We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely village, nice tea”
Review of Doi Mae Salong

Doi Mae Salong
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.90*
and up
Mae Sai and Mae Salong Day Trip from Chiang Rai
Ranked #4 of 84 things to do in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Doi Mae Salong is a primarily Chinese community that offers a variety of activities. Visitors can take in a morning market, tour General Tuan's Tomb, go to a memorial museum and take in tea tastings while visiting the village.
Kangaroo Valley, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely village, nice tea”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here from Tha Ton, great ride along very scenic roads. We went to a tea plantation on the Northern side of the area. Sampled some really lovely teas and the markets there were good too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BapaCooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    192
    61
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We visited Doi Mae Salong as part of an itinerary through Indochina Odyssey tours, and as such, had a driver and guide take us there from Chiang Rai. It was a beautiful, scenic drive. We stopped at the Tea Plantation # 101 where we were able to wander in the tea fields, where the workers were gathering the morning's leaves. Then we went into the shop where we were able to sample each of the different types of Oolong tea grown there, along with some delicious green tea cake. It was a memorable experience.
After that, we went into the village to wander through the market - many handicrafts, selection of local produce for sampling, and tea pots/cups from China. Some of the local women were dressed in their traditional clothing, and upon asking one of I could take her photo, she grabbed my daughter and gave us a big smile, and THEN it was time to convince us to buy one of her purses. She drove a hard bargain, but we all left with smiles on our faces. This was one of the more memorable days of our time in Thailand.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank delphi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and great markets in the village”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We hired a scooter and rode up to the village, which takes about 2 hours, although it would be quicker in a car. There are 2 ways of getting there - via 1089 highway, or 1130 and 1234, with the later being steeper, but more scenic (we went up via 1130 and returned via 1089). The local markets are great, especially if you want to buy some locally produced dried foods, nuts, wine etc. There are not too many restaurants to pick from, but they are all well priced and have good local dishes. Before leaving, be sure to go up to the Wat Santikhiri temple on the top of the mountain, the views are spectacular, but be prepared to climb a lot of stairs (about 1,000).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery along the way”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The village itself is nice, beautiful tempel and nice vieuws.I went here with a motorbike (100cc which is fine if you have one person on the bike) from Chiang Rai and thecloser you come to Doi Mae Salong, the more magic the scenery. At a certain moment I really felt like in a dream driving through a mountain road with those typical Asian blossom trees (don't know exact name). Pure magic!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rensvdvelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Wat is more modern and beautiful, but the views from the top are breathtaking. It was also not very busy when we were there late in the afternoon. Worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PretoriaTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doi Mae Salong also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Doi Mae Salong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing