We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't complain at 200bht a night”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Rai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boonbundan Guesthouse
Ranked #49 of 182 Chiang Rai B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 26, 2011

It's very cheap (if you choose the basic option) and you obviously get what you pay for. The clean room had 2 beds, a bathroom with semi-hot water (I’ve experienced way colder “hot” showers!) and wifi (although it didn’t quite stretch to the room itself but would have been adequate in the more expensive rooms).
The only problem was the beds themselves – they were terrible, every time I rolled over I almost fell out of bed and probably woke the next room up with the banging against the wall. However, at £4 a night, you can’t complain too much!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 36 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2009

This is a budget accomdation (they quoted us 250 baht) so you can't expect much. However, we left after looking at a room (one of the only places we did that) due to the foul smell of the room.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank GreenieDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We stayed here for two nights, got their details from the Lonely Planet. We stayed in one of their expensive rooms (500 baht) and it was fine, but some of the cheaper rooms looked a bit grotty. Our room was big, clean, had aircon and tv, etc. Location was good, on a very quiet street yet less than five minute walk to the centre of town. It definitely did the job for us.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

This has a Swiss chalet feel about it. Tucked away within stumbling distance of the main strip of bars and 3 blocks from the bus station, Boon Bun Dan is a great value. It's not swanky, but for a "budget" guesthouse, it'll be the coziest thing you'll find in Chiang Rai. We stayed here the night before a visa run to Mae Sai, but it's also a good launch point for tours. The furnishings are downright old school, in a good way, and the rooms have cable TV and hot showers which is a rarity at this price.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublinjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank François L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank jppp96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.1 mi away
Good Morning Chiangrai - Homestay, Dormitory & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Kanlaya Place
Kanlaya Place
#14 of 157 in Chiang Rai
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zan Pla Nade Guest House
Zan Pla Nade Guest House
#34 of 157 in Chiang Rai
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grandma Kaew House
Grandma Kaew House
#3 of 182 in Chiang Rai
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchids Guest House
Orchids Guest House
#5 of 182 in Chiang Rai
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Bua Homestay
Baan Bua Homestay
#18 of 182 in Chiang Rai
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boonbundan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boonbundan Guesthouse

Address: 1005/13 Jedyod Road, Chiang Rai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Rai
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Boonbundan Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing