We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms not designed with travelers in mind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mantrini Boutique Resort
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel, which is located somewhat out of town, is clean and pleasant. However our room has NOT ONE drawer and only a single shelf in the small closet. We are here for three nights, and must live out of our suitcases! Also, there are no hooks in the bathroom on which to hang a towel or a robe. Our room is on the first floor looking out on to the pool so we need to pull our heavy drapes to have any privacy...perhaps some frosted glass would help. On the positive side, the staff has been helpful and the laundry service superb.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for The Mantrini Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 184 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance from a large shopping centre in Chiangrai and chained supermarket. So, that's convenient for guests. Yet it is quiet, more or less like a resort. The three storied building surrounds a small swimming pool. Its design gives an open and casual look with taste. Food is acceptable. But some rooms have stuffy smell from curtain. Complimentary electric kettle, instant tea and coffee are available in the room.

Room Tip: Any room is equally quiet. Some may like pool view room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice friendly place, not ideally located unless you want Chiang Rai shopping plaza, but it has a clean pool, nice rooms and attentive staff. The restaurant serves breakfast which is passable but not great which seems to be a consistent trend in Thailand.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel was booked for us so we had no idea what it would be like. What a sigh of relief when we found it to be a clean, friendly hotel.

It was bizarrely quiet, guest wise, so the atmosphere was rather odd. Nonetheless, the rooms were clean and modern and the bathrooms well stocked. The staff at the front desk were fabulously helpful, though in the breakfast restaurant the following morning the staff there were somewhat lacking in both their English and their service. Breakfast itself was good with a good range of items available. No herbal/green teas though.

All that said, it was great for our last night before heading to the airport (an easy 15minute Bach rode away) and worked as a good base for getting into chiang rai for the evening (50 baht in a tuk tuk).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apronannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We chose this accommodation because it was difficult to find interconnecting or family rooms in Chiang Rai. We travel with 3 kids (5,6,9) the location out of the town centre was good , across the road is a big C supermarket super centre with a food court and 3 min walk is central plaza a large mall with excellent food stalls.
The hotel itself has potential but seemed dead when we were there. Hardly a soul staying! The pool area was nice. Skeleton staff and no real welcome. We were asked to pay the full cost of the four nights up front...perhaps they have had people leave. Good accommodation Average service.
Breakfast was extensive but average.

For more of a boutique or homely feel in Chiang Rai this is not the place.

Room Tip: Upper floor will have more light.
Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank queenminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been stay at Mantrini Boutique Resort for 02 nights on 28 - 30 DEC 12. Overall is good positive. May I recap as follow;

Pro+
1. Location - hotel located in the city centre with 10 mins and THB 100 by Tuk Tuk to Night Bazaar or walking Street. 05 mins walk to Central Chiangrai Shopping Center.

2.Room - Very good size with 4 star amenities that you need. Room is bright & clean. Deluxe come with nice pool view with balcony on 2nd floor, walking access to pool on 1st floor. Superior Room is no view

3. Breakfast - Enough choice for 04 star hotels, a special plus for Thai Selections

4. Friday Night - they have handicraft market with some music available every friday with very chill, cozy and relax :)

Cons -

1. Swimming Pool - is too small

2. Service - No coffee serve at table, you have to get from station and very slow to collect dirty plate.

Overall, this is a good 4 star boutique hotel if you have a chance to stay at CHiangrai

Room Tip: Book A deluxe Room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nattawut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is an artsy hotel and we loved it. The staff are super friendly and the decoration is superb, very pretty, We haven't tried the restuarant but we love the hotel, it's handy for the Central shopping mall although you need a taxi to get into town. Rooms are lovely too.

Room Tip: quieter at the back
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UlfSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.5 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Vista Hotel Chiangrai
Grand Vista Hotel Chiangrai
#15 of 109 in Chiang Rai
60 reviews
5.0 mi away
Teak Garden Spa Resort
Teak Garden Spa Resort
#12 of 109 in Chiang Rai
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 109 in Chiang Rai
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
512 reviews
1.6 mi away
De Hug Hotel & Residence
De Hug Hotel & Residence
#10 of 109 in Chiang Rai
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mantrini Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mantrini Boutique Resort

Address: 292 Moo 13, Robwiang | Muang District, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $39 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mantrini Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the heart of city center, The Mantrini offers a unique perspective of hospitality that blends the essence of Lanna with modern day travelers. All rooms are designed with space, function, and comfortability in mind. A wide range of services and amenities are available to keep you most comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mantrini Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mantrini Boutique Hotel Chiang Rai
Mantrini Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing