We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chiang Rai oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial River House Resort
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chiang Rai oasis”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Sometimes "resort " can be deceptive and a misnomer. Imperial River resort was indeed a very nice resort. Great friendly staff. Nice clean room and bath. Excellent restaurant. A quiet oasis. Very clean pool. And they make a excellent pina colada!! Would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLB830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear DLB830,

On behalf of our management and team, thank you very much for your kind sharing time to write this positive review. Since it is our pride to make every moment of our discerning and loyal clientele like yours enjoyable so we are very happy to hear your great comments regarding our resort facilities and services. Thank you very much for given us such a big encouragement!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome and to serve the beautiful Pina Colada again to you once again for your next visit to Chiang Rai.

Sincerely,
Pimonphat J.(Tui)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    161
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
81
221
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
334 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The staff were all pleasant and welcoming. Fast, efficient check in and check out. We were originally given room 406, which was pleasant enough and had two opening windows, but had no balcony - only the rooms and the end of each storey did. We asked to upgrade to a balcony room and paid the extra - another $AUD57 a night - but it was a fantastic room, great views, very private and a huge bathroom, if you are going to stay here, then my advice is pay up for a balcony room. There was no Thai influence that we could discern in the hotel, possibly a slight Chinese one, but in essence, pretty featureless.

Other reviewers have commented that the hotel is isolated. We borrowed the hotel's two bikes twice and biked to Chiang Rai, it took us 15 minutes. At the edge of urban CR is the police station, and both times we asked the sentry at the police station if we could leave the bikes there while we explored on foot, no problem, thus we were not isolated from CR itself. It is true though, that should you want to go and eat street side or explore local markets then there simply isn't anything there. That probably works out well for the hotel restaurant, which serves good, if bland food; and one simply can't fault the service. Breakfast was good, bacon seemed to be available alternate mornings.

On arrival on 9th April, we used the pool and noticed immediately it was a strange colour and slimy. When we moved to our top floor 412 room and looked down on the pool it was very obvious how dirty it was. One morning half it was cleaned and we were surprised to see there were two seats in the pool - we hadn't been able to see that before. The effort to clean up half may have been to much for the equipment though, as the pool (and there is only one) remained closed the whole of yesterday, 13th and was still closed today when we left.

There are no brochures for tours in the lobby but when you open the hotel guest info folder in your room, the hotel does list tours it arranges, in there. The trip we wanted to do to the golden triangle was charged at the rate of baht 3420 plus 7%VAT each; we found the exact tour for baht1000 each, no VAT, and it was a very professional operation. Be wary.

They treated us well, the service all throughout the hotel was delightful (and the pool problem is probably due to a lack of expertise, rather than just poor service). It IS isolated if you like to potter about locally, especially in the evenings; there is simply nowhere to go and nothing to do if you don't got in to Chiang Rai. We would not stay here again for that reason.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank womblewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear womblewa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I do sincerely apologise for the incident that happened with our swimming pool from that you were experienced during your stay. As mentioned in the noticement letter that the heavy strom has damaged some part of our water treatment system while the retreatment process of our swimming pool is still on process. The incident that happened is in fact our of our control so please accept our sincere apology once again.

Thank you very much again for your kind generous review and we will try our best to improve our tour programs and other services to be better and more variety in the future. I and my team look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

A nice, spotless, modern hotel, with a good spa, pool and restaurant. Staff were very helpful, and rooms high standard. But somehow sterile and cheerless - made more so by its isolation in a run-down neighborhood across the river from town (ie it is neither in town, nor in the countryside, but in a crumbling suburb). It would probably suit big tour groups or small business conventions.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear tombat,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate with your positive and encouraging review.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. In fact, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our resort. Even though our riverside resort is only 10 minutes away from airport and town center but we still hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai and to stay in our property once again in the future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The Hotel/Resort is large well appointed with and beautiful outlook over the river. The rooms are very large and well furnished and all have a river outlook. Bathroom is large, well designed and with quality fittings. Their only restaurant is open all day from breakfast. Pool is large and well maintained as is the gym.

Location is about a 50 Baht, 10 minute taxi ride from the city. They do have a few bikes available if you would like to ride around the local countryside. There is a local market about 15 minutes walk and a small shopping strip the same distance in the other direction. As there were rain storms each evening we used the hotels restaurant for dinner.

We arranged for a long boat to take us up river to the “elephant ride”. They pick you and return you to the hotel’s river bank jetty. The journey time is an interesting and fun 40 minutes each way.

The hotel provided a free transfer to the airport.

For any future visit we would choose a location within walking distance of the city centre. (We love shopping).

Room Tip: As there are limited eating options at the start of the day include Breakfast in the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Austraveller 49,

Thank you very much for your kind generous comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort and truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai.

Looking very much forward to being at your service again in the nearly future. Take care!

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed in February for 3 nights. We were welcomed by lovely friendly staff and delighted in the peaceful tranquility of the hotel and surroundings after the bustle of 4 nights in Bangkok. The room was huge and like other reviewers we loved the bathroom. It was a delight to return to this hotel after a day sightseeing, relaxing by the beautiful pool for a couple of hours before enjoying a cocktail on the terrace overlooking the Kok river. The hotel operates a shuttle service into the centre of Chiang Rai at your convenience for 100bahts per room ( less than £2) and if you want a return journey you ring the hotel when you're ready. We walked back once it took about 40mins. There are plenty of taxis or tut tut's if you prefer to use them. The breakfast in my opinion was perfectly acceptable given the size of the hotel and restaurant. I enjoyed mine each morning, no complaints. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening so can't comment on the quality of the food but the menu looked appealing and had we stayed longer would definitely have eaten there. I was sorry to leave, would have liked to stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley-Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Lesley-Jane H,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to stay at our hotel longer.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Imperial River House Resort again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This Resort is nice, overlooking the Kok River with a large pool and good gym room. I enjoyed the fact that the bathroom had a bath, but overlooking the river came with the usual problem of mosquitoes. When I went to use the gym early in the morning the mozzies were coming into the gym, also on the balcony at dusk they were bad. The town is a good 10 minute drive, and when we used the hotel car they charged us per room as there were 4 of us (although it was one trip in their car), returning we used a taxi and paid half the price of the hotel car. I think the hotel should look at providing a free courtesy shuttle as it is not a cheap hotel to stay in. The breakfast was quite limited but okay.

The hotel had all no smoking rooms, but the balconies had large fountains of sand for smokers, so smokers could smoke all along the balcony and our room was at the end with about 8 people smoking on the way which we had to get through the smog and nearly choked on the way to our room. The people in our corridor were from a tour bus and the following morning one person elected himself wakeup person, and came banging on all the doors in our corridor, then after all the banging he proceeded to open the fire door opposite our door and stand there smoking which wafted into our room maybe through the air con, or door surrounds, at 5.30 am. Not what one wants from an expensive resort, but I think this was out of the control of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Jan F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it as it assists us with improving the quality of our products and services.

I do sincerely apologise for an unusual circumstances from other clients that you were experienced at our resort and I will certainly take your comments regarding the free courtesy shuttle on board.

Thank you very much again for your kind generous review with understanding. I and my team look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This will be quick and short and good!
Great room,great location, great pool, great service, great food!
In other words: just great!
Okay, it just might be a bit more ' expensive' compared to other places, but you do get it all!
Loooooooooooooved the bathroom! Great shower and bath after a long day of travel, trekking and touring in the heat?

Room Tip: A bit off track of the citylife but it is also great to be away from all the hustle and bustle of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear terrencets,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate with your positive and encouraging review.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. In fact, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our resort and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai and to stay in our property again in the nearly future!

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.2 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 109 in Chiang Rai
969 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 109 in Chiang Rai
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
1.1 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 109 in Chiang Rai
487 reviews
10.0 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Property: The Imperial River House Resort
Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing