We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good budget hotel BUT” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indra Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hat Yai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indra Hotel
Ranked #62 of 85 Hotels in Hat Yai
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A good budget hotel BUT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed over at Indra Hotel on 29 and 30 August 2013. Overall, it was a good budget hotel with a fantastic location right in the heart of the shopping belt. Opposite was the Odeon Shopping Centre and a stone's throw away, you get to The Central and a little farther up, about a couple of minutes' walk, there is the Robinsons.

KFC, McDonald's and Starbucks gave the place a metropolitan feel but let's face it: Hat Yai is Hat Yai so do not expect to feel as if you are in Tokyo, New York or Shanghai.

There are also lots of small shops around selling mainly food, bags, shoes and various local snacks all in the vicinity of the hotel. If you need a massage, you should have no problem finding a massage parlour but you have to open your eyes wide to know whether you are going to get a pure massage or whether it comes with 'extras'.

Indra Hotel does not have a restaurant so I went over to the Centera Hotel to eat a really good dinner all for only 520 Baht. However, for all the other meals, I ate local food, which was the way to 'live' like the locals did. The kampong chicken rice in the same building as The Indra Hotel was excellent, reminiscent of how it was cooked in Singapore n the 1960s.

The room was neat and clean and came with air-con. No bed bugs detected. There were two bottles of drinking water, compliments of the hotel which the chambermaid replaced daily. Usual amenities included a TV with a reasonable selection of channels and a bathtub with hot water. I do not understand why they needed to keep my passport which I do not believe in leaving with anybody whenever I travelled. In the end, the hotel receptionist agreed to my placing a deposit of 200 baht refundable upon checking out. That was better. It gave me peace of mind. displayed at the counter was 550 Baht for a room with a double bed.

The price for a room with a double bed displayed at the counter was 550 baht per night. I got it for 650 baht, all because I was stupid to follow a tout to a travel agent to do the booking when I got off the coach.

My advice to anybody going to Hatyai by coach: coaches stop at the vicinity of the main shopping belt and there are several hotels around. You do not need the not-for-free service of a tout to bring you to a travel agent to book an hotel room. You can easily walk about and find a hotel which suits your budget. And you probably pay less, believe me, so if you are ever approached by a tout, shoo him away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FEtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
2
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights.

Service: Excellent. Friendly receptionist. The housekeepers worked hard to tidy the rooms.

Value: Very cheap. Only 500 baht per night.

Room: Had everything one needs, armchairs, tv, fridge, dressing table, washroom with full bath, beds, closet etc

Sleep quality: Had a nice quiet room away from the main road, so sleep was good

Cleanliness: Floor was dirty. Sink and bathtub were moldy. Lots of ants crawling around. We tried to get rid of the ants, but they keep coming back. Corridor was very old; carpet was dirty. Used old bedsheets and blanklet were left lying along the corridor.

Location: Excellent. Just across the street from Odean. 2-3 min walk from the Lee Gardens and Central shopping mall.

Overall, the hotel is understaffed, and clearly lacked the funds for all the renovation it needs. There is definitely evidence of some renovation done, since the floor and wall tiles, air-con, tv set and arm chair are quite new, but more housekeepers should be hired to keep the place in better condition. The washrooms certainly needs more renovation. Sink, tub and toilet bowls should be changed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hat Yai hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The old school style hotel yet it is still comfort for you to sleep well during night.
From 550thb,its suits well for the budget traveler.
The room was quite big,clean and the air-cond was so cold during the night.
Though the room surrounding was quite dimmed, but everything working fine (tv & fridge).
The most best thing, it was so close to the Lee Gaden, took you 2-3 mins to reach there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuantan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I travelled solo in hatyai for one nite and i dont really mind about the hotel comfortableness. The aircond is working perfectly, hot shower is available, and toilet is ok. But i do admit i was like transformed back to the 60s with the room deco. For 550bath, there are quite a number of small comfier rooms available. All you need to do is check around. But i was too lazy to do that. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khairull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

rooms were clean, spacy and equiped with all necessaries. breakfast was tasty and a big choice
of european and asian dishes. service in the breakfast time was perfect. all the staff members were very friendly and helpful. will advise to try this hotel.good value for money..

Room Tip: rooms on back side of hotel were quieter.front side is main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sardool s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Beware of very cheap hotels. They can state any price or any check out time they want. When i went to enquire the counter staff told me the check out time was 6am. I then told him i have never heard of a hotel having a check out time so early cos its mostly around 12 to 2pm. Then he told me its 12pm. I was also told to come back the nex day as some of the vacant rooms r still not cleaned yet cos the cleaners r on off. My god thats so unhygienic n so not organised! As for the rooms its not very clean but what can i say its after all a cheap hotel...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrGreatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The moment me and my friend stepped in the lobby area, our expectation went bottom down. we smelled the cigarette smell and hardly breath upon checking in. since we already bought the coupon from travel agent previously then we just proceed with check in. paid 480Baht for double bed room.

Hoping for miracle to happen, we went up to our room. It was very depressing to see the condition of the room. Our bath tub cracked and the water that came out from the pipe at the sink was yellow. like literally yellow. same goes to the toilet water.

Thinking of finding another place to stay we went out and looked around for a better stay. Found a quite nice place, Be My Guest guest house rated for 600Baht for a normal room. The place was okay, clean and tidy. After few thoughts, we decided to just stay at Indra Hotel as it's just for a night.

We did not use the towels and blanket provided as we were so disgusted by the cleanliness of the place. We even use out sheet/towels as cover and sleep on it as did not want to be bitten by bugs etc.

As for the location, it's situated very near to the famous Lee Garden Hotel. McDonald's and other eating places are just nearby. Same goes to massage places, night market, 7 Eleven and etc.

If I happen to be at Hat Yai again, I'd try find other place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i3ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hat Yai hotels
0.0 mi away
Hi-Season Hotel
Hi-Season Hotel
#16 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Pink Hotel
Grand Pink Hotel
#8 of 85 in Hat Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Planet Hat Yai
Red Planet Hat Yai
#2 of 85 in Hat Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lee Gardens Hotel
Lee Gardens Hotel
#27 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee Gardens Plaza
Lee Gardens Plaza
#20 of 85 in Hat Yai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
Centara Hotel Hat Yai
#1 of 85 in Hat Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indra Hotel

Property: Indra Hotel
Address: 94 Thammanoonvithi Rd., Hat Yai 90110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Songkhla Province > Hat Yai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 85 Hotels in Hat Yai
Number of rooms: 118

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing