We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no heating in room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Legend Chiang Rai
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Chiang Rai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

nice hotel, situated on a river. not within short walking distance of town center. nice rooms, nice shower, good restaurant. primary reason for this review is to advise travelers that there is no heating in the room. yes, it has a thermostat control, but you can't set it higher. we were there in late December and it was in the low 60s (F) in the early morning in the room. when I asked the desk if there was something wrong with the thermostat, they told me that there is no heating in the rooms, only cooling. I had the thermostat we had was faulty because I had been in the spa and notice it had the same thermostat, so I turned it on and checked to see if I could adjust the temperature. I could. so it's only in the guest rooms where this non-heating is an issue.

they did offer more blankets, so it wasn't like we were cold while sleeping, only when we got out of bed in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & Reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your loved one to The Legend Chiang Rai.

Thank you for posting the review and sharing your insights, we are glad that you were generally satisfied with your experience.

Regarding to Heater issue,This year is an unusual year for us; we had never experienced such a cold weather in our past 9 years of operation so we are pleased to inform that the portable heater is now imported and we will receive them soon,by the way, it seems that the weather is back to normal winter up North and temperature is 15-20 Celsius during the day.

Looking forward to see you again next time,email us at reservation@thelegend-chiangrai.com for your special rate.

Best regards,
Suchaya T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

This has the potential to be an amazing resort. It's spacious, well positioned on the river, 10 minutes to the night market and has stunning outlook.
However, we stayed one night and it was freeeeeeeeeeezing.........we are from UK, so can tolerate the cold, but this was beyond anything you would expect. There is no allowance for this, investing in a few hot water bottles or a few buckets of charcoal at the restaurant would make the place even more appealing. I am sure it's great in the summer. The room we had was good and clean but the mosquito net had large holes in, fortunately the weather kept them away. The shower was quite poor, it dripped out. So all in all not a great experience! But I know it could have been.
The river taxi stops at the resort to take you to nearby sights, the flower festival is in full flow at present, worth a half day excursion. The night market is as you would expect, colourful, fun and worth a look.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank rkgkrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & Reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Sawasdee from Thailand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your The Legend Chiang Rai's experience, we always enjoy hearing from our guests.

Appreciate your honest feedback, which helps us to focus on what is important to our guests. While we are glad that your overall experience was positive, we are sorry to read of some aspects that fell below your expectations.

Having the effect from Hai yan typhoon wasn't easy for us to prepare,we had never experienced such a cold weather in our past 9 years of operation but we are pleased to inform you that the portable heater is now on its way to our resort as we strive to do our best for our guest.

Once again,Thank you and it would be an honored to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
Suchaya T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Cool and nice i love room and i like Bath tub.and It is a beautiful place and spa good but the service in the Thai is bad both at breakfast Breakfast was not tasty. Good customer service attention Very nice room I will come back .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raksanalee i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & Reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Sawasdee ka Khun Raksanalee,

It is a great pleasure to know that our Pool Villa and special Thai spa treatment highlighted your experience with us. We also appreciate your constructive feedback on various aspects of the hotel and our breakfast quality, which will help us to make the necessary changes to improve and refine the overall guest experience.

Stay with us again when you are next in Chiang Rai, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Suchaya T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Excellent hotel. Great staff, amazing views to the river. Definitely, the best lovely relaxing swimming pool we have ever enjoyed. Wonderful breakfast (with the best coffe of Thailand) and dinner, very romantic lounges, everything what you can expect from a hotel in your honeymoon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leo4210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & Reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Mr.Leonado,

Thank you for giving The Legend Chiang Rai such a wonderful review, your feedback gives us a lot of valuable insights on what is important to our guests.

While it is great that you were happy with our room, facilities and Food, we couldn't agree more that all the little details make the difference – Best Coffee and our signature infinity swimming pool .We are also delighted that you felt well-taken care of by the team, who truly appreciate your kind mention of their service.

The pleasure was ours to welcome you and we look forward to once again extending our warm hospitality to you and your partner when you return to Chiang Rai in the future.

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing us for your most special occasion.

Best Regards,
Suchaya T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Top notch place to stay from the beautiful grounds to the impeccable service. Our room had a "faux" outdoor rock shower that was unique. Very large restaurant menu in addition to an extensive buffet WITH COOK TO ORDER AREA. Great morning breakfast buffet for all tastes. Good internet. Wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & Reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, Thank you for your recent stay at the Legend Chiang Rai and it is a great honor for us having a guest like you and your wife.

We are very proud that our unique Northern Lanna style has pointed out and so does our services.

The pleasure was ours to welcome you and we look forward to once again extending our warm hospitality to you both.

Best Regards,
Suchaya T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Very secluded resort in beautiful landscaped grounds on the banks of a river and intersected by numerous little ponds and streams. Beautiful infinity swimming pool with large seating area and adjoining spa treatment area. Large simplistic rooms with good bed and large mosquito net. Massive shower always very hot. Excellent breakfast choice offering wide range of dishes for most pallets. Very friendly staff who where always helpful. The only downside was the prolific amount of Mosquitos obviously because of the amount of water around and repellant is a must and keep doors and windows shut. Recommended though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminTheLEGEND, Social Media & Reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Mr.Ian,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review – and for your kind comments. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for highlight our room, bed, pool and services at The Legend Chiang Rai.

From the effect from Typhoon Hai Yan, we've got a unfortunate of rain for the few days up North. It's probably why there's some mosquito around but since we are entering winter right now, we can assure that this issue won't be bothered anymore.

I do hope that we may the pleasure of welcoming you back to Chiang Rai again in the future.

Kindly regards,
Suchaya T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here as part of a women's tour in Thailand. The grounds are lovely, the bar selection of wine is OK, but the real treat believe it or not are the home-made wood fired pizzas, YUM!! Rooms are rather simple, but large and clean. Beds are comfortable and shower hot and quite spacious. It's just unfortunate that our itinerary was so jam packed with excursions that we didn't really get to appreciate the grounds or explore more of what was available at the hotel. I would have loved to have had some down time to sit on the lovely terrace…it seemed very welcoming and peaceful. Service is slow, but always with a smile. Would recommend. Breakfast buffet also offers a large selection.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OTBPGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminTheLEGEND, Socila Media & Reservation at The Legend Chiang Rai, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Greeting from The Legend Chiang Rai!

How wonderful to hear that you had a pleasant time with us! This is what we work hard for, to fulfill each holidays with joy and memories.

Of course, We'd love to have you back again,please send us directly an email on " reservation@thelegendchiangrai.com" for availability. Best Price guaranteed for you!

Take good care and we look forward to hear from your soon.
Very best regards,
Suchaya T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Rai hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Rai Resort
0.6 mi away
Nak Nakara
Nak Nakara
#4 of 108 in Chiang Rai
768 reviews
10.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Patta
Le Patta
#3 of 108 in Chiang Rai
523 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dusit Island Resort Chiang Rai
1.9 mi away
Maryo Resort
Maryo Resort
#1 of 108 in Chiang Rai
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Legend Chiang Rai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legend Chiang Rai

Address: 124/15 Moo 21 Kohloy Road | Mae Kok River, Chiang Rai 57000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Rai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Rai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Rai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Rai
Price Range: $65 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Legend Chiang Rai 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location:The Legend Chiang Rai is located directly on the Mae Kok River, secluded from the city, yet within 5 minutes driving distance from the city center. The immediate environment is relatively undeveloped providing a tranquil, natural location ideal for a river resort & spa. The property gives a panoramic view to the near-by hills and mountains. The riverside across is largely undeveloped and preserved with large rain trees and lush vegetation.Accommodation:The resort features 78 lavishly appointed studios and villas offering king size or queen/single beds, designed to allow for maximum connection with the environment, opening up to nature – yet providing uncompromising comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Legend Chiang Rai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legend Chiang Rai Hotel Chiang Rai
Legend Chiang Rai
Legend Hotel Chiang Rai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing