel (where they had excellent buffet meals for quite little money). There was also a nice Thai massage place within the hotel which had excellent services.

Hotel staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable but very minimal. The room had a queen-sized bed, a writing table, a safe and a bar for hanging your clothes. There was no fridge, telephone, cupboard or anything you would expect but overall provided excellent value for those looking for a decent stay without costing too much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jirawadee p, Manager at Red Planet Hat Yai, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear JesseI90,

Thank you very much for staying in Tune Hotel Hat Yai in June 2014 and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and found our hotel great value for money, clean and comfortable room. It is very pleasant to read your kind words about our friendly staff.

Thanks again for the valuable feedback and appreciated our hotel as an excellent hotel. We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Hat Yai.

Best Regards,
Jirawadee Promdam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed there on Wednesday and Saturday night. We were very happy with the stay.

+ The friendly and pretty counter girl always greet us with smile.

+ When we ask to change the smoky smell room after we back from shopping at night, they change for us with no question asked.

+ Unlike Tune hotel in Penang, this room is very spacious yet clean.

+ Location is convenient. 7 eleven shops and 2 shopping malls are around.

This is hotel of my choice, if I were back to Hat Yai again :)

Room Tip: Some rooms do have smoky smell. However, the friendly staff will change for you, if you let them kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yccheok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jirawadee p, Manager at Red Planet Hat Yai, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear yccheok,

We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and thanks for your 5 stars rating!

We are very pleased that you found our hotel in a convenient location and the room offered you comfort. Your compliments with the reception employees will be shared among our team!

Thank you for choosing us and we look forward welcoming you at Tune Hotel Hat Yai again for your next stay.

Best Regards,
Jirawadee Promdam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located, a short walk to the city centre. you can find restaurant nearby. front desk is very friendly and helpful. Room is spacious, clean and has free Wifi. Beds are very comfortable. Everything is good except there is no drinking water provided and no mini-fridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jirawadee p, Manager at Red Planet Hat Yai, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Seong F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor regarding to your recent stay.

It is very nice seeing our guests enjoying our lovely location and room designs. As you mentioned, our mission is to provide clean and comfortable rooms at terrific value, so it’s great to hear that we achieved our goal.

We are glad our staff was welcoming and helpful to you during the time you spent with us and do look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Hat Yai.

Warm Regards,
Jirawadee Promdam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have to say that i was impressed with Tune Hotel in Hat Yai. It was clean,spacious, easy access to places and friendly staffs. I booked the room via Agoda which came with free wifi and basic room equipment which included aircond. The tour desk at the lobby had some good cheap deals (obviously with some bargaining). Overall, i would recommend this place for any sort group or people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudhasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jirawadee p, Manager at Red Planet Hat Yai, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sudhasen,

We would like to thank you for leaving a positive feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are glad to find that you have enjoyed your overall stay and found our room cleanliness up to your standards and recommending us to others.

Just to clarify, for guests who book through third party agents, would have the A/C, TV, Wi-Fi, Towels & toiletries, hairdryer and safe included in their room price. However, when guests book directly through our website, they can design their own stay and save on unrequired facilities.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we appreciate your kind words towards our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Jirawadee Promdam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
#1 of 85 in Hat Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buri Sriphu Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
U Hatyai Hotel
U Hatyai Hotel
#4 of 85 in Hat Yai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
PB Grand
PB Grand
#8 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lee Gardens Plaza
Lee Gardens Plaza
#20 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lee Gardens Hotel
Lee Gardens Hotel
#28 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Hat Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Hat Yai

Property: Red Planet Hat Yai
Address: 152-156 Niphat Uthit 2 Road, Hat Yai, Thailand (Formerly Tune Hotel Hat Yai)
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Hat Yai 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly visible and right in down town Hat Yai, the Tune Hotel Hat Yai is in the perfect location in this busy southern Thailand city whether you are exploring its leisure activities or travelling for business and expecting a safe, clean stay that is also great value for money. Set in a safe and clean environment, Tune Hotel Hat Yai is home to 148 bedrooms with extremely comfortable queen-size or twin single beds with Tune Hotel’s famous duck down quilts and pillows, providing a homely night’s sleep at a value price point. Every room also contains a power shower, ceiling fan or air conditioning, large flat screen television, WiFi internet access, safe and a hair dryer.Inter-connecting and wheelchair access rooms are also available.The hotel is also home to the award-winning and newly opened Thai Odyssey Spa. The spa offers a full range of services from body scrubs, facials and local beauty programmes to an extensive range of traditional Thai and international massage techniques.There are also two fully-equipped meeting rooms in the Tune Hotel Hat Yai which can cater to meetings in various configurations, including 70 delegates theatre-style, 40 in a class-room format and 24 in a boardroom layout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your Red Planet Hat Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing