We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice way to spend a few hours”

Hat Yai Municipal Park
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Hat Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A nice way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I had a short stop over in Hat Yai on my way back to Trang from Penang and I decided to spend the morning at this park. I asked a few tuk-tuk drivers the costs to get there, and they all wanted about 300-600 baht for the ride there and back. After some searching online I found that you can actually just take a Songtaew for 10 baht each way! I walked the short distance from the train station to Phetkasen Road and hopped in one heading east that took me straight there. I also decided just to walk up the hill on my own, saving the cost for a ride up, which was about a 1 1/2 hour walk. It was a nice hike, though, since everyone else choses to drive, I was alone with nature the whole way. I walked to the Hindu temple at the top of the hill, then took the cable car (200 baht) down to the Buddhist temple. The way down was much shorter, and once at the bottom of the hill, I just grabbed a songtoew back for another 10baht. A fairly inexpensive and peaceful way to spend a few hours in a new city.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    122
    50
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice City Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just a short distance outside Hatyai City and easily accessible by Tut-Tut. Entrance is free and a tram ride up the hill is cheap at 20Baht per pax. The view from the top is great and there is a cable car ride up to an even higher hill.

When we were there, a lot of festivity is going on within an International Lantern Exhibition for New Year Eve 2013 and to welcome in New Year 2014. As such, the half completed lanterns of all forms and sizes are good for photography opportunity.

The Ice Dome is at the foot of the hill and a visit is worth the entrance fee of 300 Baht per adult. Do come with long pants and full shoes although entrance includes a down jacket with hood. I was wearing shorts and got my legs freezing in the indoor temperature of -15C.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank drjyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is the main attraction in hat yai. Most of the major attraction are in this park. You can take tuk tuk to visit the park. You can find the ice dome, temple and cable car.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tatt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive cable car for foreigners.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Cable car connects 2 temples and cost 200B per person who is non Thai. The temple up the cable car is small and there is a big elephant statue there. It is
also very noisy as firecrackers are lit. It is a better option to have a cup of coffee at the coffee shop to enjoy the view of hat yai n coffee only cost 50B.
Then you can take your car to go down to the Kuan Yin temple. The laughing Buddha is located inside the dragon head near the Kuan Yin temple.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Sushsf0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Easy trip around Hatyai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Large lake with koy carp you can feed. Walk up a winding path for around 1 hour to visit a Chinese temple, a Hindu type temple with lots of elephants and on the hill top a 60 foot high standing Buddha and nice view of all Hatyai. There is a short cablecar but it is too short to be worth the ride and also foreigners have to pay an extortionate amount more than locals. You can get to the park by taking a songtaew from Phetkasem Road just past the shop that sells Police uniforms.(Near the railway bridge). Ask for SUAN SATTARANAA which is public park in Thai. It costs 10 baht and the trip is about 30 minutes including stops. The park is about 7 kilometers from central Hatyai.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hat Yai Municipal Park also viewed

Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
Hat Yai, Songkhla Province
 

Been to Hat Yai Municipal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing