We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden, community feel - good rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Bua Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 172 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden, community feel - good rooms.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

After a few tries elsewhere, we stumbled across Baan Bua and secured a double air con room. This was very spacious and comfortable but due to our tight budget, we moved to a smaller fan double for our remaining stay - which was perfectly suitable. The owner is a lovely lady, always making polite conversation and has very good communication skills. The coffee is good, nice to sit drinking a cup in the morning listening to the birds and spotting the blue lizards climbing the trees. On our stay there were single travellers, couples and families all staying at Baan Bua which added to the atmosphere. I'd recommend the white temple and hill tribe museum - to admire the tribal culture from afar. We ate most nights at a cage called Ti Amo which has amazing foods Thai and western - try the banana and chocolate shakes. All in all a great guest house and area to stay on for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumpsquigadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    107
    45
    9
    8
See reviews for
9
109
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend chose to stay here as it was a recommended guesthouse in the latest edition of Lonely Planet South East Asia on a Shoestring.
On arrival the lady seemed nice but once we'd paid for our 3nights she didn't really seem interested any more and at times came across quite rude. I've given her the benefit of the doubt as she was 7-8months pregnant but I'm not sure this totally excuses her attitude.
The room was big but the sheets were stained and we had another bed in the room with us which again was covered in stains. There was no tv and the bathroom was average. We paid 400baht a night to stay with a fan room - we've had better for the same and less.
During the first night I woke up to feel something quite big (for a bug) crawling on my arm, I was too scared to turn on the light so just killed it. There was a pop when I squashed it and in the morning when we woke the sheets where I'd squashed the bug had quite a large patch of blood on. I then noticed on my boyfriends back what looked like a rash at first but he complained of it being itchy. After the second night the bites had spread across the top of his back, shoulders and down his upper arms. We suspected bed bugs so had a good search of the sheets and low and behold we found some!
We got our sheets changed but it didn't seem to make a difference as he had more bites the next morning and I'd also got a few now too. This is the first time in our 9weeks of travelling we've had a bed bug problem.
I would advise staying somewhere else, there are plenty of other options and it seems that every Lonely Planet recommendation we stay at, these are always poorer quality than anything we find ourselves.
The only good thing about this place is there's a great bookshop called Orn's bookshop just around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1hel2dan3ig4hosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here as a solo traveller for six nights. The bonus to me was the central but quiet location at the end of a backlane, yet only one minute away from the bars and restaurants on the main street. The night market is about 6 minutes away. Pleasant seating in the tropical garden, where you can meet other travellers, but beware the mosquitos in the evenings. They have good breakfasts and drinks can be bought until 11pm. Wifi is available.
The rooms are quite large, with basic furniture, mine had 3 beds in it. Some rooms have airconditioning, some only ceiling fans. I didn't encounter any mosquitos inside. Bathroom and toilet could use more cleaning, but was adequate when compared with similar guest houses. The room cleaning and fresh sheets happened "on demand" in my case.
The owner picked me from the airport in the evening for 200 Baht. Taxis can be hard to come by at certain times, as only metered taxis are allowed to pick-up passengers inside the airport area. Some people resorted to walk to the road outside the airport in the hope of finding a taxi or tuktuk.
I was also given good advise about various day trips and the lady organised a mountain trekking tour.

Room Tip: You don't need the aircon during the November to March season, unless you want to sleep during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon_S255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Overall, this hostel was fine and as far as budget travel goes, is completely acceptable. However, with the abundance of budget places to stay in this area as well as even further south in the slightly more pricy Chiang Mai, there are other places available for the same price that have more to offer.

The room was a decent size, but the general feeling of the place was that it was a bit run down. The sheets, although clean, were stained and the blanket on the bed was pretty shoddy. The bathroom was clean as well, just a lot of wear and tear. Also, the wifi was not very reliable.

The woman that was in charge was at bit slow and seemed confused when we arrived. It seemed like it went beyond a language barrier. However, she did let us keep our bags in the office after we had checked out so we could explore the city before leaving without having to lug around all our stuff.

Overall, there is nothing horrible I would say about this place, but if you book early, you may want to spend a few extra dollars for someplace a bit more updated or maintained.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caileigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Spacious rooms, very friendly staff, good breakfasts, free internet and close to bars and restaurants. What more can you ask for? Oh yes - great rates. They can also organise tours. We did the river boat ride to the elephant camp. Great fun.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closest to office for best Wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macca2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very good value, and friendly staff. The rooms were clean and the morning coffe in the garden tested soo nice :) It is very close to the center, but kind of separated so you dont hear all the city noise - only the birds fom the garden.
They serve breakfast but my personal opinion is that it is a bit overpraised ( Actually everywhere in Chiang Rai breakfasts seem to be more expensive than in other places we have been). In fairness I have to admit, that the pancakes with fruits are vey tasty and filling!
The staff is very honest, friendly and helpful - we have left our big rucksacks there for 7 days while traveling the Golden Triangle Loop. They were also very ok with keeping our bear in their fridge.

Room Tip: They have wireless close to the reception and in the rooms that are adjacent and close to the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gercik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Clean, and close to town, Tiem our hostess was very helpful. Tiem has excellent english, and gave us plenty of helpful suggestions. Although there is no TV or Fridge in the rooms, Tiem offered to put some of our warm beer in her fridge, and replaced it with some cold ones.
The breakfast if very good, with a huge range of things to choose from the menu, and at very reasonable prices.
It is off a side lane, and in a very quiet locaiton. There is not really a communal living area, or Wifi, but I was really pleased with the location, and price. We stayed only the one night, and was great for what it was.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.6 mi away
Ben Guesthouse
Ben Guesthouse
#20 of 109 in Chiang Rai
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Belle Hotel
La Belle Hotel
#34 of 109 in Chiang Rai
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chiang Rai Hotel
Chiang Rai Hotel
#8 of 172 in Chiang Rai
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chezmoi Homestay
Chezmoi Homestay
#30 of 172 in Chiang Rai
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bua Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bua Guesthouse

Property: Baan Bua Guesthouse
Address: 879/2 Jedyod Road, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Bua Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Baan Bua Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bua Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing