We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of NANGNON COFFEE

NANGNON COFFEE
Ranked #3 of 25 Coffee & Tea in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“First rate coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I recently moved to Chiang Rai, and this has become my favorite coffee shop. The espresso drinks are first rate, and the owner is charming. She also speaks English quite well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    22
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Nice little cafe own and run by a well trained barista. (We were told that if you go by the place and the girl is not there, don't go in. The man doesn't know how to make coffee!) Very friendly and good latte art thrown in with free smiles. Good brownies too!

Helpful?
1 Thank DLeong133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hug in a cup. Paradise on a plate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Nevermind that the coffee shop owner, A'tu is just so lovely and friendly, the shop itself is welcoming with lovely decor. Make sure to get your picture with A'tu for her 'Thanks for visiting' wall.
The coffee is grown and roasted by her family in their village. She was also trained as a barista by khun Lee of Akha Ama Coffee fame. The coffee is lovely and the brownies are a definite must!
Drop in for a visit. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KittyCleopatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Okay coffee, but not as amazing as the reviews imply”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I'm from Wellington, New Zealand, so am used to a ridiculously high ratio of cafes all producing high standards of coffee.

I don't expect the same standard in Thailand, but when I saw all the 5 star reviews for this place I made sure I checked it out while in Chiang Rai.

It's quite a boxy location and you can tell it's family run as it has a nice personalised vibe unlike the major franchise coffee joints.

The beans were good but the extraction wasn't so much. It's running on a tiny little machine and I imagine it doesn't have the piping to provide the necessary pressure. An investment in more infrastructure is required to provide a fine extraction that will stand above others in Chiang Mai.

Not really much going on in terms of food or supporting snacks, so for a specialist coffee shop I'd expect them to excel at their extracts.

I ordered an espresso.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite coffee in Thailand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Tu's family grows their own coffee and it's amazing. The decorations are nice. The music is good. And Tu is very nice as well.

Helpful?
Thank scope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NANGNON COFFEE also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to NANGNON COFFEE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing