We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laluna Hotel and Resort
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Reviewed September 18, 2011

A good place for stopover. Breakfast begins from 6am unlike other hotels,which means that you can still have a decent brekkie if you have an early check out. The restaurant also opens till midnight and the food was good.The front desk was very helpful.We were on transit to Laos and had booked for a minivan to pick us up very early in the morning to take us to the frontier but unfortunately, there was a misunderstanding and the driver did not show up.The guy at the front desk, on his own initiative, immediately took charge of all the phone calls to the agency which was supposed to organise the pick up. we finally got the minibus just in time to get to our boat at the Thai/Laofrontier. He was a real gem!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank minili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 910 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

I just spent one night there and totally loved it. Great clean room, lovely pool, quick service, helpful staff and good food. The only thing is the location, a bit away from the city centre, but I did walk to it and took about 20 minutes so not a major problem (there are plenty of tuc tuc that would take you anywhere). Great place to relax!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferdinando70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Laluna Hotel and Resort provides comfortable and spacious rooms, with a large wall-mounted TV in the bedroom. Garden-style paths lined with tropical plants and trees provide privacy between each room. The pool is also surrounded by tropical trees and offers a nice respite from the humidity and heat after a day's tour in Chiang Rai's heat.

Although the hotel lacks a gym, most guests are probably eager to discover the sights of Chiang Rai and participate in all-day tours. The front lobby has a professional travel agency with friendly staff who helped us organize all-day tours to the Golden Triangle, as well as a wonderful day at a traditional Thai cooking school.

There are convenient taxis and truck-style taxis, in which you sit with many other guests in the back of the truck, that can take you on the 15 minute drive to Chiang Rai's wonderful Night Market which has many shops and nearby restaurants.

Laluna Hotel also has a great buffet breakfast each morning, and a convenient restaurant with an outdoor patio to enjoy lunch, dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AjarnDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed there for a few days. Nice garden, good breakfast, rooms were o.k. I loved their big pillows!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank somkhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for four nights in total with one-night away in between during which the hotel was happy to store our bags and let me keep the safety deposit box we’d rented (50bht for the duration).

This is definitely one of the prettiest hotels we’ve stayed in – the landscaping is beautiful with all sorts of tropical plants lining the pathways to the rooms. The room was great, easily accommodating an extra bed, and plenty of room for our luggage. There’s a large swimming pool which was very refreshing after a day of sightseeing.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was an extensive buffet that had something to suit each of us. They also offer a variety of drinks – hot chocolate, cappuccino etc. for an extra charge.

Safety deposit boxes are available to rent in lockers by reception rather than in the room. The rental charge is just 50 bht for your stay. The hotel does offer laundry but as with other places, it’s less expensive to take your laundry outside the hotel and there are a couple of laundry places literally steps away from the hotel.

There were some irritations – on several occasions when I was given our bill to sign, the waitress didn’t bring a pen with her; milk for tea was brought in a tea cup making it impossible to pour without spilling; and the biggest one being serving a cocktail in a glass shaped as a naked woman, which I found to be in very poor taste :(

The location is good – just a 60bht tuktuk from the night market.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Very nice hotel where we staid with our 3 children for 4 nights. We had 2 rooms side-by-side, which were exactly the same: twin-beds, air conditioning, flat TV screen, fridge, bathroom with shower...Lots of trees and p lants give a kindle of mini-jungle atmosphere which is nice. The swimming pool has a jacuzzi in one corner, towels are available there.
Breakfast is buffet style with decent quality. Staff is friendly.. We ordered a massage (foot for my wife, thai for me) in our room, the two ladies showed up 10 min afoter, and we had 1.5 hour of fantastic experience!
PS: standard room come with twin beds, superior have queen size, pool side view doesn't make much of a difference

Room Tip: Ask for a room not tooi far from the swimming pool.. but don't pay the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AldoPak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Spent 8 days at Laluna hotel in April 2011, firstly the hotel is located 1 mile outside the city center and only a 15 minute walk. The hotel rooms are very clean big and with a lovely walk in shower.
The breakfast is the usual fare in Thailand not great but not bad for the price you pay,
Internet is free from all rooms and works extremely fast,
The pool is medium size but very clean and safe.
The only negative i can think of is there is no pool side waiters you have to phone the on site cafe to get a drinks or something to eat
Overall i would say for the money i paid through Agoda is well worth it.

Room Tip: Look after the cleaners because they are brilliant and get paid so little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADECOVENTRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.2 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
872 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
225 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
Hi Chiangrai Hotel
#9 of 108 in Chiang Rai
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laluna Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laluna Hotel and Resort

Address: 160 Moo 14 Sanambin Rd. Muang Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $39 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laluna Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laluna Hotel & Resort has 79 modern Thai style bungalows that are fully equipped with international standard amenities. When you stay at Laluna Hotel & Resort you will feel like staying in a lush tropical garden. Our warm and friendly staff are always available to assist and help make your stay with us a memorable one. Our facilities include a large lagoon swimming pool, restaurant, buffet breakfast complex and conference center. Laluna Hotel & Resort with its tropical style gardens is both quiet and private perfect for that relaxing getaway and only a 5 min drive or 15 minute walk from the heart of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Laluna Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laluna Hotel Chiang Rai
Laluna Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing