We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in Chiang Rai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial River House Resort
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in Chiang Rai”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Imperial River House was my base for four nights at the very beginning of a five-stop South East Asia tour. The hotel is situated in a quiet semi-rural riverside location about 10 minutes by taxi from Chiang Rai proper. The property is beautifully maintained with gleaming floors throughout.

All the staff are extremely courteous and helpful, particularly the restaurant staff. The restaurant itself though, like the hotel in general, has a slightly utilitarian feel to it, but having said that, the food is excellent and amazing value. Perhaps this was because the hotel appeared to have very low occupancy during our stay. On the plus side this meant we had the pool and surrounding gardens almost to ourselves – the prefect antidote to jetlag and relaxation.

The rooms are standard fare, all overlook the river but sadly the design of the hotel means that none have balconies. Free (and decent strength) wi-fi is available throughout the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfster_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Khun Garfster_S,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. Therefore, may I take this opportunity to introduce the Balcony River View Suite (the very nice larger room with big balcony at the corner of each floor) as an alternative for your next time visit. However, we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the nearly future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    163
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
81
222
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Room size is very spacious and comfortable. Beds are comfortable. Bedroom and bathroom are clean and spacious. Provide everything you expect like hairdryer, free water, hot coffee and tea. There are shower, large bathtub in Bathroom. Private, Peaceful, calm and good location. Service mind. We will back here for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed Deluxe room and it's perfect and all rooms are nice scenery. Hotel is a single corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LcLk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Khun LekVP,

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just left the Imperial Riverhouse hotel in Chiang Rai, Thailand. We spent five nights at this wonderful resort on the outskirts of downtown Chiang Rai. If you are ambitious, you can walk the 2.5 miles to the city center from the property. We often walked, but the tuk-tuk fare was around 100 baht one way. The resort fulfilled many of our needs: rooms were spacious, clean, and very comfortable; breakfast and other meals were tasty and reasonable; pool area was a major plus; and the staff delightful. I should mention that the breakfast was part of the room rate. If you decide to have clothes cleaned, be aware that it is pretty costly.....think twice about that! A typical rate for high season was nearly $125 so plan for that. Overall, we were super pleased with our stay at the Imperial and would recommend the resort highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Khun Jeffrey49,

Thank you very much for your kind sharing time and positive comments in this review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel as well as learning that your stay was enjoyable. However, we definitely took your comment regarding the laundry price to our attention and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next visit Chiang Rai

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J (Ms)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was initially known as River house resort Before it is rebranded I booked this hotel becaue I get special price. The lobby and the pool look great although we didnt have a chance to swim. The hotel is situated next to Kok river and the view there in the morning is absolutely great. Better take a walk there when the sun rise or sun set. On the first night we stayed on the cottages because the room on the main building was fully booked. Thr bed on the cottage was quite dirty. There were several dead ants on mattress. We had to call maid to clean up. The room cannot keep the warm. The floor was too cool too in the morning. The next two night I stayed on the main wing which is a lot better. The room and bathroom is quite large by a standard four stars hotel. The view was great too though theres no balcony. I really like porridge and cheese omelette that is served in the breakfast. Overall it is a really good hotel and probably the best Imperial brand hotel. (I dont really like this brand though because its normal standard is quite low)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itthinan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay wiht us recently. We are very appreciated with all of your comments and sincerely apologized you for all inconveniences that occured during your stay at the cottage. Please be assured that the problems you've faced at the cottage has now brought up to our attention for the improvement purpose.

By the way, we look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J. (Ms.)
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very peaceful and calm atmosphere. Lovely big pool which our kids enjoyed. Room was very well appointed and big enough for our little family of 4. Felt spotlessly clean. Bathroom was great (although shower could have used some bleach for a little bit of mould showing). Enjoyed the lovely bath products. Other reviews have pointed out the remote location however the mini bus was very handy. All in all very happy with our stay and would recommend as a short stay for those wanting a bit of peace. (Which we were after a few hectic days in Bangkok)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestone, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Love this place! Low key, right on the river with sweeping views, expansive garden where they hang lanterns each evening. Room was fabulous--all wood and simple, and spacious with view of river, elegant high end bath fixtures. The staff are kind and courteous and non-invasive. A little gem of a place. Dinner was the only meal I took and it was great. This place is excellent value and a little oasis just outside of Chiang Rai town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCR108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have stayed in Chiang Rai quite a few times and usually try a different hotel - this is one a good ones. well appointed and very comfortable. You would need a car to get to it as it a little far from the city centre but all in all it was a good stay for us. It happened to be a festival for the locals when we were there they release lanterns into the sky all over the town - the hotel as actually a staging place for some of the local activity - made it interesting.

The rooms were clean and large and the beds comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good too.

all in all a good hotel..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pimonphat J, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for staying wiht us recently and thank you for your kind feedback towards our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Imperial River House Resort, Chiangrai again in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Pimonphat J
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
1.1 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
704 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
10.0 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Property: The Imperial River House Resort
Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing