We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option for Hat Yai but isn't really good value”
Review of Red Planet Hat Yai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Planet Hat Yai
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Hat Yai
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A good option for Hat Yai but isn't really good value”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have stayed in several other Tune Hotels and although the Hat Yai branch has much larger rooms, we wouldn't really say it's good value for money nor is it up to the usual Tune high standard of accommodation.

At the time of booking there were no special offers available either on Tune Hotel's website or on the book sites. So we paid 1200 baht for a room with wifi, TV and toiletries package included.

An excellent location - close to the train station and Lee Garden Plaza, Central Department store and Robinsons department store area.

The lobby wasn't huge but big enough and the staff on the front desk were very friendly, spoke good English and got us checked in very fast. The lift will only work by holding up the key card to the panel, which is good for security. The corridors of the Tune Hotel building reminded us of dodgy University halls in the UK...it was a bit of a weird set up. The room access is also with the key card and there is a control panel for this key card as soon as you walk in the room.

First impression, yes the room is big but it's very spartan with blacked out windows, the walls were very dirty and there was a metal bar with 2 hangers for clothes. There was also a wall hanging TV and a small desk and stool. The bed was very comfortable with a nice duvet and pillows with bed side tables either side.

The bathroom was ok, the shower only had a partial glass enclosure which was fine, the rain dance shower head had excellent water pressure and the hot water was a good temperature. Toiletries provided were good.

The TV channels, however were dismal. As we were paying for the TV, we kind of expected to have a wide choice of channels but were disappointed in the selection.

Overall, it was a good stay - we got a really good sleep as the hotel seems to be very well sound-proofed, but we don't think we would stay here again unless the price was a lot less. It just wasn't worth 1200 baht, more like 600-700 baht at most. Hat Yai is quite an expensive city to stay in though, so this is probably reflected in the pricing for Tune.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubbyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    297
    127
    39
    15
See reviews for
160
155
82
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had not stayed in a Tune Hotel before, and were quite impressed. The room was spacious, modern and clean. We did not expect 'frills', but I was surprised that there were no plastic mugs provided for toothbrushing etc. After we checked out we were able to leave our luggage at reception for a few hours at no charge. The hotel is in a convenient place in the central area of the town, but quiet inside in spite of being on a busy street. There is nowhere to eat in the hotel, so we had to find somewhere ourselves. I would stay at a Tune hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymary27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Tune Hatyai room is indeed much larger than any tune hotels. Its comfy and back to basic. One thing my family love about these hotel is because its close to shopping locations and the large room. If you are going as a family , you can request for connecting room.

If you are looking for direction or some suggestion on hatyai, the tour uncle in the hotel lobby is really helpful and he gives us a lot of good suggestion too. If you are going to Penang, do book minivan with him as his minivan is really comfortable as compared to many of other minivan that we took previously.

Room Tip: choose a room with the front window view so the room wont feel so dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSL448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is the first time we stay in tune hotel. Check in was fast, and we checked in early morning with an additional fees (reasonable price). Room is big & clean, same to bathroom. Everything in the room looks new. We like the bed & pillow too...not too soft/ hard. It's a bit on the quiet side of hatyai centre, but we can walk to happening areas ( lee garden, Kim yong market) about 10 minutes walking time. There are many eatery places behind tune hotel too & tuk tuk always available for hire. Will stay here again if I come to hat yai again.

Room Tip: I booked via hotels2thailand which give me the best price for room with cozy package. So, do try ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starz_Xin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Clean bedding, clean room the same as advertised. Staff speaks perfect english and is very helpful. After our late check-in (9PM) we asked if it's possible to do our laundry till the morning. It was obvious that they don't do that but they were willing to do it. Just for us.
Right by the reception there was a transfer counter arranging transfers from hotel to the airport or some of the connecting piers like Pak Bara which we choose for our next destination for our connection to Koh Lipe.

If you take 5-10 minute walk up the street you can get to the night market on the streets with food and drink stands. There are also many 7-11 around and even McDonalds and big supermarkets. Location is great.

We much appreciated the comfort of our bed :) and the up-standard of this hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend and I would definitely stayed with them once more. In fact next time I travel I will check with them for a rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odpadnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is the 1st time I've stayed in a Tune Hotel-partly out of curiosity and partly because it had very good ratings on Tripadvisor.
Its certainly different from all other hotels I've been to.
At check-in, I was given 2 towels, soaps and shampoo and the TV remote: to be returned upon checking-out.
The room was spartan and the floor had wooden panels but was rather dusty and a cobweb was hanging in one-corner of the room.
I chose the room at the back as it was quiet. The rooms in front were facing the noisy main street. This back room had a window but there was nothing to see as it faced a wall.
Breakfast was not provided as there was no restaurant-but you can buy a cup of nescafe at reception.
Would I stay at Tune Hotels again? Probably not if I have a choice as it reminds me of a hostel rather than a hotel.
However I wouldn't mind it if I have no other choices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibnibatutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a harder one for me to write, as i like the Tune Hotel brand and concept, and have frequently recommended Tune to others.

Pros: the hotel itself is not too far from the Hat Yai rail station, and just a couple of blocks off of the Central Market / Lee Gardens ?Odean shopping area - and also close to the strip of clubs and bars, if that is a concern/priority.

I got a very good rate via Agoda - around 600 THB/night (including TV & internet!), which is what you would pay at an older small Chinese/Thai guesthouse for an aircon room. The aircon is excellent, ceiling fan strong but quiet, the shower more than hot enough & good pressure, the room clean, the bed comfort (pillows, bedding) up to Tune standards, and internet seems stable and fast enough. Good quality lighting throughout room. A full-length mirror close to the door, and another good mirror in bathroom. There is a samsung flat-screen tv. Key card required for elevator, solid door, and room safe - I felt very secure here, and would recc it to solo female travellers. And reception staff was very friendly and explained everything as if I was a first-time Tune stayer. :)

Cons: while looking really nice from the outside, this Tune just isn't up to the standard I am used to. There is a very small lobby area and a 'help desk' - but no small cafe or other places in the hotel proper. You need to go outside across the street to a small cafe (that I imagine Tune was a huge boon for). My room itself is pretty spartan - bare floors and walls; no splashes of color or the decals like you see in other properties. The bed was a queen, not a king, and the mattress not quite as soft/comfortable as other Tune properties I have stayed at. There is NO storage of any kind - just one bar with 4 hangers, but not even a shelf or drawer otherwise in the room. So you won't really be unpacking your bags, unless you put stuff on the floor. There is a mini 'control panel' next to the door for the AC (which I couldn't adjust the fan, only the temp), a DnDisturb button, and an alarm. A small table and matching stool (uncomfortable for sitting) - no proper chair. Although I was able to move it over under the TV (to hook my netbook into the Samsung TV), this was difficult, as you can't easily access the inputs on the back of the TV.There are only 3 outlets in the room - 1 in a corner by the tv, one by the bed, and one that is part of the hair-dryer on the wall. There is no outlet in the bathroom. No clock or phone in the room - if you have a question or request, you need to walk down to the desk. Although there was a good-sized window, there is a weird sort of privacy/shading/security mesh outside - you can't really see out, and although - from the outside of the building - it looks like you would have a balcony . . . you don't. And no window in the bathroom.

Speaking of which, the shower is only semi-enclosed; it looked like there were 2 doors at one point, but it either broke or was removed??? And no glass to hold a toothbrush, razor, comb, etc.

The bottom line is: it is a good enough place if you can get it at a discounted rate. You will get a good hot shower, a safe room, and a good night's sleep, close to the Central Hat Yai area.

But, in general? for the price? You would be MUCH better off booking BP All Suite Hotel (not the Tower, but the new Suite Hotel) right around the corner - close to same price, but much nicer room, balcony, use of gym & pool across the street at BP Tower, restaurant, coffee shop, etc.

Room Tip: like most of the Central HY area, the closer you are to the ground floor, the more lobby and street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
0.2 mi away
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
#1 of 90 in Hat Yai
783 reviews
0.6 mi away
U Hatyai Hotel
U Hatyai Hotel
#4 of 90 in Hat Yai
49 reviews
1.6 mi away
PB Grand
PB Grand
#9 of 90 in Hat Yai
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buri Sriphu Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lee Gardens Hotel
Lee Gardens Hotel
#13 of 90 in Hat Yai
32 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crystal Hotel Hat Yai
Crystal Hotel Hat Yai
#5 of 90 in Hat Yai
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Hat Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Hat Yai

Property: Red Planet Hat Yai
Address: 152-156 Niphat Uthit 2 Road, Hat Yai, Thailand (Formerly Tune Hotel Hat Yai)
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Hat Yai 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly visible and right in down town Hat Yai, the Tune Hotel Hat Yai is in the perfect location in this busy southern Thailand city whether you are exploring its leisure activities or travelling for business and expecting a safe, clean stay that is also great value for money. Set in a safe and clean environment, Tune Hotel Hat Yai is home to 148 bedrooms with extremely comfortable queen-size or twin single beds with Tune Hotel’s famous duck down quilts and pillows, providing a homely night’s sleep at a value price point. Every room also contains a power shower, ceiling fan or air conditioning, large flat screen television, WiFi internet access, safe and a hair dryer.Inter-connecting and wheelchair access rooms are also available.The hotel is also home to the award-winning and newly opened Thai Odyssey Spa. The spa offers a full range of services from body scrubs, facials and local beauty programmes to an extensive range of traditional Thai and international massage techniques.There are also two fully-equipped meeting rooms in the Tune Hotel Hat Yai which can cater to meetings in various configurations, including 70 delegates theatre-style, 40 in a class-room format and 24 in a boardroom layout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Red Planet Hat Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing