We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable place and staff as 'Small But Beautiful'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial River House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Imperial River House Resort
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Memorable place and staff as 'Small But Beautiful'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Imperial River House is well equipped. Standard room is great with big bed and living area. Junior Suite is marvellous for a couple, very spacious, big balcony facing river. Wi-fi in all places. CD players in room.
You will enjoy great art pieces from art masters of Thailand. Garden is well maintained with various and hard to find Thai trees.
Staff is full with hospitality. Very helpful, friendly and humble.
" Memorable experience of Small but Beautiful'

Room Tip: Standard room is quite spacious but corner suites is worthwhile for a memorable trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TassaneeyaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouse_10, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Khun Tassaneeya,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in writing such a nice review on the Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai. In addition, I really appreciated the group that had brought you and people from various countires to stay at the Hotel. I was told that everyone was happy staying at the Hotel.
I hope that the Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai would be welcoming you back again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Pinthida Bhatayanond (Ms)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    157
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
81
213
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We needed a hotel for one night in Chiang Rai and were really happy that we chose this hotel. Our taxi driver did have some trouble finding it (take the address with you as it doesn't seem to be a well-known hotel), but once we got there we couldn't fault it.

Check in was quick and friendly. We were upgraded to a suite, which was just fantastic. The room was very large with a wonderful balcony overlooking the pool.

We were late arriving, but the restaurant was still open and the food was excellent. The following morning we had to leave early, but they opened the kitchen early for us to have breakfast.

We wish we could have stayed longer, and would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the rooms / pool / riverview were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouse_10, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
I would like to thank you for spending your valuable time in writing such a nice review about the Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai. Really appreciated. I'm glad that you liked our Balcony Riverview Suite and overall of the Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Pinthida Bhatayanond (Ms.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Very great and nice hotel which closed to Kok River.
Fantastic area with good food and service with smile and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouse_10, General Manager at The Imperial River House Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in writing such a nice review on the Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai. I'm glad that you had a very pleasant stay at the Hotel in December. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pinthida Bhatayanond (Ms.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

we came for one night only. we enjoyed every minute. the beatiful and clean rooms. the pool. the view.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yaeli11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We're not backpackers, so we appreciate nice accommodations. We have also traveled around much of Northern Thailand. This is one of the finer hotels. Rooms are good sized, finely appointed. Bedding is luxurious. Staff speaks good English and are highly responsive. They actually appear glad to serve. Breakfast buffet is adequate. Room service is nice and food is definitely mildly seasoned for non-Thai tastes, maybe a little too mild. Overall, this is a professionally managed property that is not likely to disappoint those looking for upscale lodging which, if you're travelling off-season, is a definite bargain compared to Western pricing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRB1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We found this hotel from Trip Advisor reviews. Unfortunately, we were disappointed that the hotel is actually remotely located. Its surroundings were are abandoned village houses, incomplete construction and another local hotel.

When we checked in at 6.30pm after a driving over 230 km from Chiangmai, we were greeted with this soul-less, and extremely quiet hotel. It was like a ghost town. There was only 1 restaurant and it was empty. We asked about the Spa and were told that Spa closed at 6pm!

We wanted to have a nice warm dinner and as there weren't any other option in teh surrounding area, we decided to just hit the town where there's some form of life. We found out that there also isn't other transportation to the walking market or city center. The hotel offers a shuttle but charges us THB100 per room per trip! We were 3 adults and 1 child, booked 2 rooms and hence had to pay THB400 for a return trip to the night market which is about 10 minutes drive away with no traffice in the night. And that was what we paid to go out for a bite and were back in an hour.

The room is essentially basic and sufficient. It is spacious and clean and I would say that it’s room charges is reasonable.
There was at least 1 staff that spoke and understand English, so we were pleased.

The next day, we had a decent breakfast included in the room rate. We found this hotel to be more suitable for locals seeking a quiet weekend getaway rather than for us tourist. It is too remote.

Will not return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

What a beautiful resort! I stay in big fancy places throughout the world and I stay in the standard places for business trips. The Imperial River House Resort is that in-between place at which I always desire to stay.

It is kind of a funky road and area to drive through to get to, but once there wow!

The lobby is wide and open, with an clear view of the pool and ponds. We were greeted in the quiet, polite Thai way. There is no front desk in the standard sense. There are a couple of desks with nice chairs in which to sit while your paperwork is completed. It feels like a respectful business transaction, rather than the "I can help whoever's next" waiting line.

The pool is beautiful and larger for the relatively small size of the resort. The food in the restaurant was a great selection of northern Thai dishes. (We travel with Thais; they liked it.) The grounds are a tropical garden with a pathway over a foot bridge to the river.

The rooms a larger with a nice arrangement of furniture and a good view of the pool area from our room. There was a large tub and separate shower in the bathroom. The bed is a little softer than Thai hard; it is quite firm. The fitness room has a good selection of equipment.

For breakfast I ordered an omelet with cheese. The young man looked at me confused, asked for help from his coworker in the kitchen, and then they proceeded to slice pieces from a block of cheese. I got a great (very cheesy) omelet. Then I remembered I was in Thailand. Cheese is rare and EXPENSIVE and not normally used in omelets. I went back and thanked them for being so accommodating---so Thai!

The whole place was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I will stay here every time I come to Chiang Rai, and I hope you do too.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view of the river or garden area. Rooms at the end of the wings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.3 mi away
The Legend Chiang Rai
The Legend Chiang Rai
#5 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
2.0 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#2 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial River House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial River House Resort

Property: The Imperial River House Resort
Address: 482 Moo 4 | Rimkok District, Chiang Rai 57100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial River House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish boutique resort with 39 spacious river view rooms, full facilities and homely Thai style services. It is situated along the Kok River. Only 10 minutes away from Airport and town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Imperial River House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River House Resort, Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
River Hotel Chiang Rai
River Resort Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing