We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel in lovely grounds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial River House Resort
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Austwell, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in lovely grounds.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai is a beautiful hotel situated in lovely grounds on the bank of the river. It has a very impressive swimming pool as well as comfortable bedroom and well appointed ensuite.

Breakfast was, as with most hotels in Thailand and elsewhere, the same each day but the a la carte was good. The dining room was very pleasant with views overlooking the river. The staff were very friendly and helpful. With the many attraction of Chiang Rai, including the black and white wats (Buddhist temples), the Imperial is a very good base from which to see the region.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsley293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Khun Kingsley293916,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next visit Chiang Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    167
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
85
223
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just got back from a three day stay in the Imperial River House Resort in Chiang Rai and right away, my spirit was calm...

We had an amazing view of the Kok River and the courtyard with the pool. On the first night, we saw lanterns floating up from the courtyard into the skies, what a nice, quiet way to end a day of exploring the tiny town where we had lunch at the Condoms and Cabbages restaurant. We also went to the night market. Oh, let me go back to the hotel--the staff is very friendly and helpful; our room was big and very comfortable. It was tasteful, elegant, and had a huge picture window.

We also had very good breakfasts, included in our hotel fees. However, they have a restaurant called Tara and we ate two times and both times, we were very, very pleased - the service is polite and prompt yet friendly and the food was very delicious. We love the complexity of the Thai spices and we were not dissappointed.

I recommend this resort!! We got here from Bangkok via Thai Air and it only took an hour or so. We were met by the hotel rep. From here, one can go to the Golden Triangle (we did) and some other trip to the Botanic Garden. I cannot review the Golden Triangle on TripAdvisor on a separate entry but I will say that it was an eye opener-we took a boat trip to Laos and then we drove into the border of Burma. We got into town, look at some temples, and went into the public market where we walked away with a gorgeous wood scuplture wall hanging art. Burma is hot and much poorer than its neighbor but we were met with smiles and people generally left us gringos alone. I was sad to see the poverty but glad that they are able to come into Thailand to work.

In any case, above is just an option. The drive to the Golden Triangle from the hotel is very picturesque. The resort's (Imperial River) garden is beautiful and they have a spa where I promptly fell asleep during my foot massage. I was out most of the time during my body massage and I woke up to a nice cup of ginger tea.

If I go back to Chiang Rai, I will stay in this resort again!! I am still on my vacation and currently cannot post photos but I will. I am now in Bangkok!

Room Tip: Go for the 4th floor! That is where you "float" over the river:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mocha2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Khun Mocha2008,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next visit Chiang Rai.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a great time at this quiet hotel on the river. Large, clean and well appointed room with great view of the Kok River and the pool. The pool was easily the best for swimming that we had encountered in Thailand. The staff was very friendly and helpful while our rather limited Thai wasn't a problem and most people spoke at least some English.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ekke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Khun Ekke 61,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next visit Chiang Rai

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Imperial River House was my base for four nights at the very beginning of a five-stop South East Asia tour. The hotel is situated in a quiet semi-rural riverside location about 10 minutes by taxi from Chiang Rai proper. The property is beautifully maintained with gleaming floors throughout.

All the staff are extremely courteous and helpful, particularly the restaurant staff. The restaurant itself though, like the hotel in general, has a slightly utilitarian feel to it, but having said that, the food is excellent and amazing value. Perhaps this was because the hotel appeared to have very low occupancy during our stay. On the plus side this meant we had the pool and surrounding gardens almost to ourselves – the prefect antidote to jetlag and relaxation.

The rooms are standard fare, all overlook the river but sadly the design of the hotel means that none have balconies. Free (and decent strength) wi-fi is available throughout the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfster_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Khun Garfster_S,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, may I take this opportunity to introduce the Balcony River View Suite (the very nice larger room with big balcony at the corner of each floor) as an alternative for your next time visit. However, we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Room size is very spacious and comfortable. Beds are comfortable. Bedroom and bathroom are clean and spacious. Provide everything you expect like hairdryer, free water, hot coffee and tea. There are shower, large bathtub in Bathroom. Private, Peaceful, calm and good location. Service mind. We will back here for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed Deluxe room and it's perfect and all rooms are nice scenery. Hotel is a single corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LcLk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Khun LekVP,

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just left the Imperial Riverhouse hotel in Chiang Rai, Thailand. We spent five nights at this wonderful resort on the outskirts of downtown Chiang Rai. If you are ambitious, you can walk the 2.5 miles to the city center from the property. We often walked, but the tuk-tuk fare was around 100 baht one way. The resort fulfilled many of our needs: rooms were spacious, clean, and very comfortable; breakfast and other meals were tasty and reasonable; pool area was a major plus; and the staff delightful. I should mention that the breakfast was part of the room rate. If you decide to have clothes cleaned, be aware that it is pretty costly.....think twice about that! A typical rate for high season was nearly $125 so plan for that. Overall, we were super pleased with our stay at the Imperial and would recommend the resort highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Khun Jeffrey49,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. However, we definitely took your comment regarding the laundry price to our attention and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next visit Chiang Rai

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was initially known as River house resort Before it is rebranded I booked this hotel becaue I get special price. The lobby and the pool look great although we didnt have a chance to swim. The hotel is situated next to Kok river and the view there in the morning is absolutely great. Better take a walk there when the sun rise or sun set. On the first night we stayed on the cottages because the room on the main building was fully booked. Thr bed on the cottage was quite dirty. There were several dead ants on mattress. We had to call maid to clean up. The room cannot keep the warm. The floor was too cool too in the morning. The next two night I stayed on the main wing which is a lot better. The room and bathroom is quite large by a standard four stars hotel. The view was great too though theres no balcony. I really like porridge and cheese omelette that is served in the breakfast. Overall it is a really good hotel and probably the best Imperial brand hotel. (I dont really like this brand though because its normal standard is quite low)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itthinan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay wiht us recently. We are very appreciated with all of your comments and sincerely apologized you for all inconveniences that occured during your stay at the cottage. Please be assured that the problems you've faced at the cottage has now brought up to our attention for the improvement purpose.

By the way, we look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J. (Ms.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.1 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
10.0 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
0.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Property: The Imperial River House Resort
Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing