We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
PB Grand(Hat Yai)
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
$36
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Hotel(Hat Yai)
$29
$24
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Get Guesthouse(Hat Yai)(Great Value!)
$14
$12
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$31
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (882)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveler rating
204
413
191
52
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
413
191
52
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstune hotelthai odysseylee gardenvalue for moneybudget hotelwalking distancetuk tukno frillsearly checksafe boxspacious roomtrain stationbring your ownkim yong marketfree shuttlemini fridgebasic amenities
Filter
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 882 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Its a nightmare. Its the worst hotel in Hat Yai ever. Luckily we stayed only 1 night here. We only like the room because it is new & clean, other than that, nothing is nice about this hotel. Avoid Tune Hotel, many other better & cheaper hotels nearby like Center Mansion, Sakura Hotel, Lee Garden Hotel, etc.

Cons:
1) Tune hotel allows Check-in only from 2pm onward, they must charge you even if you require early check-in at 1:30pm even if they have available rooms and you must check-out before 11am or they will charge you for overstay. Other nearby Hat yai hotels check-out time is 12pm.

2) Each room only has 2 pillows, they charge 120 baht / extra pillow.

3) Extra room access card was requested because it would be more convenient if each guest have their own card to enter the lobby lift and guestroom but the tune staff rejected our request saying only 1 access card per room allowed.

4) They charge you for luggage storage, all other hotels do it for free.

5) Very dishonest tune staff, we were told WIFI in lobby is free before you paid for your room, but after payment, they told internet in lobby is only free if you use their desktop, they do not even allow you to unplug their internet cable from their desktop to plug into your laptop.

6) No fridge or complimentary water bottle. All other Hat Yai hotels provide it.

7) No water running in the sink or bath room or toilet bowl when check-in at 2pm. After complain was made, water only start to flow in at 3pm but running very slow & the shower temperature was hard to control, we did not get a good bathe.

8) Tune Hotel charge for everything else including Air-con, Wifi in room, Television which you can get for free in many other nearby hotels.

9) They gave us a low floor room, rejected our request for high floor when they do have empty rooms on higher floors on 6th, 7th & 8th floor when we checked the guestroom lights were all turned off when we see from outside the hotel at night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank curryfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangkokRalph101, Owner at Red Planet Hat Yai, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thanks for your very first review on Trip Advisor and our apologies that you did not enjoy the Tune experience, although we are heartened to see that you enjoyed a good night's sleep and found our hotel new and clean in your rating of our hotel.

In response to what you believe were negatives with your experience, our check-in and check out policy is uniform throughout all Tune hotels in Asia and is very clearly stated on our website and at the point of check-in. The nominal fee we charge for luggage storage and extra pillows is also a policy across Tune hotels in Asia.

In regards to our wifi, we do provide free Internet access in the lobby with the three terminals we have placed there. If you would like to use a personal device, we invite our valued guests to do so in the comfort of their rooms.

For the fridge, bottled water and the add ons that we charge for, once again this is standard for all Tune Hotel rooms - this is why we can sell our rooms at such reasonable rates and guests can choose to pay for what they want to use. If they do not want these facilities, then their stay is even cheaper.

We sincerely apologise for your issues with the water, but thanks for your feedback and the water system has since been examined and the issues you raise have been rectified.

Finally, we are sorry that we could not accommodate your request for a high floor. Part of our philosophy is that guests only pay for what they use, this way we save the amount of power we use during times when large buildings are trying to reduce their carbon footprint. When we do not have enough guests to fill these floors, we can conserve energy by closing off the floors. The lights may go on from time to time though during a security inspection during the evening.

Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we hope you have been able to learn a little more about the Tune concept on the way and we look forward to you giving us another chance next time you art in Hat Yai.

Kind regards
Mark Armsden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Pros :

Nice spotless room
Comfortable bed
Cold air con
Friendly staff
Great security guard

Cons :
Wireless was unusable which was annoying as i payed for it specifically
Paying for towels and AC might not go down well with some people
Kind of crappy area in Hat Yai
Extortionate Tuk Tuk drivers hanging around out front

Conclusion :

I think Tune is onto a winner here with the business model.
THis particular hotel is spotless and feels brand new and cant really complain

Would stay again if i happen to go to Hat Yai again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dodgy-Davey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Booked this place because it gets good reviews on tripadvisor but would probably not stay here again:

Plus:
+ New hotel
+ Modern rooms
+ Comfortable bed

Minus:
- No fridge, no complementary water, which is usually standard in this price range in Thailand
- wired pricing. When you start the booking process on their website you are initially surprised from the low rate shown (499thb) but you have to pay extra for nearly anything (in THB: AC 140/230 12h/24h, TV 120 for 12 channels, per Towel 120, Wifi 50/80 12h/24h, early arrival/departure 120, baggage storage 40 per piece) tax comes on top and unbelievable but true the in room safe and the one(!) power plug in the room is free of charge!

So you finally end up with paying the same or even more than in better equipped hotels but unfortunately you can’t rent a fridge.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank -Man0nTheMove-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Red Planet Hat Yai, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear Tuner,

Thanks for choosing Tune Hotel Hat Yai.,

Our hotel offers the basic essentials, bed and shower. This concept is primarily adopted to keep prices low and to provide options for guest needing further facilities like the air conditioning, and wifi. It’s non obligatory and you pay only if you need them.

The regular hotels do not offer flexi - package unlike us, therefore, prices may be higher and you do not have the options to suit them based on your affordability.

Many find our concept great-value for money, booking early and months in advance would usually secure cheaper rates.

Thank you once again for the review and I hope you'll continue to choose us in your upcoming travels.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

It is located 3 blocks away from the station and a 5 minute walk along the road. It is near the centre but in quiet location with a few small shops and massage places nearby. The initial impression is small wow, the security guard salutes you as you enter, the small but high lobby is gleaming white with an arty swirly sculpture overhead, probably from the former hotel. You get a warm enthusiastic greeting with Thai 'wai' too from the receptionists. The check in is efficient, the key card worked first time. Tune key cards can be slightly confusing, which way do you put the card in the electric power lock slot? Up or down or back to front ? The room is a very pleasant surprise for Tune afficionados like me, it is HUGE!
But the unexpected largeness of the room seemed to emphasise the bare walls that were only adorned by the usual adverts on the wall. Everything was clean,bright, new including the large bathroom. The fan was new too, the typical propellor model that rendered air on unnecessary. There was the usual Tune accoutrements, great bed and shower head, no towel or soap unless you pay extra. Any questions about Hat Yai were answered by with the same friendly receptions very eager to please. Of course the question is, will the building and the staff still be new and enthusiastic in 1 year's time ?
Yes the only bad point was the bare bare walls. Great start for Tune Hat Yai.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I booked this hotel during their opening promotion, so the rate was great, half the price of any other hotels in Hatyai. It's also the best that I've stayed at so far (this is the 4th one that I've stayed in).

The room was big with a comfy bed. I agree with the soft pillows being a bad thing, but then again, other hotels too have soft pillows (some people actually like them). The good thing was they gave me an extra pillow upon request.

Service at the counter was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. Plus we took up a good deal, by extending the check out time and also checked in early because we had arrived early. The price was fair and reasonable.

Well, amenities were of course, very basic, understandably because it's a budget hotel. I guess we just had to forgo the fridge; we were happy enough to get cold drinks from the nearby 7-11 instead.

As for location, it was a bit further to the main area, but it was just an additional 4-5 mins of walking which we didn't mind. But, the plus point is that it is very near Robinsons mall. Be prepared to shop till you drop. :-)

All in all, trust me, this place is better than the popular hotels in the center of the town e.g. Lee Garden. It was excellent because we got more than expected for such a low price.

For cheaper rates, do book ahead.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank greent_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Red Planet Hat Yai, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Hi greent_26,

It's a pleasure to read a review from a satisfied guest. Thank you very much.

Being a limited service hotel, we manage affordable room rates by providing the basic essentials; bed and shower. The rest are optional.

Creating value; allows guest to afford a memorable travel experience; especially being at hatyai; a shopping and entertainment destination for many,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and we hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews