We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
90
44
15
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
90
44
15
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 153 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2015

We stayed in a private room for 1 night before we headed north to the border but after checking in we wished we could stay longer. Happynest is the kind of boutique hostel you'd get in a large city with all the basics thought out and done very well. I can't recommend this place enough it stands out from every other hostel we've stayed at in Asia.

Pros:
Nice modern industrial decor
Clean rooms
Good showers
Great breakfast
Free wifi
Bag storage
Small kitchens on every floor
Free water
Friendly staff

Cons:
Roadside rooms are a little noisy
Wifi wasn't the best

Room tip: The windows let in a lot of noise so if you're a light sleeper ask for a room towards the back of the building
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rhys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2015

Stayed at HappyNest for one night and I cannot rave enough about the decor. It is great. Vintage typewriter, modern and clean. It's like West Elm and Pottery Barn mated here. And they play great music in the common area.

Location is okay. It's a bit of a walk from the bus station (but easy) and the night market or walking street. If you're tired from walking all day, get a tuk Tuk, as maps make the hostel look closer than it is.

Staff is good but hit or miss, The language barrier was high with a few people but everyone was accommodating. You have three options for breakfast too, my Western breakfast was good and included in the room rate. The towels provided were nice and fluffy too. Wifi was pretty reliable as well. There's a 100 baht deposit for the room key. Also there aren't a ton of food options around the hostel and no place to buy water so plan accordingly.

Beds are mattresses on the floor, you are provided linens to make the bed too. Despite how they look, they are actually pretty fluffy and comfortable, a surprise for Southeast Asia.

Lockers are more for display than function, but you can use your own lock but you won't be able to fit a hiking backpack in it, just valuables and small stuff.

For the decor alone, I would stay here again, but $12/night for Chiang Rai and the location seems a bit expensive.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Bayjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2015

I stayed for one night at HappyNest Hostel in February 2015. It was very clean and super cute. It felt like a place that might be in San Francisco, however it was very pricey for Thailand. For the same price, I could have had my own room at other guesthouses. The staff were all very friendly and spoke English exceptionally well. I thought it was a bit strange that they had you make your own bed and I understand what someone meant by the bed being too soft. It was almost like it didn't have springs so if you sat down too hard, you could feel the frame underneath. Comfortable enough to sleep on though! Each bed had its own outlet, light, and locker. The air conditioning worked well in the room! Wifi was so so. It is about a 10 minute walk from the bus station. The Western breakfast was better than the usual continental. Overall, if the price point were a bit better I would definitely go back!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

I really don't know where to start with this hostel. The place is excellent, the decor inside is to die for. With old typewriters inside and beautiful furniture, the owner has created a peaceful place for customers to relax and very quickly feel at home.

Breakfast is included in the room price and is good, it's a little different from the standard hostel breakfast too. Which is a nice change.

The beds are comfy and the showers are hot, and towels are on demand without a silly deposit or anything like most hostels.

All of the staff are very helpful, they helped me with various maps and gave me as much advice as possible.

Spend a little extra and stay here for a night, you really won't regret it. Especially if you want to get a few old school pictures and a good nights sleep.

5*

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank jackharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2015

Quite, warm & unique hostel. Very near to the Old bus station. (400m away). Very helpful and informative staff (Ek & Phim). I'm will strongly recommend this hostel to all my friends & relative who wish to come to Chiang Rai.

Sunday Night Bazaar is about 1-2km from the hostel. Tire after the walk? Can take tuk2 which cost 80baht per tuk2 to send you back to the hostel.

Anyway, this place is really worth for what you've paid!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catheryn1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews