We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really correct for the price”
Review of King's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hat Yai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Hotel
Ranked #73 of 96 Hotels in Hat Yai
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Of course when you enter your room for the first time all the defects are immediately apparent: stains on the curtains, holes and frays on the carpet, wallpaper partly unstuck, stile of the bathroom split, etc...the whole would need serious renovation, still, for TBH 500 you have a single bedroom with large and comfy bed, AC, free WIFI in the bedrooms, hot shower, fridge, TV, a porter, etc...what more could I ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 36 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

I just stayed there only two nights before my trip to KL. Hatyai is catering the tourists from Singapore and Malaysia for shopping and pleasure tour. It has some very popular and affordable cosmetic surgeons too. . For travelers who came by air can purchase the expensive goods excluding the VAT(value added tax). Have to show passport and air ticket for the exemption.

The king hotel is located in quieter part of the town. Besides that message parlor is operating. Most hotels in Thai has deal with travel agents for discount coupons. For this hotel, direct check in is encouraged. I got a voucher from Hatyai travel agency from Krabi. Actually the price was overcharged with Bath 160s. However they arranged the transport directly to the hotel.

Bed is rock hard and breakfast is not included. Bathroom is small and door is loose. Ventilation fan noise is unbearable. House keeping staff started their duties early morning. Therefore it is annoying the guest on the bed. The noise from Niphat road can be heard at night. I got surprised about TV reception quality. It is pretty good for viewing local channels. There are a few channels for westerners. These channels are pretty good too. Down side is not many food outlets near the door steps. Have to walk about 10 mins along the road for having the meals.

Overall house keeping staff and porters are friendly. However bell boy has business deal with message parlor. He will encourage solo traveler for getting relaxation service. Comparing with other accommodation, it is pretty old building and badly needed for renovation. Carpets and stair like antique. Toilet roll, soap and shampoo are major disappointment.. It is just suitable for transit stay. Many guesthouses in Hatyai may be more welcoming than this hotel. I was glad that I just stayed there for two nights. Enough is enough!

Room Tip: Stay away from the room near the stairs and lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FlyFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I have been to this hotel a few times starting in 2004 and the last time was in june 2010...In 2004 I found it to be a very nice place considering the price (450-550) bath...,and its still a quite good place with the same price...however the rooms are quite worn down and needs a restauration. The location is good,the staff are nice, so its still a good place but as i said in order to get it very good it needs a restauration. For example we where a little bit unlucky becouse we got a room here the air from the air cond did smell of old standing water,,,I do hope it was one of the few rooms with that problem..
Do i recommend the place ? well it depends on your demands,, if you looke for a cheap room in a good location then my answer is yes.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_johnsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

room was cheap 450baht for a dbl room, with a/c and hot water, fridge and tv. staff were friendly and polite. we slept in but when we left our room in the afternoon to get lunch the staff outside our room checked if we needed new towels, soap, toilet paper etc.

room had wifi, it was a weak signal for us (4th floor) but worked ok. there is also a pc in reception that's avaiable for use.

good location for all the shopping centres and markets. would recomend to any budget travellers. there are plenty of other hotels if you want more than budget and basic.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loopyloops0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This was a rather bizarre experience. On check in the bellboy was excessively helpful. I told him 5 times that he didn't need to carry my bags, and he kept trying to grab them anyway. He walked with me up to my room and kept trying to demonstrate to me that all the lights worked, even though I kept shooing him away. Over and over I gestured that I didn't want his help, but he ignored me. I finally opened the door and gestured more firmly that he needed to leave, and he finally left. Was he that badly in need of a tip??

When checking in I asked about wi fi, and the clerk ignored my question. I asked a few more times, and he finally told me there was no wi fi. I later found out the hotel did have wi fi and used it in my room. Bizarre. Also odd, but it only worked on one side of the room, but not the other.

The first day was a nice stay, but the next morning wasn't. I wanted to sleep in, but I was rudely awoken the next morning at 7am by other guests and by cleaning staff. The cleaning staff banged my door loudly with their cart. Later 2 maids hung out a few meters down the hall and had a fairly loud conversation for a good long while. I thought my "do not disturb" sign on my door and my request for them to "shush" should have been enough, but I guess not.

I enjoyed the sign over one of the elevators which proclaimed it Had Yai's first elevator "since 1964". Since it was out of order half the time, perhaps it hadn't been replaced since 1964.

I didn't enjoy the way the staff acted. I'd look elsewhere if I were to stay in Had Yai again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanrodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Was sort of stranded in Hat Yai after train cancelled and needed somewhere inexpensive but clean - Kings was recommnended by a travel agent (who subsequently booked me through to Koh Samui).
The staff were friendly, and the room was small vut clean and comfortable - hot water and airconditioning and the rate was inexpensive.
Not a resort but ok for passing through

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015, traveled solo
Thank しるべ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
0 mi away
Aloha Hotel
Aloha Hotel
#6 of 96 in Hat Yai
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Florida Hotel Hatyai
The Florida Hotel Hatyai
#57 of 96 in Hat Yai
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Hat Yai
Red Planet Hat Yai
#2 of 96 in Hat Yai
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
New Season Hotel
New Season Hotel
#8 of 96 in Hat Yai
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
U Hatyai Hotel
U Hatyai Hotel
#4 of 96 in Hat Yai
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tanaphat Hatyai Hotel
Tanaphat Hatyai Hotel
#68 of 96 in Hat Yai
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Hotel

Address: 126 Niphat Uthit 1 Rd., Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 96 Hotels in Hat Yai
Price Range: $20 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King’s Hotel prides itself for its long years of providing the best in terms of luxury and comfort to customers both local and foreign with its friendly and reliable service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing