We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centraal maar rustig”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 172 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Centraal maar rustig”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great yard to wake up in with good breakfast! Rooms are simple and clean. I arrived very early in the morning and they instantly made a room for me, good to take a shower after a long nightly busride!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    107
    45
    9
    8
See reviews for
9
109
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The category guesthouse is quite appropriate for this particular setting, it doesn't fit into any categories of inn nor hotel. It is a house, an extended house, with multiple rooms in a back alley. So, words of warning, it is NOT easy to find. Fear not, the local taxi drivers will take you there but you do have to memorize how to get back to it. It is located in a back alley like a "L" shape, any 10-people van or larger sized vehicle will have a hard time to make U-turns out.

Because it is a modified house, the front office, accounting dept, supply room and the computer center are all jam-packed into a 100 sq. ft area next to the kitchen. Got that?

When I first arrived, a lady in her 50s came out from the kitchen to greet me. She had trouble to look up the information from booking.com, took her a good 20 minutes to finally agree to give me the key to my room. Whee..

The room I got was a single fan room, the floor fan made a lot of noises when I put it into swinging mode, so I had it in the fixed position the whole night. Thanks to the weather in Chiang Rai which is much cooler than Bangkok, this tiny little fan is still a valuable surviving tool.

One nice thing about this guesthouse is it provides a private bathroom instead of shared bathroom. The room itself is moderately clean and decent.

I did not use the food service in this home setting house. Still not sure what kind of food the 50-some-year-old lady would provide, but apparently some guests thought it was OK (2 of the guests were in the same tour group we ended up having).

Since this location is so tiny, the only open area is the front yard (or backyard) they have a few roadside cafe type tables whereas the guests not in a hurry are either reading, smoking or chatting there.

What impresses me most are 2 things, one I like and one I don't.

What I like most is the owner, a Thai lady in her 40s (I guess, but I am not good in guessing women's age) she is an expert in PR. When she is not busy with the bills and accounting or payments, she always spend time outside talking to the guests. Even though I spent only 2 days at this guesthouse, every time I ran into her, she always had group of audience listening to her talking. She was quite charismatic in drawing the guests attention to. The way she talked was very calm and convincing, not the gossip type blah blah blah. I was surprise to see so many foreigners, men and women, sitting patiently and chatting with her all the time. If she quits this job, make sure some Public Relations firms grab her right away.

The prices are reasonable at this guesthouse, still, I prefer an air conditioned room instead of fan. However, the only thing I don't like is this guest house is cash transaction only. I thought I paid for it on the web, but took me quite awhile and several rounds of emails with booking.com to find out this one is cash-only and no other options.

Since I was near the end of my trip in Thailand, my cash situation was kind of tight. If it could be charged to my credit card would enable me with more rooms in food and shopping. But I dont blame them for they are merely a B&B type institute, what do you expect?

After all, the experience with this guest house is a good one if you don't have to bargain with that lady from the kitchen but with the PR expert.

Room Tip: Air conditioned room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here on april 2012, I was alone.
The guest house i located in a central position in chiang rai and in silent courtyard so no noise at all! Close to bus station and 5 minutes walk from night market, clse to other bars on the street.
The guesthouse has a good and pleasant garden where you can have a breakfast or drink something in the night. This garden is an opportunity to meet and talk with other guest if you are alone.
My room was very big but with no hotshower. This was not a problem because in april is very hot. I saw another room smaller and with hotshower.
The room was clean but you have to aks to clean when you need.
The staff was very kind, wifi is available.
I paid 300b per day for room with a double bed, fan, private bathroom and no hotshower.
I did not book the room, it was low season but my room was the last one for 1 person.
I suggest to book in advance if you want to stay there during high season.

I spent 3 days and everything was ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank daquaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good location. Is a five minute walk from the Night Bazaar and the bus station. The place is quiet and calm. The rooms are large. Wi Fi only in the reception area. A lot of mosquitoes, but the doors and windows have mosquito nets. In high season it is necessary to book in advance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kukla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I spent two nights here in a double room with a fan, which was fine for December. The room was quite small and dark - fine for one person, but would have been a squeeze for two. The service was quite impersonal - I had to visit a guest house back up th lane to arrange activities and get information. It was a quiet guest house, so for single travelers not so easy to meet and socialize. The best thing about it is th location - 5 minutes to the night market, bus station, restaurants, internet cafe, etc which makes this place a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Simple rooms around pleasant shady garden with outdoor seating, a good place to chat with other travellers. Easy stroll to all amenities but no traffic noise, only birdsong and butterflies. For 300b my room was clean and comfy for one, but 2 might find it cramped. Very good breakfast in the sunshine. I found all the staff always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank braveheart2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Location was excellent and the manager/owner and staff were very willing, accommodating and friendly.

At 400b/ night we considered this 100 too much when compared with what we have experienced elsewhere.

The good
location near the clock tower which is an excellent ref point for navigation.

Quiet although that depended on the other guests

The Bad
I am sorry to say that our bed caused itching and in the mornings had been bitten. We did express our concern and cleaning bedding
was provided immediately. However the problem was the old and soiled mattress.

Hot water supply depended on who was up first

Services
We did not eat their breakfast but many did.
Wifi had a small disruption of service but TOT related

This appeared to be a popular place so take my experience along
with others



  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank N43W16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.6 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 109 in Chiang Rai
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chiang Rai Hotel
Chiang Rai Hotel
#8 of 172 in Chiang Rai
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chezmoi Homestay
Chezmoi Homestay
#30 of 172 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
3.8 mi away
Jansupar Court
Jansupar Court
#9 of 144 in Chiang Rai
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bua Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bua Guesthouse

Property: Baan Bua Guesthouse
Address: 879/2 Jedyod Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Bua Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Baan Bua Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bua Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing