We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but needs a revamp”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hill Tribe Museum

Hill Tribe Museum
Ranked #20 of 78 things to do in Chiang Rai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A cultural exploration of the nine major hill tribes.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice but needs a revamp”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very interesting but needs someone to make it a little more tempting to read. Looks a little like a school project. Wished I had gone before I visitd the tribes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank beanthereoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    141
    73
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It is informative as far as learning about the various hill tribe people groups, as well as showing artifacts etc. but apart from that not much more. It is something to do to wile away the time. It costs @50B to get it and your voucher gives you a free bottle of water or coffee downstairs.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“coolest hill trible museum”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

at first glance with my friends it's amazing to visit here. fortunately all of us came by chance.
as like others said, friendship beyond frontier and never melts, so if we can do or contribute something or improve the quality of life of any individuals or groups who live in the same land, will be a big goodness.
what we also viwed is they just live in their ways that are no harm and quite peaceful to our Thais. why don't we earn their trust or do more to make them love our country. just compare with our deep South, we are losing our Father's land yes or no?

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ed y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good but hot”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The museum is only small but well presented. Unfortunately it was stiflingly hot so we rushed it. There was a video you could watch which was very interesting describing the different tribes but again, it was so hot, we nearly fell asleep and came out very sweaty

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleCatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

The film which is shown is very good. You have to pay 50 Baht but there is one coffee, tea or water includet.

Helpful?
Thank Weltenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill Tribe Museum also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Hill Tribe Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing