We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Liked It.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phowadol Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phowadol Resort and Spa
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We Liked It.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We thought we would use the pool more but never got in. lol. It was a gorgeous pool and the grounds looked great but there was just too much to see and do. The restaurant had great food in both western and Thai style foods. The prices were really good as well. We couldn't domplain about the food at all. Transport to the town center is a little expensive for a family and so is the airport transfer but if you can make buddies with a tuk tuk or taxi driver (not hard to do) then they can come pick you up. That is what we did. Rooms were big and the bathrooms spotless. Seemed very slow while we were there but it is a big place and hard to tell.
My wife went to the spa. She said it was "ok". Which is a bummer for almost a 1000 baht. Other than that, it was a really good place for our family.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge in a regular hotel room, It was great, but there are a lot of different bunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTroyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montri D, Manager at Phowadol Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much. We hope to welcome you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    91
    61
    30
    6
See reviews for
33
86
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This has nice views over the rice fields and the restaurant does a very popular all you can eat brunch for buttons. Very friendly staff, and in a nice quiet area. You do need transport or ask them to get you it to get into town though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
230 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group through Smartours. The hotel is out of town so be prepared to pay for transport to and from the hotel if you want to go into town. This hotel is not aging gracefully and it can be seen in the upkeep of the resort and its buildings. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Be careful with the shower. It is in what I would describe as something that is suppose to be a tub but looks like a cow trough (I grew up on a farm, I do now what they look like), it has high sides and is dangerous getting in and out – especially if you have any mobility issues. While there is a tub, there is no faucet only the shower head.

The breakfast buffet is limited for vegetarians. Hot dishes are cold – like the veggie fried rice. I recommend staying away from the bread and from the orange drink – not sure what it is but it is not juice. For a country where you can get great freshly squeezed juice on the street for 20 baht I have never understood what this orange drink is and why it is served.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Isa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Absolutely loved the place :) The only fault I could find here was the spa bath didn't work... Spent a week in their cabins down by the pool, room was large and well appointed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. A little out of the way but transport was never a problem, if you want to get out of the way and enjoy north of Thailand then Chiang Rai is worth a visit and this hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: Bungalows down by the pool are the best for comfort and privacy... Book well in advance as this pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billshere C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
478 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We came here as part of a tour and didn't feel dropped off at all...our room had rich wood, it was clean and had a painted sliding panel in the wall between the room and the bathroom. We took advantage of the great swimming pool to cool off and loved the spa. We both had massages each night we were there. I will say that the on site restaurant could really improve on their service and the quality of the food...the staff was overwhelmed when some of us tried to order from the ala cart menu, they seem to be tied to the buffet style of service and took forever to cook our food. Would we go back to this hotel?...Definitely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takarehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I simply loved this place, not because it was all perfect but it just was a great place to stay. The rooms are situated in seperate littlecootages, one room on the ground floor and one room at the first floor. The room itself is decorated in a kind of japanese style (don't know if all the rooms are like this) It's not all luxery but it's clean and just feels cosy and special. The room has AC, large screen tv and safe deposit box
The gardens on the resort are beautiful There is a bar open untill 11.00 pm
They serve an excellent breakfast and we had dinner twice (buffet) and had no complains.
There is a swimming pool with beds and a towel service.
The hotel is situated outside the town in the midst of nature.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphy_Sittard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

On a Smartour program. They dropped us off here last night-- in the middle of nowhere, with a poor excuse for a restaurant our only resort for supper. It was too late to take the very overpriced shuttle from here to town--? 5-6 km. from here. We ordered fairly safely. Chicken satay, Pad Thai, and Red curry with beef. The appetizer came third, and the chicken could not have been harder or dryer if it had spent the day in the desert - unedible- we sent it back-- something we have rarely done in all of our travels. The Pad Thai was fine, not great and the beef in the curry was also so tough we just removed it after a few attempts at chewing it. The wi-fi worked for my husband last night, but to get my Ipad to connect, we had to go to the lobby to connect-- I'm hoping it will continue now that we are back in the room. The rooms are clean, a little dark, and my view is of an empty lot behind the large building. Trust me I would never pick this for myself, and am annoyed that Smartours has put us here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamnnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Rai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
9.5 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
1.9 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
2.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.7 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phowadol Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phowadol Resort and Spa

Property: Phowadol Resort and Spa
Address: 183 Moo 3 | Rimkok, Muang District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phowadol Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Resort in northern Thailand, Chiang Rai, Chiangrai Province, focusing on the charms of a northern village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Phowadol Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phowadol Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing