We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel with the 1st lift in hatyai” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hat Yai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Hotel
Ranked #67 of 86 Hotels in Hat Yai
singapore
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“hotel with the 1st lift in hatyai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

this building is about fifty years old and during its heyday must have been the pride of hatyai, being the first building fitted with a lift.a signage confirming this point is proudly displayed at the lobby (just above the lift entrance).

luxurious it is not but it is also not so shabby as reviewed by some of the travellers.the room we were shown was clean, with clean linen and more generous sized than the neighbouring aloha hotel (a newer property) where the room prices are about 50 per cent more.

location wise this property is located in the relatively quieter area of hatyai (Niphat=Uthit road 1), roads two and three being more active locations in terms of shopping and eateries. location is certainly a boon for train travellers as the train station is a walkable 7 mins distance.

ideal value for money place with basic accommodation at reasosnable rates (750 to 850 bhats). added advantage is its proximity to the robinson department store. where TOPS supermarket is also located. TOPS is an ideal location for consumer items at reasonable prices.

the staff at this hotel are very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: try to request for a renovated room.the property is in a quiet location anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajamanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
3
13
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Every now and then you find an ageing hotel in South East Asia which has charm, and good clean rooms. The Atlanta in Bangkok for example. MyPlace@Surat is another. Sadly, the Kings Hotel in Hat Yai is not one of them. Somewhat amazingly I was recommended this place by a guy in Phangan. The room was dirty, the walls scuffed and marked and bits of plaster falling off them. The hot water was tepid. The WiFi was iffy. The carpet was dirty and didn't look as if it had ever been vacuumed. I could smell and taste every single dust mite that had ever died in the airconditioner. The lobby smelt the same ( that should have been the warning, but I was tired ). I was transported back to the Miami Hotel in Bangkok in the early 80s, the same musty aircon smell. At 650 baht it was poor value. There are better options. It's a pity because it is well located near the station and the staff were fine. It doesn't take much to turn these places around if there is the will to do so.

Room Tip: choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melbournetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hat Yai hotels

Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

When we booked into the King's Hotel, a seven storey, fairly new building, all of the staff had the same wondering look that seemed to say, "These folks ain't from around here." Several times during the booking in process I smiled for one reason or another and said, "Thank you." Each time this occurred it was returned with a glare as if I'd just told them to "flake off." It was bizarre and funny. I started saying thank you for things that weren't even given to me. All-in-all though, the place is OK and the price is right. We paid 750 baht.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights during my visit to hat yai and enjoyed my 2 days stay here...room are average and the bathroom are just simple and sufficient (no bathtub)... Most of the staffs here can speak chinese and they are helpful..there are tuts-tuts waiting outside the hotel so going around wouldnt be an issue.. the Lee Garden Plaza is just less than 10 minutes walk depending on your speed and basically King hotel is located on the 1st road while Lee Garden is on the 4th road (Tune hotel is on the 2nd road).. The hotel also offered money changing service and the rate are okay as there are few money changer shop near the market charging at higher rates... Since I was free at night, I had a conversation with the uncle at receptionist and he told me that the in-house massage at level 2 offers more than just massage and I just smile and tell him it's ok... XD

The only problem was the lifts are very slow and can only fit in very very few people at one time..other than that, everything was just nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenChuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed here one night to catch the train the day after and it suited my needs perfectly.
It's close to the station, shopping centres and markets, it's cheap (650 baht for a double), and it's quiet.
the rooms are a bit "vintage furnitshed" but they have all the standards of a regular hotel: towels, soap, kettle, tv, aircon and a quite comfy bed and pillows.
Reception is nice and professional and they have a good level of English.

only downside the smell of smoke in some of the rooms ( maybe you can ask for non smokers one) and the need of a new coat of paint on the wall and maybe a general refurb

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCleverCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I just enjoyed my 3 days (2.7.13 to 4.7.13)holiday in King hotel hatyai. The hotel had renovated some rooms with new furnitures including new carpet and bathroom, however, with the new improvement, there is an increase in room-rate of Baht 750 per day as compared to previous rate of Baht 500 to 550. If you are a budget traveller like myself you still can ask for the older rooms which is about Baht 550( which is very often sold out.) As location wise it is situated next to a new Aloha Hotel where the rooms rate is more than baht 1000++. If you just want a comfortable room with very basic amenities then you can consider this hotel otherwise you can go next door to a 4 stars rating aloha hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window, you have to pay a little bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PhilipChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here 1 night on our way to Malaysia. The place is well located and that is the only good thing about the hotel. Rooms are old and smell like ashtray . The beds are very hard and quite short, if you're over 1m80 the bed will be to short. Bathrooms are very basic although they have 'newer' rooms with nicer bathrooms. The carpet on the floor was very fillty so you don't want to take your shoes off! One night was the maximum I would ever stay in this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thibaut T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hat Yai
0.2 mi away
Asian Hotel
Asian Hotel
#20 of 86 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lee Gardens Hotel
Lee Gardens Hotel
#28 of 86 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sakura Grand View Hotel
Sakura Grand View Hotel
#61 of 86 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aloha Hotel
Aloha Hotel
#4 of 86 in Hat Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sakura Hotel
Sakura Hotel
#66 of 86 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
BP Grand Tower Hotel
BP Grand Tower Hotel
#13 of 27 in Songkhla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Hotel

Property: King's Hotel
Address: 126 Niphat Uthit 1 Rd., Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 86 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King’s Hotel prides itself for its long years of providing the best in terms of luxury and comfort to customers both local and foreign with its friendly and reliable service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing