We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, green and cosy guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 161 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice, green and cosy guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were good, women were nice (especially the one who owns is: she helped us a lot), breakfast was good and the place felt really cosy and romantic. 5-minute walk to night market and nice restaurants. Also rented a motobike at the guesthouse, which is arranged by another agency. Good motobikes and fast service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judithvanderpeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    107
    45
    9
    8
See reviews for
9
109
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Baan Bua Guesthouse in May/June (low season) and paid 460 baht per night for the double room with private hot water bathroom, air con and fan room. The room is huge with a table and chairs, useful furniture and mozy protection doors. The breakfasts are not included in the price of the room and are a little over priced but other western breakfast places along the road are similar prices.
The guesthouse is located about 10 mins walking to the municiple market and 5 mins walking to the bus station and night food market. Overall the location is perfect for exploring the city.

While staying in Chiang Rai I would highly recommend 'Cook Thai Yourself' a fantastic Thai cooking class. You can email Tik via her website and book a class at her home outside of the city. She picks you up takes you shopping for ingredients at the local market and then drives you to her home and use fresh produce from her garden also. If visiting Chiang Rai this is the first thing you should do, it was exceptional and Tik and her husband are wonderful hosts. An all round great experience of the Thai food and way of life.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

As the title says, you can't ask for much more when you want somewhere to stay.

Staff were really nice, got some washing done and they rounded the price down, not up, which was nice of them.

Nice seating area outside which when the sun was shining in the evening had everyone sat outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdSutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights at a really good rate. The rooms are nothing special but what do you expect at that price. The room was clean and a fan was all that required as it was quite cool in Chiang Rai. The lady at reception (whom I assume was the owner) was really helpful and spoke english well, helping us navigate to the white temple and black house via drawn map and instructions. Overall a good stay and very cheap price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzzy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great yard to wake up in with good breakfast! Rooms are simple and clean. I arrived very early in the morning and they instantly made a room for me, good to take a shower after a long nightly busride!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The category guesthouse is quite appropriate for this particular setting, it doesn't fit into any categories of inn nor hotel. It is a house, an extended house, with multiple rooms in a back alley. So, words of warning, it is NOT easy to find. Fear not, the local taxi drivers will take you there but you do have to memorize how to get back to it. It is located in a back alley like a "L" shape, any 10-people van or larger sized vehicle will have a hard time to make U-turns out.

Because it is a modified house, the front office, accounting dept, supply room and the computer center are all jam-packed into a 100 sq. ft area next to the kitchen. Got that?

When I first arrived, a lady in her 50s came out from the kitchen to greet me. She had trouble to look up the information from booking.com, took her a good 20 minutes to finally agree to give me the key to my room. Whee..

The room I got was a single fan room, the floor fan made a lot of noises when I put it into swinging mode, so I had it in the fixed position the whole night. Thanks to the weather in Chiang Rai which is much cooler than Bangkok, this tiny little fan is still a valuable surviving tool.

One nice thing about this guesthouse is it provides a private bathroom instead of shared bathroom. The room itself is moderately clean and decent.

I did not use the food service in this home setting house. Still not sure what kind of food the 50-some-year-old lady would provide, but apparently some guests thought it was OK (2 of the guests were in the same tour group we ended up having).

Since this location is so tiny, the only open area is the front yard (or backyard) they have a few roadside cafe type tables whereas the guests not in a hurry are either reading, smoking or chatting there.

What impresses me most are 2 things, one I like and one I don't.

What I like most is the owner, a Thai lady in her 40s (I guess, but I am not good in guessing women's age) she is an expert in PR. When she is not busy with the bills and accounting or payments, she always spend time outside talking to the guests. Even though I spent only 2 days at this guesthouse, every time I ran into her, she always had group of audience listening to her talking. She was quite charismatic in drawing the guests attention to. The way she talked was very calm and convincing, not the gossip type blah blah blah. I was surprise to see so many foreigners, men and women, sitting patiently and chatting with her all the time. If she quits this job, make sure some Public Relations firms grab her right away.

The prices are reasonable at this guesthouse, still, I prefer an air conditioned room instead of fan. However, the only thing I don't like is this guest house is cash transaction only. I thought I paid for it on the web, but took me quite awhile and several rounds of emails with booking.com to find out this one is cash-only and no other options.

Since I was near the end of my trip in Thailand, my cash situation was kind of tight. If it could be charged to my credit card would enable me with more rooms in food and shopping. But I dont blame them for they are merely a B&B type institute, what do you expect?

After all, the experience with this guest house is a good one if you don't have to bargain with that lady from the kitchen but with the PR expert.

Room Tip: Air conditioned room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here on april 2012, I was alone.
The guest house i located in a central position in chiang rai and in silent courtyard so no noise at all! Close to bus station and 5 minutes walk from night market, clse to other bars on the street.
The guesthouse has a good and pleasant garden where you can have a breakfast or drink something in the night. This garden is an opportunity to meet and talk with other guest if you are alone.
My room was very big but with no hotshower. This was not a problem because in april is very hot. I saw another room smaller and with hotshower.
The room was clean but you have to aks to clean when you need.
The staff was very kind, wifi is available.
I paid 300b per day for room with a double bed, fan, private bathroom and no hotshower.
I did not book the room, it was low season but my room was the last one for 1 person.
I suggest to book in advance if you want to stay there during high season.

I spent 3 days and everything was ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank daquaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.6 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#21 of 108 in Chiang Rai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercy Hostel
Mercy Hostel
#2 of 137 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Bua Homestay
Baan Bua Homestay
#16 of 161 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Rai Hotel
Chiang Rai Hotel
#8 of 161 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bua Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bua Guesthouse

Property: Baan Bua Guesthouse
Address: 879/2 Jedyod Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Bua Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baan Bua Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bua Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing