We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial River House Resort
Nearby Hotels
Le Patta(Chiang Rai)
$67
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$89
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$27
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palm Garden Hotel(Chiang Rai)
$22
$14
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nak Nakara(Chiang Rai)
$59
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$30
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Pine Resort(Chiang Rai)
$62
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pa Sak Tong(Chiang Rai)
$1,236
$1,116
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveler rating
240
177
29
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
177
29
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketfree shuttlegolden trianglehotel transportthai hospitalityshuttle servicelarge poolthai stylevery nice hotelnorthern thailandcomfortable roomslow seasonbreakfast buffettowngymtoursofa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 456 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights. Its location on the river, nice grounds around it and the wide open and airy layout make you feel immediately welcome. The rooms are large and well furnished. The moment we stepped out of the room, we had a beautiful view of the river. It is also a short tuk tuk drive away from the centre of the town.

We enjoyed our breakfast in the restaurant (Tara), which overlooks the lovely grounds. The choice of food items, the omlette station and attentive service made the first meal of the day very enjoyable. We also had lunch in the same restaurant, sitting on the patio under an umbrella. All the items we ordered were excellent. These included the Papaya salad, Tom Yum soup, Pad Thai and h Malaysian chicken curry and roti. Every item was prepared fresh and had lot of flavour and tasted wonderful. The cold beer went well with the excellent food.

Our check in check out were handled efficiently.

This is a wonderful place to stay in to relax and enjoy Chiang Rai and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear curiousrover,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing your beautiful moment at our resort. Your review is one of the warm and encouraging comments we have recieved. Thank you so much for highlighting our resort atmosphere, the lovely breakfast and foods at the Tara restaurant as well as the efficiency of our staffs.

It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and I am delighted that we made your stay special and memorable. I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next visit to Chiang Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Visited the Imperial River View Hotel in Chiang Rai in January 2014. This hotel is still a very well maintained clean and efficient establishment and possibly one of the best hotels in Thailand. Staff are courteous and friendly, check in is quick and easy and the setting is beautiful. A very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view of the river.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingsley293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Kingsley 293916,

Thank you very much for these wonderful comments. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and love our resort very much. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our Resort and truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in Chiang Rai and to stay with us once again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Imperial in December 2013. Our standard room was large and comfortable, with views overlooking the pool and the lovely river (all rooms face the river, which is a nice touch.) The service was absolutely excellent. I had tried without success to arrange a rental car for a 3-day road-trip outside of Chiang Rai, and all of the major brands, plus a few smaller local places I tried, were absolutely booked. I called the hotel and they were able to get me a car for the same price. Additionally, the breakfast buffet was excellent. The only tough thing is the location; it's a solid 40-minute walk to town. So we rented a moped (this was much more convenient than the shuttle bus.) But we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river, so you really can't go wrong with any room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilotguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Pilotguy1,

Thank you very much for your warm words and lovely comments towards our resort facilities and services. In fact, we are so happy to learn that your recent stay with us was full of impression. Therefore, it is our pleasure to welcome you as a guest in our resort and truly hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back here again for your next visit to Chaing Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully furnished. The pool looked lovely as well, although it was too cold to use while we were there. The breakfast was better than at most hotels I've stayed in in Thailand. The location on the river is lovely but isn't super convenient because it's on the wrong side so it's a long way to get into town. The hotel does a great job with a cheap shuttle bus, but it would be even better if they had bycicles for guests to use or a boat to ferry people directly across to the other side of the river...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank city0fangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear City0fangels,

On behalf of our management and team, thank you very much for your great comments regarding our facilities and services you were experienced at our resort, I am delighted to know that you enjoyed breakfast as well as it was a pleasure to welcome you at the hotel.
As per your suggestions regarding the bicycle or ferry, these ideas are very useful for our future development purpose. By the way, I truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to Chiang Rai and to stay with us once again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great hotel with huge modern comfortable rooms and a lovely pool. Hotel is out of the central town but a shuttle bus runs regularly into town and the cheap taxi's or tuk tuk's are always available. Also has a gym.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Diane B,

Thank you very much for your kind encouraging comments. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments made me feel very appreciated, thank you so much for your warm words.

Please be assured that we always share all and any guest feedback among our team, and they were particularly pleased. Thank you for taking the time to write down these kind comments.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Imperial River House Resort again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews