We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial River House Resort
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I would go back to Chiang Rai just to stay at this hotel.

Six star at a three star price.

Just a great place to kick back and relax after a day's sight seeing

Rooms are lovely and comfortable, staff very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dancaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Dancaholic,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel longer.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Imperial River House Resort again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial River House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 428 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights in May 2014. I can't recommend this place enough. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble, they were all really friendly. The hotel is very clean and well maintained, the grounds are really lovely to wonder around too. The hotel is quite large considering it only has 36 rooms. The pool is also big and crystal clear, was very refreshing after a bit of sun bathing. It wasn't very busy when we stayed so never had a problem getting a sun lounger, but there aren't many.
The rooms are really big and clean, the bathroom is very spacious, with a separate bath & shower.
The location was not an issue for us, we just used the hotel transport to take us into town, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
There is a good selection at breakfast & we also had lunch a couple of times which was nice, big portions and worth the money.
Unfortunately we stayed when there were several large earthquakes in Chiang Rai. It is very uncommon to get such strong quakes in this area, in fact we later found out that these were the worst for 100yrs in Thailand. It was the first time we had experienced anything like this and was quite scary! The hotel withstood the shaking although there was some damage. The hotel manager & staff were amazing, they couldn't do enough for us. They provided us with complementary dinner & drinks and kept us up to date with the news. Most of the guests ended up sleeping downstairs and by the pool, the staff made sure we were comfortable. They ended up moving everyone to one side of the hotel, we were upgraded to the suite on the fourth floor, it was an amazing room, however being up higher, my wife didn't feel as safe when we had numerous aftershocks. The hotel manager was very helpful and moved us down to the suite on the 1st floor.
I can't recommend this place enough, would defiantly book again if visiting the area.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank j3ffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear j3ffb,

On behalf of our management and team, thank you very much for your kind sharing time to write this positive review. We are very happy to hear your great comments regarding our resort facilities and services as well as an earthquake management at our resort.

As we all know that Chiang Rai is not namely not an earthquake area, however these days nothing is predictable. With our guest safety in mind so please be assured that we will always provide information, assurance and assistance with a some "heart" put into all that matters.

Since everything now is back to normal so I truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Chiang Rai and to stay with us once again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a great experience at Imperial River House Resort. Very friendly staff, and very attentive. The spacious room overlooking the river had everything we needed. It was clean and very comfortable. Great value for money. The grounds were very pleasant and easy to walk around, taking in the views and the beautiful shrubbery.
However, we were there in April after the " busy" tourist season so we might have been spoiled I think!
The only issue was that the pool pumps had packed in so the pool was out of action for a few days at the end of our stay and it was very hot! Nevertheless I would recommend this resort to anyone staying in Chaing Rai- a real find and we would definitely stay here again! Can't wait!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear S and A Hunter,

Thank you very much for your kind taking time to share your great experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are very appreciated with all of your comments and please accept our sincere apology once again for the incident that happened with our swimming pool over that time.

We truly hope that we will have a chance to welcoming you back here again for your next visit to Chiang Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Sometimes "resort " can be deceptive and a misnomer. Imperial River resort was indeed a very nice resort. Great friendly staff. Nice clean room and bath. Excellent restaurant. A quiet oasis. Very clean pool. And they make a excellent pina colada!! Would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLB830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear DLB830,

On behalf of our management and team, thank you very much for your kind sharing time to write this positive review. Since it is our pride to make every moment of our discerning and loyal clientele like yours enjoyable so we are very happy to hear your great comments regarding our resort facilities and services. Thank you very much for given us such a big encouragement!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome and to serve the beautiful Pina Colada again to you once again for your next visit to Chiang Rai.

Sincerely,
Pimonphat J.(Tui)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The staff were all pleasant and welcoming. Fast, efficient check in and check out. We were originally given room 406, which was pleasant enough and had two opening windows, but had no balcony - only the rooms and the end of each storey did. We asked to upgrade to a balcony room and paid the extra - another $AUD57 a night - but it was a fantastic room, great views, very private and a huge bathroom, if you are going to stay here, then my advice is pay up for a balcony room. There was no Thai influence that we could discern in the hotel, possibly a slight Chinese one, but in essence, pretty featureless.

Other reviewers have commented that the hotel is isolated. We borrowed the hotel's two bikes twice and biked to Chiang Rai, it took us 15 minutes. At the edge of urban CR is the police station, and both times we asked the sentry at the police station if we could leave the bikes there while we explored on foot, no problem, thus we were not isolated from CR itself. It is true though, that should you want to go and eat street side or explore local markets then there simply isn't anything there. That probably works out well for the hotel restaurant, which serves good, if bland food; and one simply can't fault the service. Breakfast was good, bacon seemed to be available alternate mornings.

On arrival on 9th April, we used the pool and noticed immediately it was a strange colour and slimy. When we moved to our top floor 412 room and looked down on the pool it was very obvious how dirty it was. One morning half it was cleaned and we were surprised to see there were two seats in the pool - we hadn't been able to see that before. The effort to clean up half may have been to much for the equipment though, as the pool (and there is only one) remained closed the whole of yesterday, 13th and was still closed today when we left.

There are no brochures for tours in the lobby but when you open the hotel guest info folder in your room, the hotel does list tours it arranges, in there. The trip we wanted to do to the golden triangle was charged at the rate of baht 3420 plus 7%VAT each; we found the exact tour for baht1000 each, no VAT, and it was a very professional operation. Be wary.

They treated us well, the service all throughout the hotel was delightful (and the pool problem is probably due to a lack of expertise, rather than just poor service). It IS isolated if you like to potter about locally, especially in the evenings; there is simply nowhere to go and nothing to do if you don't got in to Chiang Rai. We would not stay here again for that reason.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank womblewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear womblewa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I do sincerely apologise for the incident that happened with our swimming pool from that you were experienced during your stay. As mentioned in the noticement letter that the heavy strom has damaged some part of our water treatment system while the retreatment process of our swimming pool is still on process. The incident that happened is in fact our of our control so please accept our sincere apology once again.

Thank you very much again for your kind generous review and we will try our best to improve our tour programs and other services to be better and more variety in the future. I and my team look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

A nice, spotless, modern hotel, with a good spa, pool and restaurant. Staff were very helpful, and rooms high standard. But somehow sterile and cheerless - made more so by its isolation in a run-down neighborhood across the river from town (ie it is neither in town, nor in the countryside, but in a crumbling suburb). It would probably suit big tour groups or small business conventions.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank tombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear tombat,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate with your positive and encouraging review.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. In fact, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our resort. Even though our riverside resort is only 10 minutes away from airport and town center but we still hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai and to stay in our property once again in the future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The Hotel/Resort is large well appointed with and beautiful outlook over the river. The rooms are very large and well furnished and all have a river outlook. Bathroom is large, well designed and with quality fittings. Their only restaurant is open all day from breakfast. Pool is large and well maintained as is the gym.

Location is about a 50 Baht, 10 minute taxi ride from the city. They do have a few bikes available if you would like to ride around the local countryside. There is a local market about 15 minutes walk and a small shopping strip the same distance in the other direction. As there were rain storms each evening we used the hotels restaurant for dinner.

We arranged for a long boat to take us up river to the “elephant ride”. They pick you and return you to the hotel’s river bank jetty. The journey time is an interesting and fun 40 minutes each way.

The hotel provided a free transfer to the airport.

For any future visit we would choose a location within walking distance of the city centre. (We love shopping).

Room Tip: As there are limited eating options at the start of the day include Breakfast in the booking.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Austraveller 49,

Thank you very much for your kind generous comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort and truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai.

Looking very much forward to being at your service again in the nearly future. Take care!

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.0 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
1.1 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 109 in Chiang Rai
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
0.2 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $80 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing